RSS

Swagger?

13 Jun

After checking for spiders in our bedding, I crawled in, set my alarm for an early morning run, and tried to sleep.  My heart raced as I thought about spiders, and then about bears.  I’ve heard horror stories about people running near a baby bear and then being attacked by the momma.

I must’ve fallen asleep eventually, for my alarm woke me at 5:30 AM.  My usual start time.  I was shocked by how dark it was.  Back home, the sun would’ve been on the horizon.  Still afraid of bears, I laid back down til 6.

Once it was light enough, I laced up my shoes and headed out the door.

Since our cabin was located high up in the mountains, I decided I would run down the steep hills for about a mile, and then hike it back up.  With as steep as it was, I was fairly certain I’d get a good workout.

I left my headphones inside, so I could hear the sound of an angry bear, and began running down the mountain.

It was all I could do to keep myself from falling and rolling the rest of the way down.  It was STEEP!

proper downhill running

 

At a little over a mile, I turned around and began the hike back UP the mountain.

 

IMG_1088

I felt pretty comfortable by then.  I hadn’t seen any wild creatures other than a few squirrels and some birds, so my racing heart meant I was gettin’ the workout I had hoped for.

We went about our very fun day (more on that later), but by that evening I was feeling the tightness in my legs.  When I woke on Wednesday, I could barely get out of bed.

Still, I set out for another workout.  This time, I had planned to walk down the mountain, and run as much as I could on the way up.

O. M. G.  My legs hurt SO bad.  Each step was excruciating, but I was determined to keep going and loosen them up.  I prayed my muscles wouldn’t give out and send me rolling down the hill.

Coming back up was a little easier, using different muscles I suppose.

We spent the latter part of the day walking the Gatlinburg strip, and I cried the whole way.  Normally I would be out in front leading the pack, but that day I was bringing up the rear.  Anytime a stair step was involved, I cringed.  Especially if it was a step down.  Once, Chip offered to piggy-back me down a flight of stairs after eating on the second level of a restaurant.  My hubby just said, “Is this what it’s going to be like when you’re old?”

Two days later and they’re still sore.  My family likes it… they can keep up with me now…

and I got a pretty good swagger going on…

 

sore muscles

 

 

 
9 Comments

Posted by on June 13, 2014 in Running, Vacation

 

Tags: , ,

9 responses to “Swagger?

  1. Abby

    June 13, 2014 at 8:36 pm

    We all know you sacrificed yourself so that your family could keep up while on the vacation! But yes, you must be careful out in the woods in the early mornings and not become the ShadowRun breakfast special!

    “Is this what it’s going to be like when you’re old?” – HA!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 14, 2014 at 12:44 am

      The things I do for my family. My only hope is someday they will be appreciative….
      I was SO afraid of being a black bear’s breakfast. But in fact, I never saw one bear while we were there. (Although we’d seen them on past visits in the parking lot of our hotel!)
      And gawd, I HOPE that’s not what I’m like when I’m old. I was useless!

       
  2. agg79

    June 15, 2014 at 11:46 am

    Yea, those hills can really do a number on the legs. I found that our when we trekked all over Philmont a few years back – the uphill climb wasn’t so bad but the downhill trails really did a number of my knees/quads. That requires a different kind of training/conditioning that is hard to get down here in the flatlands. It really does take away some of the swagger, but I hope you are a little less sore today and back out leading the pack.

    And keep any eye out for those black bears so you don’t become some a snack.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 16, 2014 at 1:05 am

      The flat terrain up here didn’t prepare me in the least for the steepness of those hills. My quads were shot after the first mile – of course I didn’t realize it until later….
      It took close to 5 days for me to feel back to normal. I still wasn’t walking right after 2 days. But I’ll take that any day over becoming a snack for a hungry bear.

       
      • agg79

        June 16, 2014 at 2:15 am

        Yea, runners tend to be kinda tough and chewy for those bears.

         
  3. territerri

    June 17, 2014 at 1:00 am

    Well, you seem to have avoided the bears and your surroundings seemed to be your biggest challenge. At least you know, based on all that pain, that you strengthened some muscles!

    Lucy and I have encountered cows, rabbits, squirrels, and this morning, a fox. My worst fear is not the animals but that Lucy will pull my arm off as I try to hold onto the leash when she catches sight of them!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 17, 2014 at 2:19 am

      Now I gotta find some steep hills around here so I can KEEP those muscles.
      I don’t run the country roads in the dark because I’m afraid of coyotes… and skunks. And I can totally see Lucy trying to go after rabbits and squirrels. I bet you get a workout just trying to restrain her!

       
  4. llcooljoe

    June 22, 2014 at 6:52 am

    Okay and you call feeling like this a enjoyable thing to do on holiday? 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
