RSS

The chicken or the egg

29 Apr

I’m doing to myself what I tend to do to my lawn mower.  I push it and push it and push it until it starts spittin’ and sputterin’ and then I push it harder and faster to get every last ounce of work out of it til it finally runs out of gas and dies.  Only then will I give it more fuel.

Right now, I’m at the spittin’ and sputterin’ stage.

And rather than take the time to refuel, I keep pushing myself.  ‘Cause who the heck has time to refuel?

We have hundreds of guests with very few people to take care of them.  They’re not going home, so I’m not going home.  At least not for long.

Yesterday my chest began rattling.  Today I’m coughing and sneezing and achy and just plan blah.  Hubby thinks I’ve worn myself down from working so much.

I’m thinking the flu bug is what’s making me feel so worn down while I’m working so much.

We may never know.

chicken or the egg

In better news, we got the appraisal back today!  Appraisal lady thinks it’s worth more than we originally thought.  We’ve sent the appraisal to the could-be-buyers and asked them to shoot us a number.

Not sure I want a quick response.  What if we like the number and sell it to them?  I doubt they’ll want to move in with us, which means we’ll have to pack all our sh*t up and move it… somewhere….

hoarders

Oh, we’re not THAT bad, but we’ve definitely acquired a bunch of stuff in the last 15 years.

Guess we’ll get through it the same way I got through my sickly run trot this morning.  One step at a time.

 

 

 

 

 

 
18 Comments

Posted by on April 29, 2014 in Everyday Living, Family, The Hotel

 

Tags: , ,

18 responses to “The chicken or the egg

  1. territerri

    April 30, 2014 at 12:51 am

    Ok, I’m putting my foot down. You have GOT to give yourself a break so that you don’t get even more sick. Someone else has to step up to the plate. You need some sleep, girl!

    We’ve been in our house 26 years. Sometimes I think we should move so we can get rid of some of the stuff that’s piled up. But mostly, I’m glad we’re not moving. It sounds like WAY too much work. I hope whatever happens with your house and the potential buyers works out in the best way possible for you.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 30, 2014 at 10:59 pm

      You’re absolutely right. I’m not the only one working overtime, but I definitely had the most hours in. This week is a little lighter with only 49 hours scheduled. Today is my one day off in two weeks. I slept til 8:30 and took an hour nap this afternoon. I still feel stuffy and achy, but it’s been a nice day.
      I’ll be happy to get rid of some stuff, but yikes is it going to be a ton of work! :/

       
  2. Rock Chef

    April 30, 2014 at 8:21 am

    I agree with Terri – get a good meal and have some sleep! My wife tends to push herself too hard, I know my limits and know when to crash.

    The chicken and egg cartoon is terrible, BTW! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 30, 2014 at 11:03 pm

      I love the chicken and egg cartoon. Got a good laugh out of it. 🙂
      I finally feel rested today, although my sinuses still hurt. I seem to be on the mend, so that’s a relief. Tomorrow starts a string of 8 work days. I hope I’m able to find time to crash!

       
  3. lottajoy

    April 30, 2014 at 2:36 pm

    I’m a woman of my word and I swore I’d NEVER move. But that didn’t keep me from helping absolutely everyone else move. For SIXTY YEARS I kept my word. By the time my husband insisted I move, there was NO ONE to help ME. (they’d moved away with MY help, years earlier)

    Joe took SIX TRUCK LOADS of “gifts” to the GOODWILL. GOOD stuff, but it wasn’t going with me. I had enough to do as it was. Then you get to UNPACK.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 30, 2014 at 11:08 pm

      If they buy NOW, the unpacking will be in a temporary home. Then in three years, when Mario is done with school, we’ll pack again. I’m looking forward to that though, since we’ll be moving to Floruba!
      We’ll have truck loads of stuff too. Most of it’s family memorabilia, which will be tough for me to part with. But I’m ready to downsize.

       
  4. towardshealthylife

    April 30, 2014 at 8:18 pm

    I can smell a garage sale! I was just popping in to say hello, lots of stuff happens since I was here last. If you get the good number for your house and sale it to that couple, even if its scary and too soon, its should be easier than putting your house on the market and keeping it spotless for several week and numerous visitors. Anyway I hope it all works out for you guys 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 30, 2014 at 11:11 pm

      Happy to see you! Yes, in the past few weeks we’ve happened upon some potential buyers. We weren’t even considering selling yet, but they want to move here, so if the numbers work out, I suppose we’re moving. Where to will be the next question.

       
  5. agg79

    May 1, 2014 at 2:12 am

    Just like the old Honda, maybe you just need a tune up and an oil change to fix things up. Hope you are not working yourself too hard – no more baked goods for coworkers until you are 100%.

    I am not surprised to hear that the appraisal came back better than you had expected. The truly humble folk tend to downplay their value and efforts and it is always reassuring to hear that taking care of things (like a home) are appreciated. I hope you get what you ask for, just not TOO soon. And it will be an eye opening experience when (not if) you make the move. You are worried about 15 years of accumulation? Pfft. Try 24 years in one spot. We’ve got crap that I haven’t seen since we moved in.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 2, 2014 at 1:50 am

      Funny you mention baked goods – my oven hasn’t worked for a few weeks now, even after multiple house calls. So when my coworker asked for a Mother’s Day cake, I HAD to tell her no. I’ve never been so thankful not to have an oven!
      We haven’t gotten a reply from our potential buyers… We may have a few years to accumulate more. (And yeah, we’ve also got stuff we haven’t seen since we moved in. 🙂 )

       
  6. Abby

    May 1, 2014 at 4:46 pm

    I’d say your body’s trying to tell you something, like “slow the freak down!”
    Our house could use a decluttering too. The college boys are moving back soon for summer, so some stuff’s gotta go!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 2, 2014 at 1:53 am

      I listened to it yesterday. Slept in til 8:30. Didn’t exercise. Took an hour nap. And went to bed early. I feel much better today, but I’m back at work. :/
      You do such a good job of keeping your house decluttered. Lessons? Or better yet, how bout you come for a visit….

       
  7. Anita

    May 1, 2014 at 5:22 pm

    Been there, done that. I feel your pain. It was many years ago, but I remember.
    You’re a tough one! Getting ready to put your house on the market. My house would be a train wreck if I were working as much as you’re working.

    I agree with the others. Please be careful with your health.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 2, 2014 at 1:55 am

      My house IS a train wreck. We haven’t really put it on the market. We just happened upon some people who want to move here, so we did a “good enough” cleaning and showed it to them. If they buy it, we don’t know what we’ll do. lol
      Luckily things are slowing down at work. I’m feeling the relief already.

       
  8. The Thin Lady Inside

    May 5, 2014 at 4:39 pm

    How are you feeling today shadow? I am sorry there’s been so much to do and you are not feeling good! Sending you lots of hugs! and yes… I can tell you’re totally exaggerating about the hoarding… things look way worse when we’re not feeling ok! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 6, 2014 at 2:51 am

      I’m feeling better every day. Thanks for asking! But this week was horrendous. EVERYTHING seemed way worse because I was so tired and not feeling well.

       
  9. llcooljoe

    May 10, 2014 at 6:41 am

    I dread the thought of moving for so many reasons, I’m sorry I didn’t realise you were ill, I hope you are feeling slightly better now!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 11, 2014 at 1:10 am

      I’m feeling much better now, thank you!
      I dread moving too, but not as much as I dread staying in Illinois. Can’t have one without the other. :/

       

Leave a Reply

 
