RSS

Be still my heart

24 Feb

Look what greeted me as I walked out the door Saturday morning.

IMG_0992[1]

See the single bright star? Just beautiful.

This stunning sight means a couple of things.

1.  The sun was coming up which means I had slept past 3AM.

2.  The sun was coming up at 6 (!) which means the days are getting longer!

3.  The sun was coming up AND I was heading OUTSIDE for a long run.

4.  The sun was coming up AND it was Saturday.  AND I was NOT. AT. WORK!

I mean, I love work, but I always work Saturdays.  Not this time though!  And it was awesome!  Other than the fact that hubby was gone on a business trip.  And Mario was away on a ski trip.  And Amp was away at a friend’s house….

But even that wasn’t all bad.  I can’t remember the last time I had the whole house to myself.  I mopped the floors. I finished the laundry.  I baked some more sea salt and cashew chocolate chip cookies.  (And didn’t burn them. They taste so much better that way.)

And if things couldn’t get better, the sun warmed us up to a beautiful 64 degrees with NO wind.  I couldn’t help myself.  I slipped on my Brooks for the second time that day, and strolled leisurely down the country road, taking in the sights and the sounds of the spring day teaser.  This winter has been tough, making me appreciate how beautiful the day was.   It should help me cope with a week of temps back into the 20s and 30s.  *sigh* But it won’t.  In fact, it’ll make it more difficult to deal with.

I won’t dwell on it now, anyway.  ‘Cause look what I received in the mail!

IMG_0994[1]

My very own, made specially for me, greeting card from Lotta Joy.

IMG_0995[1]

Her note inside stressed the importance of flexibility.  Funny it should come right after her affair with the crab legs.

A perfectly bright ending to a perfectly delightful day off.

Now.  Back to work.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on February 24, 2014 in Baking, Friendship, Running

 

Tags: , , ,

12 responses to “Be still my heart

  1. lottajoy

    February 24, 2014 at 5:51 am

    And it took forever to get there!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 25, 2014 at 2:26 am

      Tell me about it!
      (It was well worth the wait.)

       
  2. agg79

    February 24, 2014 at 10:40 am

    What a great card! Nice way to enjoy your Saturday off. Great teaser of a day – spring is starting to show up around there. Hang in there, only a few more weeks of this ice age.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 25, 2014 at 2:31 am

      I’m happy I was able to take advantage of it. We are now in a week’s worth of freezing temps, but I’ve seen hope. Heck, it was even warmer than Florida was while we were down there!
      The card was definitely the icing on the cake.

       
  3. Abby

    February 24, 2014 at 3:00 pm

    What a great day! Isn’t it funny how getting caught up on housework feels so goooood? I totally get that. And I love that card!! Now I need to go read about crab legs…

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 25, 2014 at 2:33 am

      I know! You’d think I’d do it more often because it feels so goooood. (housework, of course.)
      And yes – get to them crab legs!

       
  4. Meleah Rebeccah

    February 24, 2014 at 10:13 pm

    1.  The sun was coming up which means I had slept past 3AM.
    2.  The sun was coming up at 6 (!) which means the days are getting longer!
    3.  The sun was coming up AND I was heading OUTSIDE for a long run.
    4.  The sun was coming up AND it was Saturday.  AND I was NOT. AT. WORK!

    HOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOORAY!!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 25, 2014 at 2:37 am

      HOORAY! is exactly how I felt! All of it was so great! Unfortunately, it only lasted a day. And so now I’m back to getting up at 3, running on the treadmill, and working on Saturday.

       
  5. llcooljoe

    March 2, 2014 at 3:52 am

    So you had the whole house to yourself and you did housework? Wow you are good. 😀

    What a great card!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 3, 2014 at 3:48 am

      I NEVER feel like doing housework unless I’m all alone. I think that stems from having 4 kids always following me around undoing what I just did. If I’m alone, it stays clean just a little bit longer.

       
  6. territerri

    March 10, 2014 at 2:31 am

    That sounds heavenly. SO happy for you that you had such a beautiful, relaxing, happy Saturday.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 10, 2014 at 3:11 am

      It really was a great day! I’d forgotten how nice it is to have a Saturday on an actual Saturday!

       

Leave a Reply

 
