RSS

In preparation

08 Mar

I started prepping for the big day yesterday.  Hit the couch at 6 PM.  A whole hour earlier than usual. I know, I know… a big sacrifice… but I have to do it.

I went to bed an  hour earlier too.

And today, I will force myself to stick to the same rigid routine.

Sheesh.  It’s tough getting ready for daylight savings.

time change

Even tougher was trying to figure out how to wake up at 2:45 AM when there won’t BE a 2:45 AM.

And then it hit me.  I have to be up at 1:45 AM.

Yeah.

THAT is the reason I’m in training.

And after the week I’ve had, I’m welcoming the early couch and bed time.

I love my job, but every once in a while, even I feel like this…

i love my job

 
10 Comments

Posted by on March 8, 2014 in The Hotel

 

Tags: , ,

10 responses to “In preparation

  1. Abby

    March 8, 2014 at 6:45 pm

    I still wonder why we do this daylight saving thing. Not a fan. But you reminded me of the time I was working graveyard at the hotel on spring forward night. I got paid for the whole shift even though it was technically an hour shorter. That was the only time I liked it. Good luck with your training.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 9, 2014 at 1:07 am

      I think the only ones happy about it are the people who work overnight. Being at work by 6 AM is hard enough without losing an hour.
      But the training sure is fun! I’m looking forward to going to bed at 8. Maybe even sooner….

       
  2. lottajoy

    March 9, 2014 at 11:14 pm

    Supposedly, Florida is going to rule that we keep our clocks where they are. I’ve heard so many yammering explanations for the usefulness of doing this, but after all these decades, I think it’s time we just let it be.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 11, 2014 at 12:36 am

      You’ve just given us ONE more reason to move. If only we could keep springing forward and not have to fall back. We’d be able to move to Florida that much faster!

       
  3. agg79

    March 11, 2014 at 12:17 am

    Just when I thought I had caught up, here they go and throw in another damned daylights savings time change that just seems to screw everyone up. Just when I was getting used to driving in with the sun in my eyes and rushing home to walk the dogs just before it gets dark. I really thing this whole deal is a conspiracy with the people who make 9 volt batteries and smoke detectors.

    Hope your training worked out and you showed up on time (or an hour early…). Tempus fugit.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 11, 2014 at 12:40 am

      Aha! THAT must be the reason we keep on changin’…. this is the only time of year I buy batteries. Wouldn’t want the bunny to go out of business.
      I managed to wake at 1:45, and even got a workout in before going to work. I felt great. Til about 4:30pm. Then I was ready for bed again.

       
  4. territerri

    March 14, 2014 at 2:54 am

    I hope your training has paid off. I’m sure having trouble adjusting!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 15, 2014 at 2:10 am

      My training helped me awake at 1:45 AM and get through my shift at work, but it took me DAYS to finally not feel tired anymore. I don’t know that any amount of training would have helped.

       
  5. llcooljoe

    March 14, 2014 at 5:41 pm

    I have no problem adjusting the time changes, because as a dj my whole body clock is screwed up anyway. The only time I do have an issue is adjusting back to the time difference when I return to the UK from AZ. That does knock me for six, for at least 3 days.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 15, 2014 at 2:17 am

      Yeah… your shift is similar to our night audit. The hour lost was actually beneficial to them since they got to go home sooner. 🙂
      I had to google “knock me for six”. Love the phrase! I’m guessing it’s tougher to adjust to the UK’s time than to AZ’s time….

       

Leave a Reply

 
