RSS

My Princess

12 Jul

I got a call immediately after I turned off the shower the other morning.  Thinking it may be the hotel, I grabbed the towel without bothering to dry off and raced to my phone.

It was Mario.

Me:  Umm, hello?

Her:  Mom?

Me:  Mario.  Where are you?

Her: In my bed…

My thoughts:  Really?  You called me from your bed?  Really?

My words:  What’s going on honey?

She proceeded to tell me her throat hurts and she doesn’t feel good and can I check on her before I go to work.

Aww… she NEEDS me!  I love when that happens. I mean, I don’t love when she’s sick, but at 15 she rarely needs me, so I’ll take it.

But then I got this call the next day, just after she left for a bike ride and just before Amp and I backed out of the driveway for Ohio.

Her:  Mom?  (She called MY phone.  Why does she have to question it’s me that answers?)

Me:  Yes Honey?

Her:  My water bottle fell and I ran over it.

Me:  Oh no!  Is it broken?

Her:  No.  But all the water spilled out.

Me:  O…k…. Do you wanna come home and get some more?….

Her:  Noooo… I’ve gone a mile already.

Me:  Well you were planning to ride 10 miles anyway.  What’s an extra mile?

Her:  Well it’s TWO extra miles and I don’t want to.

Me:  Then go the rest of the way without water.  I usually do.

Her:  But I NEED water.  I’m sick!

Me:  Mario, I’m not bringing water to you.  If you need water, come home and get it.  Otherwise finish your ride and get some after.

It’s one thing to be needed.  It’s another to be used.  I felt slightly guilty.  Slightly.  But I gotta give her credit for trying.  After all, I usually would do anything for my kids.  But right then, I was bringing Amp to Ohio for a play date with his brother.  And I really didn’t want to go two miles out of my way.  Not to mention, I couldn’t really set a precedent to jump at every beck and call from my sweet baby girl.

princess

See why?

 
10 Comments

Posted by on July 12, 2014 in Family, Parenting

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “My Princess

  1. Abby

    July 13, 2014 at 3:12 am

    Okay, I’m sorry. I’m laughing. Okay, I’m not really sorry because that’s darn funny!

    First, I thought it was funny that she called you from her sick bed while you were both in the house. My sons will just lay there because they know that, sooner or later, I’ll come around and say, “GEDDUP ALREADY!”

    Then the water bottle call – classic! I think it’s clear that she’s missing you. Enjoy your trip! Guilt free!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 14, 2014 at 3:54 am

      I tell her, “back in my day, if I wanted to talk to my mom I had to GET UP and walk ALL the way to the next room!”
      At first I didn’t think she was serious about the water bottle. But she was serious. Cracked me up too! 🙂

       
  2. llcooljoe

    July 14, 2014 at 6:29 am

    Ha ha, my two send me emails from their bedrooms. 😀

    You did the right thing with the water I think. Sometimes we can do too much for our kids I think.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 15, 2014 at 3:14 am

      I don’t mind the texts from the next room, but a call was hilarious. And she was definitely testing the waters (no pun intended) with the empty water bottle. At least now she knows I won’t do EVERYTHING for her.

       
  3. Rock Chef

    July 14, 2014 at 11:17 am

    Oh you Bad Parent! How could you?! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 15, 2014 at 3:24 am

      Tough love… I bet next time she’ll think twice about dropping her water bottle and running it over… I’ve done her a favor.

       
  4. territerri

    July 15, 2014 at 7:16 pm

    Hahahaha! (It’s a girl thing. Kacey totally would have tried to get me to bring water to her if she were ever in that same situation.) I think they know that we WANT to be there for their every need. And I think they just can’t help but try to see how far they can push it.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 20, 2014 at 1:40 am

      Exactly! She knows I’d do anything for her, so she was checking to see if I’d really do anything for her. There was no argument when I said no, so SHE knows it was a bit much to ask. But heck, why not try, right?

       
  5. agg79

    July 19, 2014 at 2:28 am

    Ok. I gotta admit, like Abby and Terri, I am laughing but I gotta admit I’m not sorry. Funny how our kids try to milk the mommy guilt thing as long as they can. My son had it down to an art form. Of course, with me, I was little less “nurturing”. Maybe it’s a daddy thing.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 20, 2014 at 1:28 am

      “Nurturing”. Sounds so much better than “spoiling”. I could tell even she knew she was milking it a little too much. It was worth a try though. Gotta give her credit!

       

Leave a Reply

 
