RSS

Check me out

11 Mar

Because I live so far from EVERYTHING, I will often stop for groceries on my way to or from work.

There’s one store in particular I just love.  It not only has a terrifically fresh produce section, and a great variety of organic and healthy foods, but it has a ton of self-checkout lanes too.

At the end of a long day at work, I’ve usually used up all my niceties, so the last thing I want to do is make small talk with a cashier.

Today, as I was checking myself out *ahem*, I heard an attendant ask “Do you need help?”

I looked to the register next to me.  An elderly lady, looking quite befuddled, replied, “I don’t know what I’m doing wrong.  It keeps telling me to place the item in the bag.  And I am….”

I looked closer.   In her left hand she held a bag.  She demonstrated to the attendant that she was in fact placing it in the bag.

The attendant explained patiently that she needed to place the bag on the scale in order for the register to recognize that the item was bagged.

The lady was a little embarrassed, but the attendant quickly assured her it was okay.  That she was there to help and was quite happy to do so.

I admired the lady for trying the self check out lanes at her age.  At times, they’re even frustrating to me.

self checkout 2

But at least I have yet to be embarrassed by them….

self checkout

 
12 Comments

Posted by on March 11, 2014 in Everyday Living, Humor

 

Tags: , ,

12 responses to “Check me out

  1. Rock Chef

    March 11, 2014 at 11:08 am

    Those things are the devils work. I refuse to use them. I have even abandoned a basket of shopping when the manager insisted that I use one. Do they give staff discount for doing someone’s job? Hell no! I want to deal with a real person…

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 12, 2014 at 3:51 am

      Hmmm… I never viewed it as doing someone else’s job. You’re right. There should be a discount.
      Even so, I prefer to use the self check-out lanes. At this particular store, I find them easy to use, and if ever I encounter a problem, the staff is right there to help out.
      But if a manager had INSISTED I use it, I would have done the same as you. It should be there as a convenience to those who want it, not a requirement for anyone and everyone. That manager does not have his customer’s best interest in mind, and that doesn’t sit well with me. (Or you, obviously.)

       
  2. Abby

    March 12, 2014 at 1:39 am

    I don’t mind the self-checkouts so much, but the obnoxious nagging voice. “Please scan your items”… “Please place item in bagging area”… “Select payment type”… SHEESH! What a nag!! Could you imagine going home to that every day??

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 12, 2014 at 3:55 am

      I try to be quick enough to cut her off before she can get more than one word in, but sometimes it takes me a little longer than normal to bag an item, and boy do I hear it then.

       
  3. agg79

    March 12, 2014 at 9:52 am

    I’ve been using the clerkless checkout stands for a while. There are times when I am impatient and don’t want to wait behind someone buying three weeks of groceries and paying with a check. I do use the regular check out lines when I do the weekly grocery run, but for the short hauls, I will self check – quicker and I don’t have to socialize. Of course, I always seem to have something that requires a clerk to verify my age (aka: libations). Nothing like getting carded by a machine.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 13, 2014 at 1:24 am

      For my big shopping sprees I will let a cashier check me out, but sometimes that doesn’t go smoothly either. Remember my Thanksgiving episode?
      But for all other purchases, I’m a huge fan of the self check-outs. I’ve never been carded by one though. I guess it doesn’t matter how old I am if I’m only buying ice cream and bananas, or spinach and yogurts.

       
  4. lottajoy

    March 12, 2014 at 11:46 pm

    I always get duped thinking: Clerkless checkout will take five minutes, and the line I’m in will take ten minutes.

    Twenty minutes later, I’m always taking stuff back out of my bag or waiting for an “attendant”.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 13, 2014 at 1:27 am

      Yes! When I’m in a hurry, I always have to wait for an attendant! Most times I use them so I don’t have to socialize. I spend 8 to 9 hours a day socializing, taking care of others, being NICE, and when the day is done, I’m ready for quiet time with myself.

       
  5. territerri

    March 14, 2014 at 2:56 am

    I love when I see good customer service. So many day-to-day things can be so annoying. A little kindness goes a long way. And businesses with that kind of service will always get my return business. Good for that store!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 15, 2014 at 2:08 am

      Although I don’t ever check out with the cashiers at this store, they are the epitome of customer service, and will go above and beyond for their customers. This attendant’s helpfulness was only one example of great customer service that I’ve witnessed. And you know I’m all about customer service. 🙂

       
  6. llcooljoe

    March 14, 2014 at 5:38 pm

    I use the self check outs fairly often, and things never run smoothly and always regret it. 😀 I quite like the voice talking to me though, I’m used to being nagged. 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 15, 2014 at 2:09 am

      And they nag pretty aggressively, I must say. I must be used to it too, because I keep going back.

       

Leave a Reply

 
