RSS

Homeless?

04 Apr

“Ashley and Keith want to come by and see our house this weekend,” reported my hubby when I called him after work.

“Who are Ashley and Keith?”

“She’s the new teacher at B@rtelso Grade School.  They’re looking for a house in town.”

“And they want OURS?  Ours isn’t for sale.  Is it?” I stammered.

He replied quietly, “I may or may not have told them we might be interested in selling….”

“Wait, what?  If we sell the house now, where would we go?” I questioned.

“Mario and I went looking and found a few places in Br**se we can rent.  She’s ecstatic thinking we may get to live in the same town as her High School.”

And that is how I found myself spending my two days off, making the house look like it’s been cared for and cleaned occasionally over the past 15 years.

This wasn’t a total shock to me.  We know that when Mario graduates from High School in 3 years, we are heading south.  We also know, that in a town of 650 people, finding a buyer who is willing to pay us a decent price can be difficult to come by.

When we heard this young couple was looking to move to our town, close to her new job, we began deliberating.  I just didn’t realize we were DONE deliberating.

So they’re coming Saturday.  I’m viewing this as a first step.  If they like the house after seeing the inside, then we’ll give some serious effort to finding a place we can rent comfortably, and put more effort into cleaning this place up.  If they don’t like it, we don’t have to do anything more, and I can go back to my lackadaisical house cleaning style.

Until then, I’ve been scrubbing floors, washing cabinets, detailing bathrooms….  My fingers are sore, my muscles ache, and I’m having an “I told you so” moment with myself.  I’ve told myself many times if I would clean more often, it wouldn’t require so much elbow grease whenever I do clean.

In between, I managed to bake some cupcakes for the hotel’s human resources director.  It’s a hard birthday for her this year, so I’m hoping these snickerdoodle cupcakes will cheer her up.  They’re full of cinnamon sugar  and topped with her favorite whipped cream cheese frosting.

Um… YUM.

Naked snickerdoodle cupcake

 

Snickerdoodle cupcake

And for all you cat lovers out there, look at how cute this one is.  While down on my hands and knees scrubbing the bathroom floor, I glanced into the closet and saw this.

IMG_1016[1]

Wonder what HE’LL think about moving.

 

 

 

 

 

 
11 Comments

Posted by on April 4, 2014 in Baking, Everyday Living, Family

 

Tags: , , ,

11 responses to “Homeless?

  1. llcooljoe

    April 5, 2014 at 7:02 am

    I dread to think what we’d have to do to this house in order to sell it. Most of the rooms aren’t furnished at all, and the ones that are are falling to pieces, literally. Unfortunately cleaning it wouldn’t be enough.

    Those cupcakes look tasty!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 6, 2014 at 11:22 pm

      This came about quite suddenly and our house was in NO shape to be walked through, let alone scrutinized. We cleaned for four days straight just to get it presentable. So stressful!
      (And they were tasty…almost too much.)

       
  2. Abby

    April 6, 2014 at 6:14 pm

    All things considered, I think it’s smart for you to entertain interest in your house now. IF you move, will your commute be shorter? Hope it all works out!

    I did some cleaning yesterday too. Just got a spring cleaning bug, I guess. Problem was, as I cleaned, I saw how dirty EVERYTHING else was. Never ending saga!

    Those snickerdoodle cupcakes should put the birthday girl into a pleasant state of sugar shock to take the mind off that whole aging thing. And love the cat! They’re so cute when they’re sleeping.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 6, 2014 at 11:29 pm

      We certainly don’t want to be in the position where we HAVE to sell our house and can’t find a buyer. And in a town of 650, way out in the boondocks, we’re not exactly seeing many buyers. So yes, we’re considering it. But we have to have some place to live for the next three years – preferably in a rented townhome. And no, it won’t be much closer to work. We’d rather live where the kids go to high school so we can quite running them around at all hours of the day. And they can bike and/or walk if a car is not available.
      She LOVED the cupcakes. And I LOVED baking without being paid. 🙂
      And aren’t all things cute when they’re sleeping?

       
      • Abby

        April 7, 2014 at 1:22 am

        Even the shooz, which by the way are the same color scheme as mine, are cute sleeping!

         
  3. Ms. CrankyPants

    April 8, 2014 at 2:22 pm

    haha – I’ve had PLENTY of the “if I do some of it now, it’ll be so much easier later” conversations with myself. Problem is, there’s always something more appealing to do NOW. And later, when I do finally have to do whatever it is, I kick myself for not doing it earlier. Sigh. Well, good luck. Cute cat!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 9, 2014 at 12:55 am

      To me, EVERYTHING is more appealing than cleaning house. I do just enough to keep the mice out and the kids alive. 😉
      But I must say, the house really cleans up nice!

       
  4. territerri

    April 9, 2014 at 12:30 am

    It sounds like it’s a really good idea for you to consider this potential buyer. In all you’ve written before, I know you’re really serious about making a move in just a few short years. Why not make it easier on yourself.

    I’ve always been one to clean the house on a regular schedule. Only over the past few weeks am I finally allowing myself a little break and making time to enjoy the weekends instead of spending half of that time working inside the house. Maybe I shouldn’t get too comfortable in the new routine!

    Snickerdoodle cupcakes sound fabulous!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 9, 2014 at 1:01 am

      Selling now will relieve us from what could be a very stressful situation in three years when we’re ready to move. But then we’ll be displaced for three years. Then again, if we get a fair price, I think we can make do…. we’re kinda floatin’ right now, waiting to see how things go down.
      As far as keeping house, I could use a little of you in me, and perhaps you need a little of me in you. 🙂
      And those snickerdoodle cupcakes were fantastic!!

       
  5. agg79

    April 20, 2014 at 4:46 pm

    You guys have been talking of the move for a while so we shouldn’t be surprised at this point. Florida may be a long way off but it is starting to look a bit closer now. I wonder how Chancie and Tiger would take the change of scenery.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 21, 2014 at 12:55 am

      Chancie will need to follow China’s lead and get a haircut. We’ve been in the 70s this week and she’s already having a tough time with the heat.
      Tiger on the other hand will love all the sunshine. He’s at his cutest when he’s basking in the warmth of the sun. (Aren’t we all though? 🙂 )

       

Leave a Reply

 
