RSS

It’s starting to trickle

10 Jul

The contract on the house has been signed, and barring any major catastrophes, it’s been sold “as is”.   Being the morally sound people we are, *sigh*, we can’t just hand over the house “as is”.

After replacing multiple parts on the oven, it’s still not fixed.  So the new owners will be receiving a new oven.  Wonder what kind they’d like.

And while Hubby was cleaning out the attic, the attic stairs fell apart.  Now they’ll have new stairs, along with a new oven.

Then there’s the back garage door.  For years it hasn’t opened and closed properly.  WE never minded it, but THEY might.  So a brand new back door has been installed.

We gotta hurry up and get outa here before a downpour of catastrophes begin.

I think we may have found a place.  It’s not in our ideal location of downtown near the school, but it’s got a nice sidewalk leading to the downtown area.  Perfect for running.  And biking to school, of course.

Plus it’s near our niece who just had a baby and quite possibly may need a babysitter here and there.  Mario is ALL over that.

In the meantime, we have done NOTHING to prepare ourselves for the actual move itself.  I’m waiting for my hubby to do it all.  He’s waiting for me.  So at this point, everything, and I do mean EVERYTHING remains untouched.

I wonder if we subtract a couple grand off the house, if we can just leave it all here.  It took us years to collect enough stuff to fill all the shelving downstairs.  I’d think they’d be happy to have that done for them already.

But if they’d rather start out with empty shelves, I’m sure we can make it all fit in our new, smaller abode.

overstuffed house

 

 

 
14 Comments

Posted by on July 10, 2014 in Everyday Living, Family

 

Tags: , , , ,

14 responses to “It’s starting to trickle

  1. Sandi

    July 10, 2014 at 4:52 am

    Moving house is such a perfect time to clear some clutter, but only if you’re ready to. Nothing worse than being pushed into it early!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 11, 2014 at 1:09 am

      Neither of us are motivated to start packing and getting rid of things. Probably because we’re not being held at gunpoint yet. Once we know where we’re moving to, perhaps we’ll feel a little more excited.

       
  2. Rock Chef

    July 10, 2014 at 8:28 am

    “Hey, we bought the house AS IS! What is all this new stuff?????”

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 11, 2014 at 1:12 am

      Neither one of us wanted to do any more ‘fixing of the house’, which is why we were so happy they liked it as is. But then ALL this stuff started happening. We gotta get outa here quick!

       
  3. shammy

    July 10, 2014 at 11:58 am

    Perfect opportunity for the mother of all yard sales!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 11, 2014 at 1:16 am

      I know, right! Maybe I’ll just charge an admission fee and let everyone haul out whatever they’d like.
      (hmm… that’s REALLY a good idea….)

       
  4. Abby

    July 10, 2014 at 8:25 pm

    Whenever I think about moving, I think about all the stuff we’d have to fix first, then I stop thinking about it!

    “I’m waiting for my hubby to do it all. He’s waiting for me.” Ha! This could get interesting!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 11, 2014 at 1:24 am

      Neither one of us are fix-it-uppers, so when they loved the house as is, we were thrilled! But then we felt guilty *sigh* about leaving them with a broken oven, a broken door, and broken stairs.
      I’m guessing Hubby will cave first. 😉

       
  5. llcooljoe

    July 11, 2014 at 7:34 am

    If they bought it with dodgy garage door I’d leave it.

    Why don’t you sell some of your stuff on ebay? That’s what I do. Mind you we still seem to replace it all with new crap.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 11, 2014 at 11:38 pm

      Better yet, I’ll have my kids sell it. And bribe ’em with some of the profit. They’re so much better at those things than I am. And then hopefully, with a smaller home, we won’t be able to replace it with new crap.

       
  6. territerri

    July 12, 2014 at 1:45 am

    You’re doing the kind thing by fixing up the stuff that needs fixing. Your buyers will appreciate it so much.

    Don’t you always say that you work well under pressure? No need to start packing just yet. Give it until a couple of weeks before you have to be out and I’ll bet you’ll have no problem parting with a lot of stuff!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 12, 2014 at 1:52 am

      You’re absolutely right. I’ll wait until the final moment, and then I’ll feel so crunched for time I’ll be happy to part with everything I can’t take in one trip.
      Ours buyers have been so nice and are SO excited to be living in our house that we want it to be great for them. They also are fully aware it’s been a lived in house, and we have foreclosed any and all problems we’re aware of. Nothing major of course, we just didn’t want them to have any surprises or concerns.

       
  7. agg79

    July 19, 2014 at 2:33 am

    You are going to drive yourself crazy before the end. I bet if you hired a cleaning service, you would vacuum the carpet before they got there. I get your passion about making things right for the new homeowners. We don’t want to leave them with any problems but, as a longtime homeowner, every weekend can present a new “opportunity”. I sold my old trailer two years ago and still feel bad about some of the flaws that I had intended to fix (I told them about them up front). Good luck in wrapping up the old homestead. A real melancholy moment.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 20, 2014 at 1:25 am

      Yesterday we went oven shopping for the new buyers since we never were able to fix ours. After 5 minutes of looking, we called the buyers and asked if they would pick it out and we would pay for it. Problem solved! They get what they want, we just have to write the check.

       

Leave a Reply

 
