RSS

I hope I remember never to do THAT again

27 Mar

It sounded like a great idea last week.

Even though I was on a stressful stretch of working long days, and couldn’t wait for a day off, I agreed to help out at one of our sister properties the following week.  I would be paid 8 hours of overtime and could work my normal shift at my hotel, then work at the hotel down the street that evening. I would have the next two days off to recuperate and a fat paycheck in my pocket.

Sounded good to me!

Until next week became this week.  And suddenly my double shift day was upon me.

I started at 6 AM at my hotel.  I may have mentioned that we are being bombarded by spring breakers.  (Who knew St. Louis was a great spring break destination?)  Families galore have been driving in from Kansas, Indiana, Illinois, Kentucky, Tennessee, etc. and converging on us – a very understaffed hotel.

Every day we’ve been scrambling to take care of all of our guests with the few workers we have.  We’re all exhausted by the end of the day and ready to go home.

Not me. I was on my way to work another shift down the street at an even shorter-handed hotel.

But THIS hotel had 13 arrivals.  13!  I don’t know what’s worse.  Working my tail off to check in 150 rooms with only 2 people, or working alone with only 13 rooms to check in.

Okay, I DO know what’s worse.  The 13 arrivals.  How do these people spend their time?  I kept thinking about all the admin work I could be doing – stuff I can never find time for at my hotel – but alas, I just had to stand there and look busy.

Finally, my shift was over and I began the long commute home.  I arrived home 20 hours after leaving it that morning, and true to form, grabbed a bowl of ice cream and took to the couch to decompress.

It didn’t take long.  To decompress that is.

Ten minutes later I was fighting to stay awake.

sleeping while eating

The similarities are scary.

 

Did I learn my lesson?  Will I do it again?  I doubt it and probably.  As difficult as the long days are, it’s more difficult dealing with guilty feelings about not helping out when needed.

Now excuse me while I go take a nap.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on March 27, 2014 in The Hotel

 

Tags: , ,

10 responses to “I hope I remember never to do THAT again

  1. territerri

    March 28, 2014 at 12:48 am

    Face it, girl! You are incapable of saying NO! 🙂 And that’s what makes you such a valuable employee and a good friend. I have no doubt you’ll do it again. And I do think you’re slowly learning that sometimes it’s necessary and okay to say no.

    You earned that ice cream and definitely earned the sleep that followed.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 28, 2014 at 1:15 am

      Yeah. I can’t say no. Most times I crave the craziness. I actually love coming home exhausted. But that particular day, I uncovered a huge mistake I’d made at my hotel, due to being rushed I’m sure, and had to fix it quickly before heading to my next job. I went from feeling overwhelmed to feeling bored. I’d take the overwhelmed feeling any day.

       
  2. Abby

    March 28, 2014 at 1:30 am

    I’m sure it sounded good at first? Seeing how the other half lives? I see that your people are building another big hotel in our neck of the woods – in case you ever want to fill in “down the street”.

    Sweet ice cream dreams!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 28, 2014 at 1:38 am

      If they asked me to help open that hotel, I would drop everything and go!
      Working a double shift sounded better than working six days and only having one day off. I’da rather worked a double at my own hotel though. I got work to do and can never find the time. Where are these people coming from?? And when are they going back to school? And why doesn’t anyone want to stay at our hotel down the street?

       
  3. llcooljoe

    March 28, 2014 at 11:05 am

    Ha ha you do have an issue saying no! Says the person that is dominated by his mother and still finds it hard to say NO!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 29, 2014 at 4:34 am

      Yes. I’m definitely a people pleaser and have a difficult time saying no. (If I were in your shoes, I’d have a hard time saying no to your mother as well.) Sometimes it stresses me out, but most of the time, I like making things easier on people and making them happy. Not such a bad thing…. right?

       
  4. Anita

    March 30, 2014 at 3:09 am

    Do all that you can while you’re young… not that I’m oldddddd, but the physical and mental body gradually gets a little more selfish. 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 30, 2014 at 11:14 am

      I’m young? Like you, I’m not oldddd, but I am certainly no spring chicken. I’ve become physically and mentally selfish in a lot of aspects, but work is not one of them. In fact, I’m so unselfish there, that when I get home, it’s all about ME.

       
  5. agg79

    March 30, 2014 at 8:53 pm

    What a glutton for punishment. The only thing hat would have made it even better is if you had baked some red velvet cupcakes for your coworkers and then run 10 miles. You’re like me – you tend to cram a lot into a weekend and wind up paying for it afterwards. I hope you got some rest over the weekend.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 31, 2014 at 2:02 am

      Glutton is right. But as you mentioned earlier, cramming a bunch o’ stuff into a week sure makes you appreciate some time off.
      My “weekend” was great. I went nowhere and did nothing. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
