RSS

Missing Link

03 Jul

I’ve been missing Link a little more than usual lately.  It all started when we took a “family” vacation to Gatlinburg without him.  He called while we were there which made me feel even more guilty.  But his good news couldn’t wait!  The company he works part time for has offered to hire him on full time.  He’ll get a raise and be eligible for medical benefits and retirement.

I’m happy for him.  I’d love for him to finish school, of course, but this is what he wants and I’m happy for him.

He’s in a place where he feels accepted and valued.  Something he never felt while he was here.  His two best buds live in the apartment above him and work in the same place.  When they’re not working, they’re together.  He’s so happy it makes me cry.  Who cares if he doesn’t finish school. Okay, maybe a little I do.  But he’ll be making enough to support himself, and he’s happy.

He decided it’s best not to ask off for vacation so early in his ‘career move’, so he’s putting off coming home.  I don’t blame him.  Not much to see here.  (Except his mom!)

So since he’s not coming home, I’m going to him.  I’ve bribed Amp into coming along with me, and by the end of next week we will be Ohio bound.

I can’t wait to see the place that has brought happiness to Link.  I can’t wait to meet the guys who see in him what I see.  And I can’t wait to see the Link who has grown a little more confident, a little more outgoing, and a little more up.

Buckeye State here we come!

I think I know why Amp has agreed to go….

 

 

 

 

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on July 3, 2014 in Family, Parenting, Vacation

 

Tags: ,

8 responses to “Missing Link

  1. agg79

    July 3, 2014 at 11:08 am

    If you can’t bring the boy to the mom, bring the mom to the boy. That always works. That’s a good excuse for heading east to the Buckeye State. It is always interesting to see how the kids have grown when they have been out of the next for a while. We’ve had the same treks up to Austin with junior moved off to college.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 4, 2014 at 3:07 am

      I think he may even be a little excited that I’m coming out. He’s right though, there’s not much to do in Ohio, so I’m not expecting an activity filled couple of days. But I’m SO looking forward to seeing him. It’ll be well worth the drive up.

       
  2. Abby

    July 4, 2014 at 6:25 pm

    Aw, I know you miss him, but this is all good news! After all the responsible and independent stuff, we just want our kids to be happy (and miss their moms). And don’t forget, there are some happy, successful people out there that never finished school – my nephew for one!

    Have a fun trip! You and Amp and missing Link!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 5, 2014 at 2:31 am

      It really IS good news. After years of seeing him unhappy this is more than I could have hoped for. He NEEDED this. He needed friends and the self pride that being independent and making it on his own has brought him. I can’t wait to see him. I want to let him know how happy I am for him and how proud I am of him. Plus, I’m looking forward to some one-on-one time with Amp. 🙂

       
  3. territerri

    July 5, 2014 at 1:36 pm

    I am so happy for Link and so happy that you’re going to go see him. I can SO relate to how you feel – about him not going to school, but finding a job that makes him feel valued and respected, and having a group of friends who ‘get’ him. Link sounds so similar to my middle kid.

    Have a great time visiting!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 6, 2014 at 1:58 am

      I remember how relieved/happy/proud you felt when Jake got his new job. Link doesn’t necessarily love his job as much as he loves that he can support himself and that he has friends who LIKE him. He can’t even believe his good fortune. He spent too many years in a small town with kids who didn’t get him. He figured he’d be an outsider forever. My heart feels so good right now. 🙂

       
  4. llcooljoe

    July 11, 2014 at 7:40 am

    I know how you feel about school. I think both of my daughters will be dropping out early and looking for jobs. It’s not what I wanted, I wanted them both to go on to uni etc. but I don’t necessarily think that’s the best option anymore. There are so many youngsters here in the UK with degrees who can’t get a job, and yet other kids who left school at 16 and have gone into basic jobs and worked their way up that way.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 11, 2014 at 11:43 pm

      Exactly! I work with graduated college kids at my hotel who have not been able to find a job in their field. It’s so competitive these days. Link has a basic call center job that pays him pretty well, and he plans to just move up with them. If anything, it gives him experience which will help him down the road. I’m still encouraging him to develop a trade, just in case things go wrong at the call center, but for now he’s totally independent of us, feeling rich, and incredibly happy. I can’t hardly ask for more.

       

Leave a Reply

 
