RSS

“Almost Home”

11 Jun

We just happened to be passing somewhat near Martin’s on our way to Gatlinburg.  And it just happened to be lunchtime.

So we started our trip off with some of the best BBQ ever.

Beef brisket, cornbread pancake, and slaw

Beef brisket, cornbread pancake, and slaw

Mario was kind not to balk at our choice.  Being a non-meat-eater, Martin’s wouldn’t have been her first choice.  Luckily they had a grilled cheese sammich on the menu.

But then this happened… right behind our table…. directly in her line of vision…

Pork

And this…

Hammerin

And then this….

Thought this was a family establishment.

Thought this was a family establishment.

We agreed to choose a more vegetarian friendly restaurant the next time.

After a few wrong turns in the Smokies, we finally located our cabin.  It’s a cute little place deep in the woods.  A little rickety, a little clubhouse-y, but it should suit us just fine…

"Almost Home" is it's name

“Almost Home” is it’s name

Living room

Living room

 

Dining area

Dining area

 

Back deck

Back deck

as long as we don’t mind sharing our home with him…

IMG_1085

 

 
12 Comments

Posted by on June 11, 2014 in BBQ, Family, Vacation

 

Tags: , , , ,

12 responses to ““Almost Home”

  1. Abby

    June 11, 2014 at 6:20 pm

    Wow, that is some “authentic” BBQ! Makes me wonder if it wasn’t a special show for the vegetarian!?
    That cabin looks super welcoming (except for maybe the spider). In my case, they could name it “Better Than Home”.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 12, 2014 at 3:07 am

      Better than home. 🙂 That was funny. Not true, but funny!
      I suppose we were in the right place at the right time at Martin’s, although Mario didn’t think so. And every time I turned to take a picture, she’d get a glimpse.
      It’s all good though. We ate at Bean Trees the next day…

       
  2. agg79

    June 12, 2014 at 1:17 am

    Like Abby said, wow. Those are my kind of accommodations. I prefer the remote, rustic cabins over the typical touristy rooms. Looks like you are fairly remote and isolated in a beautiful settings. I imagine some really pretty morning runs through the woods. Just keep an eye out for those quirky backwoods country folk (queue the banjos). Love the back deck. Good spot for some morning coffee.

    Interesting BBQ joint. I bet you didn’t quite expect to get a show with your brisket. That alone would make for an interesting write up on TripAdvisor. So,would be that a step up or down from Grumpy’s?

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 12, 2014 at 3:09 am

      It was definitely remote, and definitely rustic, and the deck was perfect for coffee. As for the run, well just wait until you hear about THAT.
      Martins was by far a step up from Grumpy’s. Even with the show. At least it was proof that they actually smoke ’em there.

       
  3. llcooljoe

    June 12, 2014 at 5:24 am

    Okay seeing the BBQ would have put me off eating! I do eat meat but have to say I’m not a massive fan.

    So your rustic cabin has the internet? Lucky you. I hope you have fun!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 12, 2014 at 2:01 pm

      Not so rustic I suppose. We had internet and dish TV. All the comforts of home, just way up on a mountain.
      Having lived in Greece as a youngster, I often saw pig and lamb roasting over an open pit. Not that it made THIS any easier to see.
      I can eat the standard beef, chicken, turkey and pork. Even lamb if it’s cooked a certain way. But rabbit, buffalo, alligator… anything out of the norm… and I take a pass.

       
  4. Rock Chef

    June 12, 2014 at 12:42 pm

    Nice looking place!

    I guess there is no doubting the freshness of the meat in Martins!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 12, 2014 at 2:15 pm

      I remember seeing them do that on Diner’s, Drive-ins, and Dives, but to see it in person is quite, um, barbaric.

       
  5. lottajoy

    June 12, 2014 at 9:46 pm

    I don’t think I could have eaten. I KNOW where it comes from. I think the actual way they slaughter is barbaric. But to see that cute little butt and tail……………. Like I said a few posts ago, we stayed at ABOVE AND BEYOND and discovered it was THE highest cabin in Gatlinburg. Had to worry about overheating our brakes when we were brave enough to drive down the mountain to go into town. But, no spiders. Just bears. I prefer bears. lol

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 13, 2014 at 2:11 am

      I wonder if we stayed in the same cabin! Our brakes were smokin’ by the time we got down, and the engine was just as strained each time we went up. I was happy not to run into any bears. Would have been happier not to have seen a huge spider in our tub too!
      Not sure we would do it again, but it’s nice to be able to say “been there done that”.

       
  6. territerri

    June 17, 2014 at 12:55 am

    Poor Mario! Even being a meat-eater, I’m not sure how comfortable I’d have been with the view you had in the restaurant.

    Your cabin looks rustic and cozy. But I’ll pretend I didn’t see that spider.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 17, 2014 at 2:09 am

      I wasn’t too shocked when they put the whole pig on the smoker, but when they brought out the hammer and chisel, I cringed a bit and tried not to think about what they were doing.
      And once Hubby got rid of the spider, we made a rule that nobody was allowed to mention it again. *shiver*

       

Leave a Reply

 
