RSS

My Weak-end

31 Mar

Imagine you’re staying in a hotel.

Now imagine you’ve used the toilet and stopped it up.

Imagine you call down to the desk for a plunger, but give the wrong room number.  So twenty minutes later you call down again.

Imagine the hotel is busy and is not able to send help quickly so you have to call down one more time.

Imagine the third time you call down, you finally get a hold of a sweet, concerned front desk person who immediately addresses the problem.

Three minutes later, your toilet is free and clear to be used again.

Now imagine, the sweet, concerned front desk person you last spoke with follows up with a phone call immediately after your toilet has been fixed.

This sweet, concerned front desk agent admits the hotel dropped the ball and agrees with you that you have every right to be upset.  The sweet, concerned front desk agent wants to offer compensation in the form of a free night.  After all, the hotel has a 100 percent satisfaction guarantee policy.

Would you NOT be overjoyed that the hotel is making things right?

I’m quite sure I would be overjoyed.

You might be surprised to hear this was an actual event, and maybe more surprised to hear I was the sweet, concerned front desk person.

Most surprising, at least to me, was this guest was hearing none of it.  He didn’t care how sorry we were.  He didn’t care that I understood we’d failed him as a host.  He didn’t want compensation.

What he wants is to hurt us.  He made it clear he would tarnish our name on all the travel sites.  Even the next day, when I tried to talk with him again after he’d calmed down, he would hear none of it.

I know I should brush this off.  It’s just ONE person.  We have lots of guests who love us.

But it’s the ONE person who I couldn’t make happy that will haunt me for days and days.

Maybe if I keep repeating this over and over again…..

weak people

 
15 Comments

Posted by on March 31, 2014 in The Hotel

 

Tags: , , ,

15 responses to “My Weak-end

  1. Sandi

    March 31, 2014 at 2:54 am

    No matter how grumpy I was, I can’t imagine wanting to post on all the travel sites a review beginning with “So I blocked the toilet…”

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 31, 2014 at 2:57 am

      Thank you Sandy! I think that’s the first time I’ve laughed out loud about him. Now I’m looking forward to what he has to say. 🙂

       
  2. lottajoy

    March 31, 2014 at 5:01 am

    Man who drops large load still has shit for brains. confuscious

     
  3. Rock Chef

    March 31, 2014 at 12:59 pm

    I my brief visits to travel sites I was amazed at how petty some people can be. I got really annoyed for hotels when I read some of the trash people write. I think they must get a sick kick out of it!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 1, 2014 at 2:32 am

      It’s nice to know readers of these review sights can pick out the ones who are bullies. We make mistakes. ALL hotels do. But if we’re trying to fix it, LET US!!

       
  4. agg79

    March 31, 2014 at 5:57 pm

    Maybe he wanted you to bake some cupcakes for him. He sounds like he is a real petty kind of guy especially if he did not accept you efforts to make up for it and was going to trash you guys on tripadvisor. I’ve had my share of hotel challenges and I tend to give the staff the benefit of the doubt, especially if they make the effort to correct the issues. The most recent was out in Anaheim when the construction crew busted the water main next to the hotel and they lost all water. The staff really tried to make up for it and, while I could have been a real d%#¥ about it at the time! I felt sorry for them. They had enough headaches to deal with (family hotel near Disneyland so I imagine that there a few stinky families). I know that is is hard for you to do, but I’d just write him off as a real a$$hat that would have been unhappy no matter what you did for him.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 1, 2014 at 2:37 am

      He wanted NOTHING from me. And besides, my cupcakes are too good for him.
      And your Anaheim hotel was trying to make things right for their guests and it wasn’t even THEIR fault. Yet I’m sure there were people who blamed them.
      Really makes ME think about how I react to situations.

       
  5. agg79

    April 1, 2014 at 6:18 pm

    You have WAY more patience than I. Probably the main reason I am not in “customer service”.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 2, 2014 at 4:37 am

      I’m only patient when I am in front of the guest. You should have seen me in the back afterwards! The nerve of him! I’m still upset!

       
  6. Abby

    April 1, 2014 at 10:00 pm

    As a former fellow hotel person, I look at it this way…
    For a lot of your guests:
    (a) they have high expectations of your hotel, and
    (2) money isn’t always a great concern (so comping the room is little comfort).

    Those are both good things in the Big Picture, so you can treat it as a teachable moment and keep on doing your thang. I’m betting that business won’t suffer from whatever he rags on in his review.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 2, 2014 at 4:43 am

      Yeah, you’re probably right. 1. He booked his reservation there because of Trip Advisor, so he had high expectations, and we failed to wow him. B. Money probably means little to him, and h is power comes in knowing he has the upper hand. And 3. Most people can read through a single bad experience and not be swayed by it. Especially since virtually all the others are highly complimentary.
      So Thank You! I feel a bit better now.

       
  7. territerri

    April 3, 2014 at 1:38 am

    Please don’t let this guy drag you down for one more single moment. Some people just cannot see the story from another person’s perspective. Some people can’t forgive and can’t accept that sometimes mistakes happen. I realized this today when I heard the words “class action lawsuit” for about the third time in two days. We are a society full of people who expect to receive the best of everything.at all times and when they don’t get it, they want to bring someone else down.(Seriously. Check the recent news. There was a story today about a rabbi who was stripped of his frequent flyer status for excessive complaints – 24 complaints in 8 months. He sued the airline and this case went to the SUPREME COURT! Doesn’t the Supreme Court have better things to do?)

    So don’t give that guy another thought. YOU know that 99.9% of the time, you provide service that exceeds expectations. Sometimes things get beyond your control. No one can be perfect all the time. You did the best you could to make a bad situation better. If he isn’t willing to accept your offer for compensation, that’s his prerogative. As others have pointed out, he’s one person out of the thousands you’ll serve in your job. A drop in the bucket!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 3, 2014 at 1:44 am

      Very well put. This guy may have been out looking for SOMEthing, anything, to be able to criticize us and bring his own ego up a few notches.
      I’m sick of the “class action lawsuit” words myself. I can’t believe we let some of these ridiculous cases make their way to the supreme court.
      And you’re right. This guy’s just a drop in the bucket. I should move on. (But I’m keeping my eye out on Trip Advisor….)

       
  8. llcooljoe

    April 5, 2014 at 7:06 am

    What he got cross because he blocked a toilet?? Then he gave out the wrong room number??

     

Leave a Reply

 
