RSS

Round About

28 Feb

“Is this a game day?” I asked my hubby as I waited for a line of cars to leave an opening for me to squeeze into.  I had just gotten off work, and was surprised to see a traffic jam on the street in front of the garage.

I continued to wonder where they were all coming from as my hubby filled me in on his day.  We only have a few minutes to talk after work, because as soon as I get into Illinois, it’s “hands off” my phone.  Being that Illinois is right across the river from my hotel, we have to speak fast.

While we were catching up, I managed to cross the couple lanes of traffic in order to make the next right turn.  Another right at the next corner, and one more right at the next corner would take me onto the bridge and heading home.

Except that road was blocked.  And all traffic was being diverted onto the one way street in front of my garage.

So THAT’S where they were coming from.  And now I’M a part of the jam that was blocking the garage exit.

“The good news is we have extra catching up time,” I joked with my hubby.  I felt a little like Griswold in European Vacation.  “Look kids!  It’s Big Ben the hotel again!”

I’ll be glad when all this construction is done.  Our hotel is literally surround by construction sites, all in an effort to make the Arch grounds more pedestrian friendly.  It’s a good thing, I suppose, but they’re taking down bridges, and dispensing of roads, and quite frankly, it’s a mess.

This is what the Arch grounds look like now.  If this picture was backed up a little further, you would see my hotel off to the right.  The “park” in the middle is what I drove around only to be diverted back up the street in front of my garage.

Arch grounds before

This is what the Arch grounds will look like by 2015.  Or so they say.

arch grounds after

It’s certainly much greener.  And it DOES make it easier for people to access the Arch without fear of crossing a busy highway.  And in a way, it’s putting our hotel on the Arch grounds.

So it’s all good, but sheesh.  For the next year, we’re in for quite a mess.  And if I’M doing round-abouts in an area I’m pretty familiar with, imagine how our out of town guests are going to feel.  That is if they can ever make it TO the hotel to be our guests.

traffic sign

 
10 Comments

Posted by on February 28, 2014 in Blunders, Commute, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “Round About

  1. territerri

    February 28, 2014 at 3:37 am

    That sounds a little bit like things around here the past couple of years. Everything is under construction. All at once!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 1, 2014 at 1:28 am

      After two years, they finally opened the new bridge across the river and cleaned up all that mess. And now they’re doing this. At least they’re out there working on it. Nothing aggravates me more than closed roads with no workers in sight.

       
  2. agg79

    February 28, 2014 at 11:06 am

    Those never-ending construction zones can really drive a person crazy. We’ve had certain freeways down here that have been under construction ever since I moved back down here (1990). Not much you can do but take a deep breath, find some soothing music station and plan for a long, slow drive.

    That picture reminds me that I’ve been to the Arch many, many moons ago. Went to the Arch but never went up in it. My SIL (brother’s wife) is from St Louis and I spend part of one November there for their wedding. I wound up dating a girl from up there a while.

    So you cannot talk on your cell phone in Illinois? Not even with a bluetooth?

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 1, 2014 at 1:33 am

      Well when they get this mess cleaned up, you’ll have to come back and actually make the trip UP the Arch. And I know this great little hotel nearby…
      Illinois is now a “hands free” state. We are not allowed to hold the phone in our hands. Bluetooth is fine, but it must be voice activated. Learning how to do all that seems like too much work to me. I just talk fast and hang up as soon as I get across the bridge.

       
  3. Abby

    February 28, 2014 at 3:25 pm

    Construction: the necessary evil. It seems like around here, even the detours have detours!
    I remember visiting the Arch several years ago when brother Guano was there, and we did the tourist stuff.
    But, OH, this is so coincidental. We were discussing a word in my math class this week: CATENARY. followed by, “The St. Louis Arch is a catenary”. Rubik’s cube, catenary…. this is starting to get really weird!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 1, 2014 at 1:47 am

      The Arch is a catenary? Hold on… I’m Googling… oh my gosh it IS! Who knew? (I mean, besides you.)
      I’d like to think we’re on the same intellectual wavelengths and that’s why we’re both thinking of catenary and Rubik’s cube, but my recent internet debacle proves it’s just coincidental.

       
  4. Meleah Rebeccah

    February 28, 2014 at 6:38 pm

    “Our hotel is literally surround by construction sites, all in an effort to make the Arch grounds more pedestrian friendly. It’s a good thing, I suppose, but they’re taking down bridges, and dispensing of roads, and quite frankly, it’s a mess.”

    Oy. Vey.

    It looks promising – but I certainly wouldn’t like to have to deal with all of that construction.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 1, 2014 at 1:56 am

      I know! It should be pretty cool once it’s finished. Until then, it really is a MESS! But like I told Terri, there are a ton of people out there working, which is encouraging.

       
  5. llcooljoe

    March 2, 2014 at 3:44 am

    What we call Road Works here in the UK. The Arch Grounds looks like it will be great when it’s finished, if you ever get to see it. How long will it take to complete?

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 3, 2014 at 3:56 am

      Why does Road Works sound so nice, and Road Construction has such negative connotation? Maybe I need to look at it differently.
      The Arch grounds should be completed by 2015 they say. I would hope the road work would be done before that…

       

Leave a Reply

 
