RSS

Turn of events

27 May

Every day after receiving my “ticket” in the mail, I found myself researching the Illinois laws, reading articles about it, and discussing it with anyone who would listen, and each time I would get worked up and upset all over again.

So a few weeks later,  I decided to just write the damn check and hopefully rid myself of the torture.

It took everything I had to write the check, address the envelope, and ask hubby to mail it.

That night, after working a late shift, I scooped up some ice cream and curled up on the couch to catch up with you all.  Just before shutting off my computer, I clicked on the news site for the latest weather updates.  Front and center on the first page was an article on the speed cameras.

In short, the state attorney claims the way they are collecting money is illegal, and they have suspended the radar program until they can legalize it.

I was livid!  I had just written the freakin’ check, and thoughts of mailbox diving to retrieve my hard earned cash raced through my head.

I angrily wrote a note to my hubby to remind me in the morning to put a “stop payment” on the check.  (Like I would forget…..)

I managed to fall asleep, but as soon as I woke, I went straight to my hubby.  I vented again about how I knew it wasn’t right, and how unfair it was that I’d just written the check…

he turned me towards the counter and there it was….

attached to my note was my check.  He hadn’t planned to mail it until we heard what people were saying and what the outcomes were.

I have never felt so relieved.

The cameras have since been replaced with actual cops in cars.  And many times during my long commute I will see people pulled over and being handed tickets.  THAT’S the way it should be.  We should be able to face our accuser, and we should have the chance to take it to a court, (a REAL court) if we deem it unfair.

A picture of my car with no proof of my location, no proof of my speeding, and no chance to face a court of law, is no way to “ticket” someone.  And the fact that it’s not going against my record is proof to me that they KNOW they can’t prove me guilty.

So my check still lays on my counter, and I continue to follow the stories.  I feel somewhat vindicated, so to celebrate, I bought the new purse I’d been eyeing, and I may even buy some new shooz.  THAT’S how my hard earned overtime money SHOULD be spent.

 

 
12 Comments

Posted by on May 27, 2014 in Commute, Everyday Living

 

Tags: , , ,

12 responses to “Turn of events

  1. Sandi

    May 27, 2014 at 4:07 am

    What an excellent ending to this story!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 28, 2014 at 3:21 am

      I was so relieved he hadn’t mailed the check. And to find out the city was skirting around the law, just like I had thought, made my day! 🙂

       
  2. Rock Chef

    May 27, 2014 at 10:28 am

    Woo hoo! A happy ending!

    If the cheque HAD been posted I was going to suggest going to the bank and cancelling it…

    Enjoy the bag and shooz!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 28, 2014 at 3:23 am

      That was my plan – cancel the check right away in the morning. My co-worker did just that after I told her about the news story.
      Love my new bag! Still window shopping for shooz….

       
  3. agg79

    May 27, 2014 at 10:54 am

    Great turn of events. There is always some legal twist in these systems that certain areas seem to work around. In Germany, they have been using speed cameras for years. Exceed the limit on the autobahn (in certain areas) and you will get a nice picture of your car (with your face highlighted) in the mail. Some of my troops tried to fight it once, but they were basically told it is there word against the polizei. I got one traffic ticket the same way (said I ran a red light) – tried to contest (was the car behind me that ran it) but it was a lost cause.

    Down here, there has been a running battle for traffic cameras. The city has put them up to catch people running red lights but it was challenged by several groups and they had to pull them down (and pay the contractor the full contract fee). Just another way to squeeze some $$$ from your wallet. Glad to hear the check was NOT in the mail. Now you can go celebrate with some new shooz.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 28, 2014 at 3:31 am

      Illinois doesn’t allow red light cameras, as far as I know, and in Missouri, most cities are shutting them down due to not catching the right people running the lights.
      Nobody agrees more than I that something needs to be done about crazy and careless drivers. I see more than my share during my 100 mile commute. But it should be done legally, it should punish the actual driver of the car, and it should go against their record. This city was just telling us to send in the money…. that’s it.
      Perhaps I’ll just send ’em my retired running shooz.

       
  4. Abby

    May 28, 2014 at 8:27 pm

    YES!! Cheers for the workin’ (wo)man!! Such a frustrating situation. As I was reading this, I was getting all worked up, but good for your hubby for holding onto the check – happy ending!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 30, 2014 at 3:36 am

      I woke up ranting and raving, and he turned me around, without saying a word, and showed me the check. I have NEVER felt so relieved.

       
  5. territerri

    May 28, 2014 at 11:30 pm

    This is AWESOME news! I’m so glad that your hubby didn’t put the check in the mail and that you don’t have to pay. After the weeks you’ve had lately, I’m sure this was just what you needed. Enjoy that new purse!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 30, 2014 at 3:41 am

      It turned everything around, and I’m happy to be rid of the bitter feelings I was lugging around.
      I love my new purse, but in case you’re wondering, it cost WAY less than my “ticket” almost did.

       
  6. llcooljoe

    May 30, 2014 at 7:47 am

    Hey great news!! Enjoy shopping, yes that’s what you should be spending your hard earned cash on, nice stuff! I’ve just had a puncture and will need a new tyre which is going to cost £200 and I’m totally pissed off. What a waste of money!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 31, 2014 at 2:02 am

      Ugh! I feel your pain! Hubby and I are trying to figure out how we can get by without a car. They’re such money suckers!

       

Leave a Reply

 
