RSS

Every time feels like the first time

31 Jul

Especially when you don’t do it all that often.

It’s tough, you know?  Trying to find an hour or two to fit a quickie in.

If I’m tired, I have no desire to do it.  If I’ve been working a lot, I prefer to just sit on the couch.  And when the conditions are just right, and I finally think “today’s the day!”, then my hubby’s not home.  And although I’ve done it a few times by myself, it’s always more fun to do it with him.

So when this afternoon rolled around, and the kids were at band camp, and we had no desire to pack stuff up…

we did it.

And it was as exhilarating as always.

 

This is what I want to DO - all year round

We stopped at the lake and took a few minutes to watch the boats and listen to the seagulls.

Then we rode to Dairy King for some ice cream and a cold drink.

By this time evening was settling in.  The temperatures dropped a bit, and the ride home was cool and pleasant.  As I parked my Shadow in the garage I realized how much I had missed riding.  Hubby and I vowed not to wait too long before doing it again.  Heck, we may just do it again today.

Wild and crazy kids.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on July 31, 2014 in Humor, motorcycle, My Shadow

 

Tags: ,

8 responses to “Every time feels like the first time

  1. Abby

    August 1, 2014 at 2:00 am

    I’m so happy for you. And you achieved both boats AND seagulls!
    Very inspiring, think I’ll get me some too.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 1, 2014 at 2:40 am

      If I can help at least one person achieve boats AND seagulls, then I have accomplished what I set out to do.
      Go getcha some!

       
  2. The Thin Lady Inside

    August 2, 2014 at 1:47 pm

    you wild youngsters 😉 Good job! I love finding you … the way you are… always happy and living life! 🙂 Hugs!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 3, 2014 at 1:17 am

      I can’t say I’m THAT good at being happy and living life, but the older I get, the more I try to live in the moment. I’m much happier now than I was years ago.
      And I’m happy to hear from you! You’ll have to stop by more often. 😉

       
  3. territerri

    August 2, 2014 at 8:05 pm

    Well, thanks! Now I’ll have that Foreigner song stuck in my head the rest of the day! 🙂 Which actually isn’t a bad thing. It’s a great song!

    Nice that you found some time to go riding with your hubby. I know with everything going on and preparing to move and all, it must be hard to find free time for much of anything fun. It’s probably just what you needed!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 3, 2014 at 1:21 am

      I didn’t have that song in my head until now, so thank YOU. (And you’re right, it’s not so bad.) 🙂
      We haven’t ridden in a long time, so I’m happy we finally made the time to go. The packing can wait. The laundry can wait. The shopping can wait. It’ll all have to wait for more than a week though, but oh well. We had fun!

       
  4. agg79

    August 3, 2014 at 12:41 pm

    We’re not getting any younger and I don’t think anyone ever said “Gee, I’m glad I spent all my weekends doing laundry” when they are retired. Given all of the things you have on your plate right now, I don’t blame you for letting go and just doing it. Hopefully, once the kids are out from under the roof, ya’ll can do it all weekend long (if your are up for it). I imagine that Florida will provide you will a lot more chances to do it more often.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 4, 2014 at 1:57 am

      Oh yeah…. we are definitely looking forward to the time we can do it more often. And Florida will certainly offer more chances. Let’s just hope it continues to thrill us as we get older.

       

Leave a Reply

 
