RSS

Check’s in the mail

19 Mar

Sheesh.  It’s crazy the things I do to get a weekend off.  By the time it arrives I’ll be deadbeat tired, my 10 mile run will likely be a trot, and the time with my hubby of almost 23 years will likely be spent in bed.  Sleeping!

By day 2 of my 8 day work week, I knew it was going to be difficult.  Full hotel, crabby guests, long hours, little sleep.  Day 3 should have been easier for me since it’s an admin day.  Usually I get to sit in the back doing 8 hours of billing, answering emails, setting up reservations, preparing for future groups, etc.  But another call off (ugh) led to me being up front with the guests, who were much happier thank goodness, but deep down I could only think of how much work I was behind on and wondering how the heck I was going to make it all up with a trainee the rest of the week.

To add fuel to the fire, I agreed weeks ago to make wedding shower cupcakes for a girl at work.  She only wants 24, but asked for a mix of chocolate and vanilla.  I’m scrambling to find a few hours to bake the cakes, and another few hours to ice them.

At this point, I want to bury my face in a pillow and scream, and then crawl to the back of my closet and hide.

Instead, I’ve chosen blogging therapy and now I feel good enough to bake a few cupcakes before heading into chaos at the hotel.

Thanks for listening.  I owe you one. (Nickel that is.)

The doctor is in

 
13 Comments

Posted by on March 19, 2014 in Baking, Blunders, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , , ,

13 responses to “Check’s in the mail

  1. Rock Chef

    March 19, 2014 at 11:39 am

    No problem!

    8 days solid? No wonder you wanted to scream! Hope the cakes came out OK!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 20, 2014 at 12:59 am

      Yup. Just finished day 6. Today we were so busy I never even took a sip of water, let alone got something to eat. By the time I left, 8 1/2 hours later, I was so hungry I literally inhaled my wrap. My bites were huge and I wanted to swallow them whole to quickly fill my belly. The next two days look to be just as busy.
      But I get the weekend off. heh.

       
  2. Abby

    March 19, 2014 at 8:53 pm

    Well, I hope the blogging therapy worked! That schedule begs for more than a nickel’s worth, I think!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 20, 2014 at 1:02 am

      You know, it really did help! I may need another nickel’s worth before my stretch is over.

       
  3. agg79

    March 20, 2014 at 11:07 am

    Happy to oblige. A little blog venting and some tasty cupcakes always seem to make things better. I used to pull those long weeks with an extended weekend off. It’s a long stretch but it seemed to made the extra time over the weekend more enjoyable. I would say go for a run to blow off some stress but it seems like your dance card is already full. Hang on – only one more day until the weekend festivities. Good luck on the 10 miler. It may be tough at the outset, but I imagine you wil have warmed up and hit your stride by the end of the first mile.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 22, 2014 at 12:45 am

      You’re right about that. I have never craved a weekend off as much as I am this one, so I will definitely be treasuring every minute.
      I’ll let you know how the run goes… assuming I won’t be sick on the couch again. :/

       
  4. Anita

    March 21, 2014 at 1:45 am

    I hope you made some extra cupcakes and downed a couple of them. Blogging, running – both good… but a sweet treat is a wonderful guilty pleasure.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 22, 2014 at 12:48 am

      My guilty pleasure is ice cream. And at the end of a long, busy, exhausting day, it tastes even better.
      And there were a few mess ups with the cupcakes, so yeah, had one of them too…

       
  5. lottajoy

    March 21, 2014 at 2:24 am

    I decided to STOP blogging, since it made me anxious. But then I realized it’s more like therapy for me than anything else. So, blog away dear one. And save me a cupcake.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 22, 2014 at 12:52 am

      Yes! Very therapeutic, as long as you don’t feel like you HAVE to blog. And obviously I don’t feel the pressure to blog that often.
      And about that cupcake…. umm… too late. Maybe next time?

       
  6. llcooljoe

    March 21, 2014 at 4:37 am

    “I want to bury my face in a pillow and scream, and then crawl to the back of my closet and hide.”

    I thought I was the only one that felt this way! I look forward to seeing a photo of the cakes. Don’t forget to take one!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 22, 2014 at 1:02 am

      I’m happy to say you’re not the only one. Wait. Should I be sad about that??
      Anyway, I took a grainy cell phone pic of the chocolate cupcakes. I’ll share it with you soon. I hope.

       
  7. territerri

    March 26, 2014 at 2:07 am

    8 days is a LONG stretch to be working non-stop! You’re a trooper. But I know that’s why you’re the one in charge. You seem to manage all the chaos and frenzy with grace and professionalism.

     

Leave a Reply

 
