RSS

Made it.

23 Mar

When I clocked out Friday afternoon, the relief I felt was tremendous.  Not only had I finished an 8 day work week, but they were 8 crazy long, crazy busy days.  Spring break and basketball madness had swarmed the hotel.

Being short-handed, and volunteering to take on additional responsibilities didn’t help my case any.  By quittin’ time Friday, I was plum wore out.  The thought of running ten miles the next day sounded like an impossibility, but I wasn’t going to let work take ALL the fun away from me.   (Lunch and bathroom breaks was enough.)

So after eating my usual meals and snacks Friday night, I crawled into bed and slept.  By the time I awoke, 8 HOURS LATER (!), I was rarin’ to go.

I kept my usual running routine the same, by not eating anything before the race.  I sipped water on the drive in, picked up my bib and race packet in seconds flat, and waited in my warm car for the starting time.

15 minutes before the gun, I braved the cold and wind and took a few laps around the parking lot to warm up.  With teeth chattering, I gathered with the masses close to the front, and anxiously awaited the chance to start running.

I chose not to run with the Map My Run app, knowing that if I wasn’t keeping the pace I wanted, I’d push myself too hard and perhaps be left in the same predicament I was in a year ago.

I let my legs determine my pace, and not the others around me.  A difficult thing to do.  Without having a lot of runs under my belt, thanks to our glorious winter, I wanted to keep things fairly easy, especially since this course consisted of many hills, some fairly steep.

The first 5 miles were against the wind, and I regretted not wearing a third layer.  But as soon as we turned around and had the wind against our backs, it was HOT.

I enjoyed the second half of the race, and the miles seemed to fly by.  My only slipup was at mile 8 when my shoe lace came untied.  I fumbled around with it for a good minute, or so it seemed, because I kept tying my headphone cord into it.  When it was finally secure, I booked down the hill to try to gain back some of my lost time.

I crossed the finish line at 1 hour and 21 minutes with a smile on my face.  I was pleased with the run, although I was a little slower than I had hoped.  (Not surprising with all the hills.)  But I felt GOOD.

I waited to see if my time was good enough for a medal.  Turns out I just missed medaling in my age group.  Perhaps if my shoe had behaved, I could have taken her in the end.

Still, I left happy.  And felt good enough to spend the day with my hubby of 23 years.

Upright.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 23, 2014 in Family, Running, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Made it.

  1. agg79

    March 24, 2014 at 2:32 am

    Bravo! Not too shabby. Pretty solid way to wrap up a 10 miler. I never had any doubts you would crush this one. Hell. I’d kill for an 8:06 pace. Glad to hear this one came out without any problems and you got to enjoy the weekend with hubby. Congrats on the win (in my book) and 23 great years.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 24, 2014 at 2:38 pm

      The competitor in me would have liked to place, but it’s the competitor in me that might have pushed me too far. I was nervous how I would feel afterwards. I think Abby was right though. I followed her “stranger danger” advice. NEXT time I’ll go for the gold. 🙂

       
  2. Abby

    March 25, 2014 at 3:09 pm

    Great going! Fun to have an “event” checked off, eh? Nice finish, too – wardrobe malfunction and all! Way to represent for us old married ladies.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 26, 2014 at 7:51 pm

      I’d like to schedule more of those “events”. Forgotten how much fun they are. Wardrobe malfunctions make them all the more exciting.
      I was 11th overall. The 10 that beat me weren’t older at least. They may have been married though….

       
  3. territerri

    March 26, 2014 at 2:14 am

    Glad you survived the work week, and WAY TO GO in your race! I think you had a perfect attitude about it and probably made it as enjoyable as possible by not setting unrealistic expectations.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 26, 2014 at 7:53 pm

      Yep. It was a fun run. I wanted to finish with a decent time and be able to enjoy the day. Success!
      But next time…. I’m out for the win. 😉

       
  4. llcooljoe

    March 28, 2014 at 11:08 am

    Okay so let me get this straight … running is fun to you? 😀 Congratulations!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 29, 2014 at 4:37 am

      I know, right? There was a time I would NEVER have thought I’d enjoy running. And now I find it fun! Especially when I’m with a bunch of others who find it fun. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
