RSS

The dangling carrot

25 Feb

Only one thing got me through my run today.

These oatmeal, cottage cheese, banana pancakes.

oatmeal pancake

Picture courtesy of Ambitions Kitchen

They’re high in carbs, high in protein, satisfy my pancake craving, and are a great treat after a tough workout.

Tough being the key word.  Wimpy being how I felt.

Last night I was all excited about running outside again.  With temps in the 20s, it was projected to be the warmest low of the week.  It was now or never.

This morning, my excitement was gone.  In fact, the first thought in my head when my alarm went off was, “I can’t wait to take a nap.”

While bundling up in layers of clothes, I found myself getting hot and agitated.  How could I be so crabby 5 minutes into the day?!

Fleeting thoughts of going back to bed zipped through my mind, but I was having none of it.  It’s now or never, I kept telling myself.

I grabbed my phone, fired up the running app, and faced the cold.

With every mile under my belt, I was making deals with myself, coercing myself into continuing.  It wasn’t that it was difficult to run, I just wasn’t feeling it.

Until I began thinking about the pancakes.  I would have made them either way, but they’re way more enjoyable after a good workout.

So with that, I finished all seven miles.  I’m a lot less crabby with the run out of the way and a belly full of pancakes and yogurt.

But I still plan to take that nap.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on February 25, 2014 in Health and Fitness, Running

 

Tags: , , ,

16 responses to “The dangling carrot

  1. Chocolate Covered Race Medals

    February 25, 2014 at 7:58 pm

    Food is my favorite form of bribery for getting in that good work out 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 26, 2014 at 11:32 am

      It’s a great motivator for sure!

       
  2. Abby

    February 26, 2014 at 2:38 am

    Ha! Dangling banana pancakes. They look great, gotta try some! Throw all the stuff in a blender and pour. Even I can do that!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 26, 2014 at 11:36 am

      It’s so easy! But I got a couple of tips if you’re gonna try them – Add a tsp of vanilla extract, and be sure to cook them long enough. The first time I made them they were gooey inside. Blech. I also add chopped walnuts after I blend the other ingredients. De-lish!

       
  3. agg79

    February 26, 2014 at 2:39 am

    Sorry – somehow I kept thinking you were having carrots with your pancakes. Excellent inspiration for that long run. That one piece of chocolate cake, that extra cookie, that cold beer. Whatever spurs you to the finish line. Great tool to motivate towards your goal. Like Stephen Covey says: Begin with the end in mind.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 26, 2014 at 11:44 am

      I like carrots, and I like pancakes, but I don’t like carrots AND pancakes.
      And this particular run, I wanted to end long before I was done, but I stuck it out. Thank goodness those days don’t happen often. It’s not nearly as fun. :/

       
  4. Meleah Rebeccah

    February 26, 2014 at 4:51 pm

    “In fact, the first thought in my head when my alarm went off was, “I can’t wait to take a nap.”

    HA!! That’s how I feel EVERY morning!

    And those pancakes look and sound AMAZING!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 27, 2014 at 2:11 am

      I usually only feel that way when I wake at 2:45 AM for work, not when I get to sleep in til 5.
      And those pancakes are very yummy and good for you too. Well, maybe not YOU, unless you’ve had a shot. And if you’ve had a shot, you should be eating bacon cheeseburgers, not healthy pancakes! 😉

       
  5. Anita

    February 26, 2014 at 6:41 pm

    Dreaded activity requires me to repeat over and over, “Keep Moving.” It seems that once I’m dressed and out the doors, the transition to “I can do it,” occurs. Good that you kept moving. I know it made a difference to your day.

    I wish I had that meal Right Now!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 27, 2014 at 2:14 am

      I’m just grateful that running isn’t always a dreaded activity. And I would have been ten times crabbier had I wimped out on the run. So yes, I’m sure it made a difference in my day.
      And what’s stoppin’ ya? Blend and Bake. It’s that easy!

       
  6. Rock Chef

    February 27, 2014 at 11:47 am

    The pancakes look great. But – Cottage Cheese? Does it really work with banana?

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 28, 2014 at 12:42 am

      I wondered the same thing. But it really does work with banana. (If not being able to taste it means it works.) They definitely have a different texture than the typical pancake, but they’re enough like them that they satisfy my pancake cravings while helping refuel after a run. If you’re not interested in that – you probably wouldn’t like ’em. :/

       
  7. territerri

    February 28, 2014 at 3:39 am

    Well those do sound very yummy! And especially rewarding after a not-so-easy run. Glad you made yourself do it. I know you felt better having done it, even though you didn’t feel like it.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 3, 2014 at 3:50 am

      I always feel better afterwards, which is how I get through the not-so-easy runs. Thank goodness they’re rare though. Not sure I could force myself like that every day.

       
  8. llcooljoe

    March 2, 2014 at 3:48 am

    I think I would have just gone for the pancakes without the run! Ha, and that’s why I’m on a diet.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 3, 2014 at 3:53 am

      Been there, done that. And I had to diet because of it too. But that was years ago. I’m pretty motivated now because I never want to go back to that time. Not fun.

       

Leave a Reply

 
