RSS

WANTED

24 Apr

We’re still awaiting the arrival of our house appraisal.  Every day, sometimes two and three times a day, I eagerly check my inbox hoping to find a “letter” from her.  The letter that will tell us how much she thinks we could get for our house.

I don’t know why I’m so eager.  I’m certainly not anxious to move out of a nice spacious house that stores our two remaining kids and all our junk perfectly into a smaller 2-3 bedroom townhome that may only have one bathroom.

I think I’m just excited to see how much it’s worth and see if the potential buyers are willing to cut the check.  Not to mention the relief that would come from selling our house so quickly.  With that burden lifted, we could catch the next plane outa here the minute Mario has her high school diploma in hand.

*sigh*  Hold on a minute.  I gotta check my inbox for something….

Nope.  Still nothing.

At least I have work to keep me busy and help pass the time.  I could go on and on about how busy we are, how short-staffed we are, how tired I am from working 6 day weeks, and 10-12 hour days… but I’m off today, and would rather not think about it.

I WILL mention that I slept in til 8:00 today.  (Woke to a call from work…)  Sounds late, I know, but it was 3 AM before I got to bed.  Weirder yet, it was almost 10:00 before I ate breakfast.  I finished my pancakes and thought, “What’s for lunch?”

As I sit here, I’m thinking of all the chores and errands I should complete today knowing I’ll be right back at work tomorrow.  And then I think, it’s my one day off.  Maybe I should be a bum.  I deserve to be a bum.  But the kids want food.  So off I go.

(If you know anyone who’s looking for a job, they’re hired.)

(Seriously.)

(They start tomorrow.)

tired

This really isn’t about a nurse.  It’s about ME.  Funny how much nurses and front desk agents have in common.

second shift

 

 

 

 

 

 
15 Comments

Posted by on April 24, 2014 in Everyday Living, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , , ,

15 responses to “WANTED

  1. territerri

    April 25, 2014 at 1:04 am

    Well, it sure sounds like it’s been a frustrating stretch for you! No appraisal, too much time at work, not enough sleep…. Hang in there. A break has to be coming your way soon. Oh, and yes… you DO deserve to be a bum. I think you NEED to allow yourself that much.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 25, 2014 at 1:19 am

      We honestly do not have enough staff to attend to 800 guests. Most of us are scheduled 6 days, and I, in particular, have worked 10, 12, even 14 hour shifts. It’s exhausting, but I stay because I don’t want others to get so overworked that they quit. Meanwhile, we’re trying to train the 3 newbies, who most times make more work for us than just doing it ourselves. :/
      I was able to feel better about bummin’ once I stocked the fridge for the kids. I took a couple of naps, (one in the sunshine on the deck!), and a nice hot bath. I suppose I’m ready for another stretch of long days now….

       
  2. agg79

    April 25, 2014 at 2:18 am

    I hope you hear good news from the appraiser soon. I can imagine the you are on pins & needles waiting to hear how much your pride & joy is worth in today’s dollars. I hope it opus more than you expect ( you g uys take such care of the old homestead). Keep checking you e-mails. I would expect good news soon.

    Sorry that you are still working tirelessly T the hotel. Hopefully, someday soon you will be able to relax and enjoy a lazy weekend. You and you hubby and Shadow…

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 25, 2014 at 2:57 pm

      The one thing that’s gettin me through these tough days at work is the reward of a relaxing few days. Only problem is, I’m not sure how many more weeks I’ll have to work 6 days.
      But it won’t be forever! It will get better!

       
  3. Rock Chef

    April 25, 2014 at 10:20 am

    Do you remember how they used to tell us that Robots would do most of our work for us, and we might work 3 days a week max? How electricity would be free? How we would have flying cars by the year 2000?

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 25, 2014 at 2:59 pm

      Oh I remember…. Got my hopes up and now look at me. I’m working more than ever. If I could fly to work, that would allow me an extra hour of sleep each day. Hopefully someone’s sill working on that…

       
  4. Anita

    April 25, 2014 at 3:02 pm

    Oh, those cartoons are funny! And I can understand why you relate to them. It CAN”T last much longer! You’re a trooper.

    This morning while in the car taking my kids to 2 different schools downtown (their dad usually takes them), I was thinking almost exactly what you described in this post – of my last child with her diploma in hand, and what I’m going to do as we drop her off at her college dorm. lol

    Good luck with the house. Keep us informed.

    And thanks for the funny story on my post… the gum wrappers, hahaha!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 27, 2014 at 12:16 am

      Oh the gum wrappers…. we STILL hear about it when we get together.
      I keep telling Mario to enjoy her high school years and try not to rush them along. But secretly I hope they rush along. 😉

       
      • Anita

        April 27, 2014 at 12:40 pm

        lol
        I try not to feel that way, because that means my life is going faster, too, and I don’t have as many years left as my kids have; HOWEVER, it might be worth it to be done with high school! 🙂

         
  5. The Thin Lady Inside

    April 25, 2014 at 10:20 pm

    Hi friend! That’s funny! 🙂

     
  6. Abby

    April 27, 2014 at 4:48 pm

    Busy busy! In my hotellin’ days, I often pondered the analogies of a hotel and a hospital. The 24/7/365, the extra last minute shifts, the messes, the drama. Sometimes I actually miss it! But not that much…

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 28, 2014 at 1:14 am

      I like the crazy! But I don’t….
      *sigh*

       
  7. llcooljoe

    April 27, 2014 at 10:04 pm

    I think I’d rather work in a hotel than a hospital. All that illness and dying would get me down. 😀

    So have you heard now? Maybe I should check my inbox too, just incase..

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 28, 2014 at 1:16 am

      Yes. I would choose a hotel any day over a hospital. At least my place is FUN.
      Was it in YOUR inbox? Because it’s still not in mine. :/

       

Leave a Reply

 
