RSS

Luck be with me

23 Jul

I’ve been laid up for over a week with my bum foot.  My toes and the ball of my foot are no longer swollen, but with a twinge remaining, I have done the smart thing and quit running.  Even though the temperatures have been incredible.  Even though I dread working out in my basement.  Even though… well, anyway… I quit.

As bummed out as I am over my foot, I’m even more bummed that my new shooz may have been the cause.  I really love them, but my extra wide left foot doesn’t like the narrow toe box.  I exchanged them for a bigger size, but they’re just longer.  Not wider.  So they’re going back too, and I decided I needed some expert advice.  I stopped at the running store on my way home, took the advice they gave me for fat-footed people, and headed home to research.  My sources have been pretty reliable in the past.  (The internet and Abby)  I bought the NEW new shooz today and hope to try them out tomorrow.   With luck, I’ll be happy and pain free.

We’ve had some recent good luck in other areas, so I’m feeling pretty good it’ll continue.  A few weeks ago we contacted a realtor to let him know we were looking to rent.  He just so happens to own a home that he rents to a lady who’s having trouble making payments and needs a cheaper place to live, and so he would love to rent it to us instead.  *deep breath*  We raced to take a look at it.  It’s young, has 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, an unfinished basement and a 2-car garage.  We’ll take it!  The current lessee can be out by September 1 and we can move in shortly thereafter.

I now have motivation to start going through our boxes of stuff.  We have piles of stuff around the house.  Some to donate, some to store, some to take with us, and a LOT to trash.

We also got up the gumption to go stove shopping for our new buyers.  We drove the 40 minutes to our nearest shopping area and searched through a few different stores before calling the buyers.  “How would you feel about buying your own oven and we’ll pay you back.”

With that deal done, we headed to Chick-fil-a for dinner.  We’ve never eaten at Chick-fil-a, but it was close, and we like chicken, so we pulled in.  We were greeted by a young guy in his 20s who later informed us he’d worked at chick-fil-a for many years and married another Chick-fil-a employee.  Upon hearing we’d never been there before, he stepped around the counter to help us decide what to order.  Within minutes we knew what we wanted.  He quickly rang us up and told us to put our money away.  Our first meal would be on him.

The night was getting better and better!  We didn’t have to pick out an oven AND we got to eat for free?  And it tasted good too!  I’m sure we’ll be back.  Just not on a Sunday…

Now, if only this luck will continue during my run tomorrow.  (Please please please….)

begging

I miss it!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on July 23, 2014 in Everyday Living, Running

 

Tags: , , , ,

10 responses to “Luck be with me

  1. llcooljoe

    July 23, 2014 at 7:13 am

    Hey, sorry to read about your foot but the news about the free chicken and the new home sound great! And good thinking with the cooker!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 23, 2014 at 2:28 pm

      It was a brilliant idea, if I do say so myself. Neither one of us like shopping, and when what we’re buying is for someone else, it’s worse! Now they can get what they want. And I can manage 1 or 2 more months without an oven. I’ve gone 3 months as of now! 🙂

       
  2. agg79

    July 23, 2014 at 11:07 am

    It does look like lady luck is smiling upon you right now. Don’t forget to pick up a lottery ticket on the way home. I hope the rest and new shooz do the trick and you are back out on the trail. I can imagine how antsy you are NOT running. Sounds like your house dilemma is working itself quite well. I would have expected more stress and drama, but you are making it sound easy.

    I am a big fan of Chic-fil-a whenever I do fast food (not that often). The chicken sandwich is muy bueno and their restaurants are very clean/well run/family friendly.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 23, 2014 at 2:35 pm

      It was SO tasty! And the little bowls of Cheerios for the future Chic-fil-a patrons was adorable! And their bathroom! WAY nicer than mine!
      The house situation is going so smoothly. However, last night we got a call from the buyers saying they weren’t sure they’d be ready to close by September 1. So… we’re trying to see if we can push off moving into our rented house until October 1. If we can’t, we may just have to double up on rent and house payment. Keep your fingers crossed that THAT doesn’t happen.
      Thursday morning will be my trial run with my new shooz. Can’t wait!!

       
  3. Abby

    July 23, 2014 at 2:17 pm

    Well, things are certainly falling into place with the housing situation! The buy-your-own-oven solution sounds like a win/win too. And how sweet of Chick-fil-A guy! We’ve been a few times and always find their employees super friendly.

    Onto the shooz… I hope the Kinvaras are a happy solution. I’ve heard good things about them and am thinking of getting a pair. That tongue, though – so poofy! Beats poofy feet and toes, though.

     
  4. shadowrun300

    July 23, 2014 at 2:38 pm

    Wait! There’s a poofy tongue? (going to check….) Hmm… I guess it is a little poofy. Not something I noticed though. And YES, way better than poofy feet and toes. My run is scheduled for Thursday morning. I’m super excited!

     
  5. Anita

    July 23, 2014 at 9:03 pm

    Did you get to hear the Chick-fil-A guy say, “My Pleasure!” Or maybe that’s only at the drive thru, where they also say, “Take your time. Order when you’re ready.” Can you tell I’ve been there a “few” times.

    Best wishes with your foot! I’m not a daily runner, but if my foot had an issue, I’d be acting as if I was.

    I love the cat. I hope his prayers and begging continue to work for you as you prepare for your new home. 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 24, 2014 at 1:45 am

      I don’t recall the guy saying it, but the young lady who cleared our table did. And the older lady who took my hubby’s soda to clean off the lid where soda had leaked through, did too! I’ll have to go back to see if it happens again!
      Good to see you again! 🙂

       
  6. territerri

    July 26, 2014 at 1:19 pm

    That’s a smart idea – letting the new buyers pick out their own stove. Best solution for everyone!

    We don’t have any Chik-Fil-as around here, so I’ve never been. Sounds like they’ve got the customer service thing figured out pretty well.

    Sorry to hear you’ve still been suffering with a bum foot! And how frustrating that it was all due to the shoes being a bad fit. I still haven’t bought a new pair, but I’ll be pretty cautious too. I’ve had a few issues with shoes causing pain for me. My last pair are some variety of Saucony and I like ’em pretty well, so I’ll probably look for another pair of them.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 27, 2014 at 1:07 am

      I knew my shoes felt a bit tight, but I didn’t realize they were doing damage until the damage was done. After some research, I figured out the pain was due from tight shoes. I’m bummed because I really enjoyed running in them. I have a pair of Saucony now. They’re wider, but I’m not in love with them like I was with the Pure Flows. If I could just shrink the width of my foot, I could run happy. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
