RSS

Right of passage

11 Apr

goodbye winter

I welcomed my first day of spring with every “first” I’ve been anxious to experience all winter long.

I say it’s MY first day, since it’s the first spring-like day that’s occurred on my day off.  And I took full advantage of it.

After hitting the snooze button 6 times, (that in itself was glorious), I dressed in ONE layer of clothes for the first time since last year, and ran for 7 sunrise-filled miles.

I drug my hose out of hibernation and thoroughly washed my car.  No sponge bath today!

With it all shiny and clean, I rolled the top down and happily ran my errands.  And the celebration of spring didn’t stop there….

Immediately after unpacking the car, I fired up the lawn mower and gave our lush green grass the first cut of the season.  This lead to receiving my first sunburn of the year too!  Woot!

Hubby met me outside as I was finishing up and mentioned the possibility of a motorcycle ride.

Uh….. YES PLEASE!

I replaced my lawn mowing shoes with my motorcycle boots and off we went.  My Shadow purred along, seemingly as happy as I was to be hittin’ the road again.

We passed a sign along the way that read “We have to have winter to appreciate spring.” I’m pretty sure I don’t need winter to help me enjoy days like today.

flip flops

Only three more years, and I can test the theory for myself.

 

 

Tags: , , ,

11 responses to “Right of passage

  1. territerri

    April 12, 2014 at 1:59 pm

    That sounds like an amazing day! So glad you got to enjoy it so thoroughly. And I just got a little jealous about your ability to hop on your motorcycle along with your hubby and go for a ride. I’ve never had a desire to have a motorcycle, but you make it sound so appealing.

    And I’m with you. I don’t think I need winter to appreciate spring. At least not the kind of winters we’ve been having. I’m pretty sure that I could still appreciate spring after a much, much milder winter.

    p.s. I’ve been wearing my flip-flops for a couple of weeks, whether the temps are cooperative or not!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 13, 2014 at 1:49 am

      Riding a motorcycle is thrilling and exciting and slightly dare-devilish. I like it! 🙂
      I wonder sometimes if I’d rather have a hot summer in order to appreciate spring. Right now, I think I would!
      And stick to your flip-flop wearing! Don’t let the chance of snow stop you now!

       
  2. Abby

    April 12, 2014 at 7:02 pm

    Nicely done! You had me worried when I first read, “I drug my hose out…” thinking you, for some reason donned dreaded panty hose on YOUR first spring day! WHEW.

    I’m thinking maybe that sign is right for me, though. Or at least I appreciate spring that much more, thanks to winter. Happy flip-flopping!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 13, 2014 at 1:53 am

      The only hose I have is a garden hose, and the only thing it’s used for is washing my car. So no worries there.
      I certainly appreciate spring after a dreadful winter, but do I really need winter first? I think not. Of course I say that now… Ask me again in three years.

       
  3. Rock Chef

    April 14, 2014 at 4:16 pm

    Yeah, looking forward to being able to get back into my crocs…

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 15, 2014 at 2:10 am

      Flip flops…. crocs… anything other than winter boots would be welcome about now!

       
      • Rock Chef

        April 15, 2014 at 1:54 pm

        Yep, I think we are getting close here! The sun is really warming up, only the wind is a bit chilly. My wife and daughter have been sunbathing in our very sheltered garden!

         
  4. agg79

    April 20, 2014 at 4:38 pm

    Nice way to usher in the spring. Was wondering when you’d dust off Shadow and take her out for a spin. Sorry to rub it in, but I’ve been mowing the lawn down here for at least a month now. Trying to pick up all those leaves and tree pollen is really putting the old Honda to work. Now if I can just get rid of the fire ants (BTW – I believe they have them little devils down in Florida as well).

    Keep looking forward to those flip flop days ahead. I’ve been wearing my Tevas ever since the beach trip.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 21, 2014 at 12:45 am

      Go ahead and rub it in. I only have to put up with it for a few more years. (And I think winter really DOES make us appreciate spring.)
      We get the occasional fire ant here. And I do mean occasional. Scary to think you’re having to battle them. But quit shooing them over to Florida. I’m imagining paradise. Fire ants don’t fit in.

       
  5. Anita

    April 25, 2014 at 3:06 pm

    Here’s to more days like that one!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 27, 2014 at 12:12 am

      I haven’t had once since… I’m ready for another!

       

Leave a Reply

 
