RSS

Shhh…

03 Jun

Can you keep a secret?

Our oven is out of commission, and it’s been out of commission for, oh, a month or two.

We called in a repair guy.  He ‘fixed’ it.  We wrote the check and sent him away.  Mario excitedly fired it up to make a pizza, and… it wasn’t fixed.

Repair Guy came back and “fixed” it again.  Again, she tried her pizza.  No luck.

We gave up on Repair Guy, and Hubby ordered a part.

Not it.

He ordered another part.

Not it.

So…. we’ve given up.

THAT’S the secret.

You see, I’ve quite enjoyed having a broken oven as an excuse not to be able to bake treats for my co-workers’ birthday/wedding/shower celebrations.

It’s been nice having my weekends to myself.  My Shadow and I have gotten much closer because of it.

So I’m in no rush to call in Repair Guy #2, or to buy a new one.  I’m hoping to keep my excuse until all thoughts of baked goods are out of their heads.

And I’ll just have to find something besides cupcakes to entertain myself with.

Shadow 2

Shouldn’t be too hard….

 

 
12 Comments

Posted by on June 3, 2014 in Baking, motorcycle, My Shadow

 

Tags: , ,

12 responses to “Shhh…

  1. Rock Chef

    June 3, 2014 at 8:19 am

    I’m kind of shocked – but I can see that it is a liberating experience for you, so go with it! If it feels good….

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 4, 2014 at 3:26 am

      I know, right? I miss it when I find a recipe I want to try, but then I head out on the bike, and I think ‘who needs an oven?’
      Liberating is the perfect word to describe how I feel when I can honestly say “Nope. Can’t do it.” to my co-workers.

       
  2. agg79

    June 3, 2014 at 10:49 am

    It just makes it easier to say “no” to all those requests for treats. At this point, I would begin to doubt Repair Guy’s credentials. Oh well, at least it gives you more road time on the bike.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 4, 2014 at 3:30 am

      ugh. We doubted Repair Guy’s credentials from the beginning, but we felt like we needed to support the one guy in our town who *ahem* ‘repairs’ appliances. Now we’re out 100 bucks and still don’t have an oven.
      But I got a bike! 🙂

       
  3. Abby

    June 3, 2014 at 2:59 pm

    Your secret’s safe with me! Are you paying Repair Guy a little extra??

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 4, 2014 at 3:32 am

      Uh, yesss…. I slipped him some money on the side and asked him to stall as long as he could. He’s doing a great job!

       
  4. llcooljoe

    June 3, 2014 at 7:07 pm

    Wow I wish our lawn mower needed fixing.

    I bet you miss home baking really!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 4, 2014 at 3:35 am

      Ha! Great idea! I could find lots of things to use that excuse for.
      And I DO miss baking, but I don’t miss the stress of HAVING to bake for people. It’s been nice to break away from that for a while.

       
  5. territerri

    June 4, 2014 at 2:27 am

    I am surprised how accepting you are of this situation! Then again, it’s easy to not miss being inside using the oven when the weather is so beautiful outside.

    Maybe you can just continue dealing with it until you sell the house…. Nah. That wouldn’t be nice to the new owners! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 4, 2014 at 3:38 am

      The weather has been SO nice on my days off that I don’t even think about baking. If I was stuck inside, I’d feel quite differently I’m sure.
      At this point, we’re calling a different repair guy in, but we’re only doing that because of the new buyers. I suppose it’s not very fair to them to leave ’em with a cold oven.

       
  6. The Thin Lady Inside

    June 4, 2014 at 3:08 pm

    Yes, you deserve a break! And since sometimes (all the time?) it is hard for you to say no… it is good to have a good reason to (oh so sadly) say no to coworkers and friends when they need baked goodies 😛 … enjoy riding… but… please be safe… motorcycles scare ME!!! 😀

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 5, 2014 at 4:48 am

      ‘All the time’ would be correct. At least this way, I feel no guilt about saying “no”. But I suppose we have to get it fixed at some point….
      I always try to be safe on the motorcycle and drive defensively and avoid high traffic areas. The risks are great, but the enjoyment is too. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
