RSS

Fat Toed Sloth

18 Jul

I love running in a new place.  With new scenery to scope out, I often forget I’m running, and I can usually go for miles.

So while visiting Link, I was excited to run through downtown Columbus.  I took off towards a park not far from the hotel.  After a mile, I knew something wasn’t right with my Map My Run app.  She claims I ran that first mile in 7 minutes flat.  And my subsequent miles were much faster than normal too, including a 6 minute mile at one point.  I know I run faster when others are around, but that fast?  Really?

When I got back to the hotel I realized how.

My app presumed I was zig-zagging down the sidewalks.  And I’m talking HUGE zig zags.

columbus course

According to its calculations I was finishing a mile long before I REALLY finished a mile.  So who knows how far I actually ran that day.

The next day I ran extra laps *yawn* around the park since the GPS seemed to work better there.  I like the views of the city, but I also like knowing how far I’ve gone.

As I neared the end of my run, I saw quite a gathering of bright shirts up the street.  Seems a 5K was about to start.  In my usual manner, I picked up my speed, finishing strong, making it seem as if my 7 mile run was just a walk in the park.

Whether it was my ego-filled run to the finish line, or whether it was my new shoes which seem a tad too tight, whatever it was, I have not run since.

My foot ached all the way back to Illinois that day, making driving quite unbearable.  Standing on my foot at work the next day didn’t help matters.  The ball of my foot was swollen, and I couldn’t put any pressure on it or my toes.

The swelling has since gone down, but the ache in my foot remains.  Web MD has diagnosed me with one of two conditions. Metatarstalgia  or Morton’s neuroma.  Both are caused by repetitive pressure on the ball of the foot (ie, running) or by shoes with a narrow toe box.

Now I love my new shoes, but they DO have a narrow toe box, and when I first tried them on they felt tight.  I realized I’d forgotten to order a 1/2 size up since Brooks tends to run small.  But they weren’t that bad, so I ran with ’em.

Then this happened.  Luckily, Brooks has a 30 day guarantee – worn or not – and they’re sending me a 1/2 size bigger.  But I’m nervous.  What if they’re still not wide enough?  Will they let me exchange for the Ghost 7s, their widest shoe?  And will I like those as much?

Only time will tell.  Until then, I’m trying to stay off it as much as possible. My elliptical and bike have been my new best friends.  And I’m trying very hard not to be sad about missing THE. BEST. temperatures for running that I’ve ever seen in mid July.  50s and 60s in the early morning?  I wanna run!

*sigh*

But I’ll get over it.

I always do.

stumble

 
10 Comments

Posted by on July 18, 2014 in Blunders, Running

 

Tags: , ,

10 responses to “Fat Toed Sloth

  1. Abby

    July 18, 2014 at 5:46 pm

    Well, of course you hurt your foot with all that zig-zagging!

    Gosh, I hope it’s not the shooz, though. I’ve had Pure Flows for a while and find them very friendly, but did spend time skipping around the house in them before taking them out running – not necessary with other shoes. And yes, they do run small – I wear 10s!

    Hope you heal up soon… and that the weather waits for you!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 18, 2014 at 6:47 pm

      I’m not sure I’ll ever know the real cause, but I know some of the reviews of the 3s expressed disappointment that the toe box was narrower than the 2s. And since I accidently ordered 1/2 size smaller than I normally do, it COULD be what caused the problem. I’m hoping the bigger size will do me better, ’cause I really do love ’em! Next week’s weather doesn’t look TOO bad. Maybe I’ll be better by then?

       
      • Abby

        July 19, 2014 at 3:33 am

        After reading this, I went and scrutinized Wolfgang’s 3s – specifically the toe box. It does “look” a bit more narrow, but I couldn’t speak to the fit. I asked him later, and he says, “It. Might? Be?” for whatever that’s worth. I’m due for a new pair and plan to get some in a week or so. I refuse to get 10.5! I’m only 5’5″ 😦

         
      • shadowrun300

        July 20, 2014 at 1:22 am

        Don’t let ME talk you out of trying them. I still LOVE the shoe, and my right foot feels awesome! I have a bunion on my left foot which makes that foot wider. So it’s MY feet that are the problem, not the shoe. Sadly, I received the 1/2 size bigger in the mail, and it’s still too tight. So for me, they’re not going to work out, but for you, they’ll probably be just fine – size 10 and all. 🙂

         
  2. territerri

    July 18, 2014 at 11:22 pm

    I look forward to the day that I forget I’m running and just enjoy the scenery. If that day ever arrives!

    Sorry to hear that your shoes aren’t quite the right fit. I’ve only ever ordered a pair of bowling shoes online, and those ended up being too big. So I would be nervous about ordering running shoes online. I hope your replacements do the trick!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 19, 2014 at 1:47 am

      I feel labored when I run the same route over and over again. But when there’s things to see (other than cows and fields), it’s so much more fun! My very own color run! (And let me tell you, there were some colorful characters on the sidewalks of Columbus…)
      I haven’t had much luck ordering running shoes online, but they’re so good about returning and exchanging so I keep doing it. My bigger ones came in today. I need a few more days of rest and then I’ll put them to the test.

       
  3. agg79

    July 19, 2014 at 2:20 am

    Ok. You are really ticking me off. Here I am feeling all mopey and sorry for myself and you are hammering out 7 miles without even breaking a sweat. You and Abby can really rub it in. Now I am going to have to put in another 4 miles in the morning just to justify that Kung Pao Chicken. Interesting how you were out and polishing off a 7 mile jaunt when everyone else was gearing up for a 5k. Hard core. Hope the larger size shooz work. The specialty shoe store recommended me to up my shoe by 1/2 size as well and it seemed to help my last half. Perhaps I’ve been doing wrong all along.

    And don’t knock the zig-zag running. Valuable lesson: if you have to outrun an alligator (they have a few in Florida), always run in a zig-zag fashion….

     
    • agg79

      July 19, 2014 at 2:22 am

      Oh, and I did enjoy running in the early morning weather last week when I was in Wisconsin/Illinois. Way better than the temps we have down here right now.

       
      • shadowrun300

        July 20, 2014 at 1:35 am

        It’s SO much easier to run in cooler weather, isn’t it? I hope it hangs around for another week or two. I wanna take advantage of it!

         
    • shadowrun300

      July 20, 2014 at 1:34 am

      I wonder if I had really zig-zagged through the city if it would have recorded me going in a straight line. And how fast do alligators run? Now I’m scared and feel like I should be practicing my zig-zagging. Once my foot heals…
      (and no, the bigger size isn’t wide enough. I’m so sad. I loved those shoes!)

       

Leave a Reply

 
