RSS

Same story. Different day.

03 Mar

I know I’ve said it before.  But I’m saying it for REAL this time.  Our FINAL winter storm is upon us, leaving us with icy roads, a few inches of snow, and extremely cold temperatures.

Most people get to stay home, being it’s a weekend and all.  But it’s a weekend and all, so I have to work, which means….

I’m stuck at the hotel.

I didn’t mind it so much on Saturday.  Mardi Gras revelers kept the hotel hoppin’ all day long, and I was happy to be a part of it for 10 straight hours.  When I got up to my room, I was glad for the quiet.  Okay, not QUIET really, but I was left alone.

mardi gras kitten

After a decent night’s sleep, I punched the time clock at 6 AM Sunday morning, and was not surprised to see a few die hard partiers from the night before.

I couldn’t help but be happy along with them.  They were having FUN!  And they wanted ME to have fun too!  I felt bad turning down the Jello shots they offered me, and felt worse when I wouldn’t let them drag their cooler through the breakfast area offering the shots to our guests.

Luckily, it didn’t deter them.  They gobbled down some solid food, and took their cooler up to their room.  And then… we got the call over the radios…

“Harold, someone has put a Jello shot outside each of the guests’ doors on the 8th floor.  Can you come pick them up?”

I couldn’t help but laugh.  It was almost cute the way they wanted everyone to feel the happiness.  And they weren’t letting anything stand in their way.

slammed I am

Anyway, now my shift is over, and it’s early in the day, and I wasn’t able to convince the Mustang to brave the treacherous roads, so I dragged my mopey self upstairs to my room to sit.

I don’t “sit” well.  In fact, I’m so desperate, running on the treadmill is sounding heavenly.  Except I can’t even do that, because there’s people around right now.  And I don’t do “people” well either, unless I’m in uniform.

So I’ll run early tomorrow, before most of the guests are awake, and before a majority of the employees come to work.  And I’ll pass the time tonight by gracing you with a blog post, watching the Oscars, and snacking on some ice cream.

The snow may be keeping me from my home and my family, but I refuse to let it keep me from everything I love.

ice cream

 
12 Comments

Posted by on March 3, 2014 in The Hotel

 

Tags: , , , ,

12 responses to “Same story. Different day.

  1. Rock Chef

    March 3, 2014 at 11:05 am

    Wow, those guys really were eager to share the fun!

    I hope that this is the end of winter for you lot – been a tough one! Over here we have just had lots of rain – no real cold to speak of – just lots of rain. Hoping that ends soon too!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 3, 2014 at 1:00 pm

      I’ve heard about your rain, and that can be just as frustrating. Makes it no fun to be outside. Seems we ALL have had it rough this year.

       
  2. agg79

    March 3, 2014 at 11:26 am

    Gotta hand it to those guys – they were working hard to get their party on. If you think those guys were wild, go visit New Orleans around this time. Things can really get interesting. Jello shots are just the tip of the parade.

    Sorry that you are snowed in again. I am with you – this is the LAST winter storm of the year. We got the front down here last year. Temps dropped 40 degrees yesterday. Working on my trailer it was 72. Right now it is 30.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 3, 2014 at 1:04 pm

      St. Louis claims to have the second largest Mardi Gras celebration – right behind New Orleans. THIS is just what happened in our hotel. Can’t imagine what was going on a few blocks south. (Well, I CAN, I just don’t wanna.)
      You were in our weather news the other day about how your temps were going to drop dramatically. Shall we join Terri?

       
      • agg79

        March 3, 2014 at 7:56 pm

        Yea, it was a pretty dramatic change. In the one hour I was working on the trailer, the temp fell by 25 degrees. I bet Terri is just basking on the coast and overjoyed she ain’t back home right now.

        BTW – Galveston has staked a claim on the 2nd largest Mardi Gras celebration (after that little shindig in New Orleans). Just saying…

         
      • shadowrun300

        March 4, 2014 at 2:33 am

        Oooh… a challenge. Perhaps we oughta just see for ourselves…
        On second thought, the whole celebration kinda scares me, so I’ll let others be the judge.

         
  3. Abby

    March 5, 2014 at 1:52 am

    Aw, doesn’t management know the rules? No jello shots unless there’s enough for EVERYONE!
    Sorry the snow’s got you “committed”. Love the cat!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 5, 2014 at 2:04 am

      I think they DID have enough for everyone. We continued to find them in the elevators, the stairwell, the lobby…
      “committed”. Perfect word choice.
      And I loved the cat too. 🙂

       
  4. llcooljoe

    March 6, 2014 at 4:52 pm

    The snow must get tiresome after awhile, just like the rain has been here in the UK. Today we had a sunny but chilly day but it was wonderful just to get outside and not get soaked.

    Sounds like your hotel is lots of fun anyway!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 7, 2014 at 2:47 am

      Hooray for sun! Even if it didn’t warm things up much.
      And our hotel is very fun. I pass by three hotels in our chain to work at the one I’m at, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. 🙂

       
  5. territerri

    March 10, 2014 at 2:48 am

    Ugh! I hope that was the last winter storm for you. Enough of this winter already!

    Love the story of the partiers passing out jello shots to anyone and everyone. Makes me laugh! You have a good attitude about it all!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 10, 2014 at 3:13 am

      Our winter hasn’t been nearly as rough as yours, but I am over it. It’s time for spring!
      I still smile when I think of the jello shot guys. They were having an innocently fun time! I envied them in a way.

       

Leave a Reply

 
