RSS

Will the fun never end

14 Mar

Spring finally sprung. And I missed it.

I was stuck inside the hotel happily working, encouraging guests to get out and enjoy it now, because Wednesday was coming fast.

Wednesday, MY day off, brought storms and a few flurries, and a temperature drop of 50 degrees.

Nice.

Luckily Thursday proved to be a little nicer. Clocked 9 miles on my new shoes, so I’m feeling pretty good about my upcoming 10 mile race. And when the temps got above freezing, I washed the last bit of salt off the Mustang. At least I hope it will be the last of the salt.

I also brought Mario to the doctor because of a mean looking rash on her lower back.

But before I get into that, let me just share a little wisdom. It is NOT a good idea to try and self-diagnose a rash by looking at pictures on the internet. I was worried sick.

So when I found out she had shingles, I was actually relieved. For a brief second. And then I was shocked. She’s only 15! Shingles are for old people. (And it turns out, for 5% of the teen population.) I guess she’s just lucky that way.

In a way, she really IS lucky. She should be able to fight it better since she’s young. The ones on her back are starting to scab over already, but now she’s got a new set up front. We’re all hoping there won’t be more. She complains of them hurting and pinching and itching. And she gets headaches and feels tired and weak, but she’s being a trooper. They’re not contagious (unless you’ve not had chicken pox), so she’s still going to school. Ibuprofen and hydrocortisone are her meds of choice.

The doc said it could have been triggered by stress. Great. I’ll probably have them next. I’ve got a stretch of 8 days of work coming up, with a trainee and a full hotel. A recipe for stress.

But at the end of that, I will have the weekend off. I’ll have 10 miles of running to relieve the built up stress, and then some time together with my hubby, who, if he manages to stick with me this week, will have stuck with me for 23 years.

I think we’ll make it….

marriage

 
9 Comments

Posted by on March 14, 2014 in Family, Health and Fitness, Running

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “Will the fun never end

  1. llcooljoe

    March 14, 2014 at 5:34 pm

    Thanks, now I feel old. As I’m not a 15 year old, and have had Shingles 2 years ago that officially makes me old. I was in the States at the time and got a rash and felt sooo ill, but had no idea it was Shingles. I’ve been left with a few scars on my waist, but that’s coz I picked the scabs. Sigh.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 15, 2014 at 2:23 am

      Oops. Didn’t mean to offend you. 🙂 I’m just saying I’ve never heard of young people getting shingles. And I would have been just as shocked to hear you had them. When I think of old, I think of OLD.
      She feels quite sick as well but is doing a pretty good job at not picking. The sad part is there’s a chance she could get them again. It’s one of those viruses that sticks with you and can reappear when you least expect it.

       
  2. Abby

    March 14, 2014 at 10:33 pm

    I’ve heard that shingles are painful! I’ve never even had chickenpox – another part of my aging denial. I hope Mario is on the mend soon. Maybe she’s just wise beyond her years.

    Funny how moody the weather is this time of year. The last couple of days have been great here, but just Tuesday, I was re-enacting march of the penguins! Enjoy your spring snippets when you get ’em. Happy 23rd to you and the Mr.! (assuming you make it to the weekend)

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 15, 2014 at 2:25 am

      You’ve NEVER had the chicken pox? Yikes! Stay away from Mario!
      Your Tuesday was our Wednesday. What can we expect in the next couple of days?
      And yeah, save your congratulations until we actually make it through the week….

       
  3. territerri

    March 15, 2014 at 2:36 pm

    That’s one of the drawbacks of spring. We get SO excited about it, but it takes its sweet time getting here and staying here. Sorry you missed the first visit!

    Poor Mario. I’ve heard that shingles are really painful. And I wasn’t surprised to read that she had them. Jake had them when he was in 3rd grade! (He had his chicken pox as a toddler.)

    Sorry to hear you’ve got an 8 day week ahead of you. That’s a lot! I know you enjoy your job and all, but still!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 16, 2014 at 2:11 am

      We keep getting teased with spring weather! Today was warm and sunny (or so I heard), and tomorrow we’re expecting sleet and snow and a 40 degree temperature drop. Maybe I’ll catch the next round.
      The more people I mention Mario’s shingles too, the more I hear of younger children/teens getting them. Who knew? And they are painful for her, but she also feels very worn down and just plain sick.
      I just finished day 2 of 8, and I am SO ready for some time away. I shouldn’t complain about how busy and hectic we are because it certainly beats the dead of winter, but sheesh… I’m exhausted. It’s quite fun for the 8+ hours I’m working, but when it’s over, I want to dig a hole and hide for a while.

       
  4. agg79

    March 15, 2014 at 4:31 pm

    Mario got shingles? I’m like you, thought only old people like me get that stuff. My dad had it a while back and my mom just had a bout of it last month. Never really understood it but definitely don’t want it. Hope she is able to fight it off soon.

    Good luck with the run but I know you will smoke the course. I’ll be anticipating the after action report where you take home top prize. And early congrats on 23 to the young lovebirds. We’ve a few (10) miles ahead of you on that road. I find that, at this point in the marriage, you might as well ride it out. You are not going to get anything on the trade in, it’s hard & expensive to find another one (much less break them in) and you have just now gotten used to them (or trained).

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 16, 2014 at 2:20 am

      I could see your mom and dad being of age (don’t tell ’em I said so), but not you, or me, or Mario. I’ve gained quite an understanding of shingles in the last few days. Let me know I can help you understand it better. 🙂
      I’m excited about the race coming up. I’ll be content with avoiding two days on the couch as my prize, but if I get a medal I’ll wear it with pride. My age group is pretty competitive, so I have to be at the top of my game. After a stretch of 8 work days, I hope I am.
      And thanks for the anniversary congrats. You’re advice is right on. I think I’ll keep him.

       
  5. Anita

    March 21, 2014 at 1:54 am

    I hope your daughter is over the Shingles by now. I must admit that I know nothing about it beyond what the people say on the TV commercials, and now, your post. My 15 (now 16 as of a few days ago) daughter had a rash a couple weeks ago. It was on her ear, then thighs, then lower legs. We were told to do Benedryl, but that didn’t work, so on to the Pretnizone, or however it’s spelled. That cured it. The culprit, we were told, was probably cheap earrings. Now I have to fork up real money for her earrings.

     

Leave a Reply

 
