RSS

Blast from the past

07 Aug

The internet went down this weekend.

Amp sent me a text around midnight Saturday saying something was wrong with it.  I read the text at 4:30 AM Sunday morning, a more decent hour of the day.

Before I left for work, I put the number of our podunk internet company on the counter for him to call.  ‘Cept our podunk internet company is closed on the weekend.  Amp did the only sensible thing and fled to a friend’s house.  Mario, having spent the night before at a friend’s house, caught up on her sleep all day, probably never even realizing it was down.

Because I worked, I didn’t miss it at all.  Until I got home and realized I had no internet for couch time! What else is there to do?  A movie sounded like a good option, but we soon realized we couldn’t stream it without internet….

…so Hubby and I reverted back to the days of old.  We dusted off the Backgammon game and battled it out until bedtime.  I’m proud to say I let him win.  Every game.

It was still fun.  And a nice change of pace.  But, come morning, I, along with everyone else it seemed, called the internet company to report it being down.  After waiting on hold for 20 minutes, a recording came on advising me the issue had been resolved and I should restart the modem and try it again.

It worked!  But I felt gypped out of speaking to a rep.  I wanted to let my disappointment known!  I work the weekends.  Why aren’t they?

My disappointment quickly waned when I received a call later that morning.  It was from the podunks themselves.  “We noticed we missed a call from you earlier and wanted to follow up and make sure your internet’s up and running again.”

Aww!  How sweet!  All is forgiven now.  And I decided to allow them to continue being our internet provider for our final month in this house.

Not that we had much choice.  We either go with them or we go without.  And I’m not sure how many more Backgammon games I’m willing to lose.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on August 7, 2014 in Everyday Living

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “Blast from the past

  1. Abby

    August 7, 2014 at 2:56 pm

    Well… kudos to the podunks! Especially since there’s no competition, although you could always move :). It’s the little things that build loyalty – much like letting the hubby win *

    It’s hard to believe that we grew up in a world with no internet. What DID we do all day?

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 8, 2014 at 3:27 am

      We were one of the last to get internet ’cause I couldn’t see why we needed it. Little did I know that a few years after we signed on, I would NEED it.
      And yeah, great things come in small packages. If they get too big, they’ll be open on weekends, but the service would likely go way down.

       
  2. llcooljoe

    August 8, 2014 at 12:23 am

    My whole family, including me, start to hyperventilate when when we lose the Internet. As bay said what did we do all day before the Internet??

     
  3. llcooljoe

    August 8, 2014 at 12:24 am

    Damn this iPad keyboard that should have been Abby

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 8, 2014 at 3:35 am

      We were totally lost without it! Thank goodness my phone has 3G otherwise we wouldn’t have been able to play Backgammon either. Neither one of us could remember how to set it up so we Googled it.

       
  4. agg79

    August 10, 2014 at 11:20 pm

    Oh my god! No internet?? The horror of it all! How did you ever survive without resorting to cannibalism?

    Funny how we come to rely upon our new little electronic aides. I dimly recall the dark ages when family night meant playing Risk or Clue (or Scrabble for the intellectual few) and preparations for a road trip included enough dimes and quarters to make a call in case you had problems.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 12, 2014 at 2:04 am

      We barely made it through the weekend, but we’re all intact and still talking to each other.
      And, oh yeah! Road trips with lots of coins! And we didn’t have iPhones and Gameboys to keep us busy on a long ride, but we WERE able to spread out in the ‘wayback’ and didn’t have to be stuck in a seatbelt… not that I approve of that of course….

       

Leave a Reply

 
