RSS

Confirmation

09 Jun

It’s official.

East St. Louis sent me a letter saying something like we tried to extract a bunch of money from you, but we really weren’t allowed to, so never mind you don’t have to pay it.  But let this be a lesson.

Yessir.  But first, a victory lap….

Victory lap



School’s finally out for the summer.  Amp missed the last week of school for a band trip to New York.  I think they’d planned school to be over before the trip, but Mother Nature had other ideas.  He took his finals early, but still had work to turn in the day after he arrived home.  We all breathed a huge sigh of relief after seeing his report card today.  He somehow managed to pass all his classes.  Still can’t figure out how the smartest kid in our family has so much trouble in school.  We’re hoping the answer comes this summer, and his senior year will be a little less traumatic for everyone.

Absent Minded Professor

We’re all packed up and awaiting our departure for Gatlinburg early tomorrow morning.  And looking forward to a rip-roaring wild time down the Upper Pigeon River along with some peace and quiet in a cabin in the mountains. We’ll be missing Link (ha!  get it?  Missing Link?), but we’re hoping to catch up with him sometime this summer.

We kicked off our vacation with the great classic Airplane.

Airplane

Thank god we’re driving.

 

 
 

Tags: , , ,

17 responses to “Confirmation

  1. Sandi

    June 9, 2014 at 2:05 am

    Your victory lap picture made me giggle.
    “Airplane” is called “Flying High” here – one of the all time classic comedies.
    ‘Surely you can’t be serious!’
    ‘I am, and don’t call me Shirley’

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 10, 2014 at 1:14 am

      We’ve seen it too many times, I think, but we laugh every time. ….and of course, we’re constantly quoting the Shirley line.

       
  2. Practical Parsimony

    June 9, 2014 at 2:37 am

    If you have only seen Airplane on tv or dvd, you missed some hilarious parts. I walked into the kitchen at a party and heard someone say “surely . . . . blah blah.” I said, “Don’t call me Shirley.: These 30ish men were dumbfounded that a 60ish woman had seen the movie. Then, I said, “My sister’s name is ‘Shirley’.” I suppose that is why they were so quiet and still for about 30 seconds. They asked me if I were serious about my sister’s name, They thought that was hilarious that I could truly say that. Then, we laughed and had a good conversation about the movie.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 10, 2014 at 1:17 am

      Ha! Funny! 🙂
      I’ve seen the movie several times in different formats, and it seems I always catch something new each time. Why I laugh at the stupid jokes is beyond me. And not only do I laugh, but I quote ’em too. It was fun to watch with the kids.

       
  3. Abby

    June 9, 2014 at 2:59 am

    Wow, lotsa good news! No ridiculous illegal speeding ticket fine, Amp has another school year under his belt, and now you get to go for some fun times in a mountain cabin, missing link – hardee har har.

    What’s your vector, Victor?

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 10, 2014 at 1:21 am

      I find it quite funny that they had to admit they were wrong. I wonder what they’re doing for the ones who actually MAILED their check.
      Right now, our vector is in a cabin somewhere in the Smokies. I hope we can find our way out….

       
  4. Rock Chef

    June 9, 2014 at 1:06 pm

    Surely you can’t be serious?

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 10, 2014 at 1:21 am

      I am… and don’t call me Shirley.

       
  5. The Thin Lady Inside

    June 9, 2014 at 9:16 pm

    Funny post! that’s such a dumb movie but it is really funny! I thought about that same thing your friend Sandi mentioned: ‘Surely you can’t be serious!’
    ‘I am, and don’t call me Shirley’ LOL 😛 … so… is it true? will they really send the money back? 😀 that’s awesome!!!!

     
  6. The Thin Lady Inside

    June 9, 2014 at 9:17 pm

    sorry… not send the money back… I mean… they will not expect you to pay it? AWESOME! 😀

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 10, 2014 at 1:23 am

      When I first heard the story, we decided we’re just not gonna pay it. And then we got the letter in the mail saying we didn’t have to! AWESOME! is right!!

       
  7. territerri

    June 11, 2014 at 1:36 am

    Yeah! Take THAT, East St. Louis! I’m glad they had to “apologize.”

    Have fun on vacation – much needed down time for you!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 11, 2014 at 1:23 pm

      Our vacation is off to a fantastic start! Mostly due to the apology letter from ESL. 🙂

       
  8. agg79

    June 12, 2014 at 1:19 am

    Kudos on beating da man! Good to see them eat crow. You deserve to burn a little rubber through that part of town. Hope you guys have a blast on your “rustic” vacation. Time off well deserved for everyone.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 12, 2014 at 3:03 am

      The rustic part of our vacation is now over. I’m sittin’ in a nice, comfy hotel room as we speak. (Or as I type, really.) And people are feeding and cleaning up after me. 🙂

       
  9. llcooljoe

    June 12, 2014 at 5:31 am

    Ha that was a great film. 😀

    My eldest daughter has just finished her exams but doesn’t think she’s done very well, problem is she didn’t work hard enough, and she retook one year too, so I’m not really sure what the future holds for her now. As parents we gave her all the opportunities, so the old expression you can take a horse to water, but you can’t force it to drink, or whatever, is very true.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 12, 2014 at 1:52 pm

      Seems your fighting the same battles. I worry too what his future holds. Well, all of them really. I just pray they find their way and that they are happy. We can only do so much… the rest is up to them.

       

Leave a Reply

 
