RSS

Piddle post

21 May

Lotta Joy may not want to post about her piddles for fear of boring her readers, but I suppose I’m not as concerned.  At least I’m writing SOMEthing.

I’m still upset about receiving a pic of my car in the mail with a hefty fine attached.  It’s not even my best side.  He should’ve shot me going instead of coming… you know, to show how super fast I am….

I wrote the check today and managed to refrain from writing FU in the comments section.  I plan to chuck it out the window as I pass through the city today.  Oh wait, that’s right, I DON’T DRIVE THROUGH THEIR CITY!  But they’re getting my money anyway.  Hope they spend it wisely.

Work has slowed down to a normal busy.  One of my trainees is not coming along as fast as we’d like, so that’s been tough.  We’re looking into finding another department in which she can shine.  I know her feelings will be hurt, but it’s best for all involved to move her on to the next thing.

Our other trainees are holding they’re own and are now a help most times and no longer a hindrance.  We’ve got two brand new ones this week, and they’ll need time and patience.  With luck, they’ll learn quickly, and I can finally get back to having time for my other responsibilities.

We’re also getting closer to signing a contract with our very interested buyers.  We’ve agreed on a number, and have asked them to get the contract drawn up.  We’ve half-heartedly begun looking for another place to live,  and we’re hoping to find something that works before we’re left homeless.  In the meantime, I am happily not cleaning the house.

Just today I finalized our family vacation plans.  We’ve decided on a couple of nights in Gatlinburg, TN and a couple of nights in Nashville.  We’ve reserved a cabin in the Smoky Mountains and hope to fit some white water rafting and zip lining in the few days we’re there.  And in Nashville, live music, BBQ, and the American Pickers shop are on the agenda.  Only a few more weeks!

happiness

 

 
13 Comments

Posted by on May 21, 2014 in Everyday Living, The Hotel, Vacation

 

Tags: , ,

13 responses to “Piddle post

  1. lottajoy

    May 21, 2014 at 10:37 pm

    For Joe’s retirement from the fire department, I rented a cabin named ABOVE AND BEYOND. Little did I know it was the last cabin, the highest up the mountain. It was next to the national forest complete with bears. I had NO idea how horrible it was to drive straight UP, with no view of anything but DOWN. But, at least you’re not spending any time near a florida hospital, which is where I’ve been for three days. I stood a better chance coming up against a bear in the woods.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 22, 2014 at 5:36 am

      I worry the same thing since there’s hardly any way to really determine where these places are…. I’ve got my fingers crossed that I picked a decent cabin that’s not straight UP a hill, and I hope to gawd that it’s miles away from a Florida hospital.

       
  2. Abby

    May 22, 2014 at 2:38 am

    Vacation plans! Good idea. In case you’re left homeless, you won’t have to pack. Seriously, sounds like fun, and you’re overdue!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 22, 2014 at 5:41 am

      Sometimes, I get stressed thinking about all the work I’m leaving behind. I’m pretty sure that once we’re on the road though, all that stress will fly out the window.
      All we need is for Mario to give the OK, and we may not come back. We could just head to Florida instead. Wouldn’t that be a dream? (Especially if it has a decent hospital….)

       
  3. agg79

    May 22, 2014 at 9:41 am

    Oooh! Oooh! Gatlinburg? Tres cool! Our Honeymoon road trip (on the way from Texas to Ft Benning GA), we drove through Townsend & Gatlinburg Tennessee. We wound up staying a few days in Townsend in a really quaint, old hotel (no phones, no TV, pre Internet – but hey, it’s a honeymoon – we’ll find something to do). We absolutely loved that area of the Smokeys. Lots to see/do. Hope the cabin is not too remote/rustic but is quiet and peaceful.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 23, 2014 at 6:18 am

      We were in Gatlinburg years ago and loved it! Back then, we stayed in a condo in the mountains. I’m anxious to try the cabin, although I’ll admit, it has much of the same amenities as a nice hotel. The cabin we chose IS in the woods, I just don’t know where exactly….

       
      • agg79

        May 26, 2014 at 2:40 pm

        Reminds me of a Robert Frost poem: The woods are lovely, dark and deep. But I have promises to keep, and miles to go before I sleep. I am sure you guys will have a blast down there in the hills.

         
  4. Rock Chef

    May 22, 2014 at 12:56 pm

    I guess you could move into the hotel if the sale goes through too fast… At least there would be no more speeding tickets 🙂

    Have fun on the holiday – Hm, Nashville – what sort of music will you be listening to?

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 23, 2014 at 6:30 am

      Wait til you hear about that ticket…..
      We’ll be listening to both kinds of music – country AND western.
      (Hubby’s joke. You can groan.)

       
  5. territerri

    May 25, 2014 at 2:33 pm

    Things seem to be settling down for you and I’m glad. You’ve been overwhelmed too much lately.

    How exciting that the sale of the house is falling into place! Hope you find something comfy to settle into while the kids finish school.

    And vacation plans are definitely something good to look forward to. You need it! Sounds like a ton of fun!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 31, 2014 at 1:59 am

      Yes, I’ve settled down to a normal busy. 🙂
      The house is in a lull right now. The buyers are supposed to be putting together a contract, but we haven’t heard anything from them in almost two weeks. Not sure why that is – hopefully they haven’t run into a problem. Good thing we’re not in a rush!
      And the countdown to Tennessee has begun! I can not wait!

       
  6. llcooljoe

    May 30, 2014 at 7:38 am

    Sounds like things are looking up at little. It’s always good to have a holiday to look forward to, although white water rafting doesn’t sound like a holiday to me! 😀 I’d love to do Nashville too, although country music isn’t top on my list of favourite music!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 31, 2014 at 1:55 am

      It’s not at the top of my list either, but music in general is celebrated there, which makes it so cool to visit. And besides that, Tennessee is beautiful and always a few degrees warmer than here.
      (And I’m a little nervous about the white water rafting. Floating is more my style but the family won’t go for that.)

       

Leave a Reply

 
