RSS

SWRWB

22 Jun

So remember a few weeks ago when I was scared I’d be running with bears?

Well Agg dubbed me SWRWB…  She Who Runs With Bears

He got it ALMOST right.

She Who Runs With Bugs

 

IMG_1071

Maybe not as admirable as my first title, but certainly more truthful.

This particular day I came back covered with them.  My face, my hands, my chest, my neck….

They’re all dead, of course.  I’m assuming they drowned in my sweat, but they may have died upon impact.  I was pretty fast that day.

And I’m quite sure I swallowed one or two.  And one got stuck in my eye.

Ahh, the joys of running in the country.

It beats running through the woods with bears however….

bears

 
10 Comments

Posted by on June 22, 2014 in Running

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “SWRWB

  1. Sandi

    June 22, 2014 at 11:32 am

    I am uncertain about this new bug look you’ve got going on.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 24, 2014 at 2:21 am

      I spared you the shot of my face. Your welcome.

       
  2. Abby

    June 22, 2014 at 6:20 pm

    How convenient that “bugs” fit your new initials!
    I’ve traveled through my share of bug clouds, but this is impressive! I just figure it’s nature’s way of providing extra protein on the run. Try to get more in your mouth next time.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 24, 2014 at 2:26 am

      The clouds of bugs are the worst! You can’t see them, but you can definitely tell when you’ve hit ’em.
      I’m always in search of more protein, but I think I’ll just stick to my pancakes.

       
  3. agg79

    June 23, 2014 at 2:00 am

    Oh My Gawd. Them’s a lot of bugs. You really must have been hauling butt to pick up that many carcasses. They look like gnats but I was originally fearing they might be tics. Tics are prevalent up in that neck of the woods (and a lot harder to kill). Glad you only had to deal with only those critters. I recently spotted a video about two joggers running with a bear (http://fishgame.com/2014/06/video-joggers-caught-in-tense-confrontation-with-alberta-black-bear/) that made me think of your run.

    And I have to think: What sort of bug do you pick up on your rides?

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 24, 2014 at 2:37 am

      Sheesh! After seeing that video I feel pretty lucky I didn’t meet any bears while flailing down the mountain. I’ll take bugs any day of the week over that. But not tics. I wouldn’t have taken the time to pose for a pic if they were tics. *shiver*
      Luckily my motorcycle has a windshield and blocks most of the bugs, but I’ll occasionally hit one and think “that’ll leave a mark”.

       
  4. Rock Chef

    June 24, 2014 at 8:29 am

    I know how you feel – it is now the time to cycle with sun glasses on while keeping the mouth closed tight…

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 25, 2014 at 2:29 am

      I bike occasionally too, and yes! Gotta keep the glasses on and the mouth closed. They seem to be more bountiful this year.

       
  5. territerri

    June 25, 2014 at 12:25 am

    So they’re a little bit yucky, yeah. But I’ll agree…. way better than running with bears!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 25, 2014 at 2:37 am

      “She Who Runs with Bugs” is not as admirable as “She Who Runs with Bears”.
      But I’ll get over it. Especially because I’d rather run with bugs….

       

Leave a Reply

 
