RSS

Short but sweet

16 Jul

As I was planning my trip to visit Link, it crossed my mind how crazy it was to spend a whole day driving to Ohio,  to only get to spend one day with Link, and then have to drive back home the next day.  Oh, the things I’ll do for my kids.

Well really, this was for ME.  Oh, the things I’ll do for ME.

Amp mentioned a while back he might be interested in going with me.  I should’ve known that’s 17 year old male talk for “I wanna go!  Please?  Please?” He set up camp in the backseat of the car – computer , phone, nifty new pens, sketch pad –  and made himself comfy while I drove.

At first I was disappointed that he was sitting behind me.  This was supposed to be our one-on-one time!  But I was pleasantly surprised at how much he was willing to talk and share!  The drive seemed to fly by!

After settling into the hotel, we hunted down an ice cream store and spent the rest of the evening resting up for the big day.

Since we weren’t allowed to be at Link’s apartment until 11:30 AM, (he’s not very proud of his roommate), I started off my day with a run in the city.

Amp and I still had time to kill afterwards, so we scoped out an office supply furniture store to take Link to later, and we hit up a used book store for some ‘new’ reading material.

Finally we were allowed to head over.  I can’t describe how good it was to see him.  He proudly showed us around his place.  Amp excitedly checked out the posters and his latest comic book series (he’s always been Link’s biggest fan).  We headed upstairs to his friends’ apartment where he spends most of his time.  They’d ‘cleaned’ the places up for us, but I didn’t dare use either restroom.

After completing some necessary paperwork to officially cut his ties from Mom and Dad, we headed out to the fave pizza place.  I took in every word, every smile, every THING.  Then we headed out to explore his home town.  Amp wanted to sit in back with Link.  In between giving driving directions to me, they jabbered on to each other about the different projects they’ve worked on – homemade videos, drawings, etc, – they discussed in great detail different movies they’ve seen, and they practiced their character voices, cracking each other up along the way.  Again, I took it ALL in.

He took us to the school he’ll no longer attend.  Then he took us to his place of work where we happened to meet up with his friends on their lunch break.  In the short ten minutes we were there, I knew why Link likes them so much.  And seeing them interacting with Link warmed my heart.  These were his buds.  They were the ones who rescued him from this small town, pulled him out of his misery, and gave him reason to get up in the morning.  I managed to control my tears.  They wouldn’t have understood.

All too soon, the day came to an end.  At least MY day came to an end.  While visiting Link’s workplace, his friends mentioned they wanted to go out after work.  By out, they meant out to eat, and then home again for some game time.  Link invited Amp to hang out with them and assured me he’d have him “home” at a decent hour.  I headed back to the hotel alone, but not disappointed. My heart was full of joy.  After all my years of worrying, I finally knew Link was going to be okay.

I couldn’t head back to Illinois without seeing him one more time, however.  So Link graciously woke up early to go out for breakfast with us.  We enjoyed a final meal of pancakes, and once again, I took everything in hoping to carry it all back home with me.

As we hugged goodbye, I could feel how happy he was that I’d come to visit.  He promised he’ll either be out for Thanksgiving or Christmas.  Then he and Amp hugged and expressed how much fun they’d had together.

As we pulled away, Amp proclaimed, “He seems happy.”

Yes he does.  Yes. He. Does.

 

 
10 Comments

Posted by on July 16, 2014 in Family, Parenting, Vacation

 

Tags: , ,

10 responses to “Short but sweet

  1. lottajoy

    July 16, 2014 at 6:54 pm

    My post this morning gave me a warm and fuzzy feeling, then I read yours and got another one!! When we drive over 800 miles to see my sister, we only stay two nights. Kind of ridiculous for us. Your drive wasn’t that long and maybe you can do it more often?

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 17, 2014 at 6:18 am

      The ride there seemed quick and painless. It was the ride home that was torture! I’m sure you can relate.
      If seeing him more than once a year means I have to drive to HIM, then that’s what I’ll do. It’ll be easy until we move to Florida. Perhaps then we can carpool??

       
  2. Abby

    July 17, 2014 at 9:30 pm

    Such a feel-good post! *sniff* It’s like I could see Link’s wings growing and spreading – inspiring Amp along the way.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 18, 2014 at 2:36 am

      Amp was very inspired by Link’s independence – a decent income, his own place, and friends right upstairs. It was good for both of us to see!

       
  3. territerri

    July 18, 2014 at 1:17 am

    Oh I love it! Just love it! It’s so hard seeing our kids struggle, but maybe that makes it all that much sweeter when we see them thriving and happy. I’m so glad you had this time with a couple of your boys. It was obviously worth it, no matter how short the visit.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 18, 2014 at 2:40 am

      You know, this is probably even sweeter because he struggled so much – once again proving you have to have some sadness, disappointment, heartache, etc., to be truly able to appreciate the good.
      This short trip was worthwhile for all three of us, and one I will happily do again.

       
  4. agg79

    July 19, 2014 at 2:25 am

    The ride up to see the offspring is always worth the journey/trouble. We made many trips to Austin to visit with junior and, despite the headaches and traffic, it was well worth it. Great way to enjoy your weekend with your kids (even if he is growing up all to quickly).

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 20, 2014 at 1:29 am

      This trip was definitely worth my while. It was so good to see him in his new surroundings. And knowing how happy he is will help me get through the months until I can see him again.

       
  5. llcooljoe

    July 23, 2014 at 7:22 am

    What a wonderful post. Really deep down all we want is for our kids to be happy. I’m having some issues with my eldest daughter at the moment, but really the only important thing is that our kids know they are loved and we are there for them, even if they make choices we don’t always like or agree with.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 23, 2014 at 2:24 pm

      I have always been more concerned about their happiness than their success. I think it bothers my hubby more, but even he has changed his way of thinking. What makes it tough, is we are from a very small community where people are always bragging about their kids, and where there’s a feeling of “having to keep up with the Jones'”. When people ask about our kids, Link especially, I tell them he’s happy, and I couldn’t ask for anything more.

       

Leave a Reply

 
