RSS

Next time

10 Aug

I often make plans for my day off, and they always sound like a good idea.  Until my day off arrives.

This week, one of my off days fell on a Saturday.  For the first time in weeks, my hubby and I would have an entire day together, and we were going to take full advantage of it!

With the closing of the house in sight, September 19th to be exact, we’d planned to finish hauling all of our “to be stored” stuff to our office building uptown.  And we’d planned to clean up a bit for the bank appraiser and the termite inspector.  And we planned to go through some cabinets and closets and purge TONS of stuff.

I started the day with a very foggy 7-mile run and then refueled with my favorite pancakes.  While I cleaned toilets, Hubby brought the “to be stored” boxes up and loaded them into the van. I went with him to haul it all down to the basement of the office.

We spent the next couple of hours going through boxes and cabinets, and by 12 noon, we were done.  Not done, as in we were done with all the closets and boxes.  But done, as in we were done.  Physically done.  Mentally done.

We were lured outside by the cool temperatures, and sat on the deck amidst the scraps of wood that have been piled up for over a week.

Brilliant!  We could start a fire in the pit, and “clean up” the deck!  We grabbed some matches and a glass of wine and spent the next couple of hours monitoring the fire.

That is where Chip found us when he came home for his daily shower.  (Yes, we are STILL his water buffalo.)  He joined us for a picnic of tomato sandwiches before leaving for work.

So maybe we didn’t get done as much as I’d hoped.  But our time on the deck was The. Best.  We talked about our life in this house.  We talked about our immediate future and the future to come after high school.

With as busy as it has been at the hotel, I needed this day.  I feel rested and ready to go back to work.

And my NEXT day off, I will spend the WHOLE day cleaning and packing.

unless I don’t feel like it.
 
9 Comments

Posted by on August 10, 2014 in Everyday Living, Family

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “Next time

  1. agg79

    August 10, 2014 at 11:27 pm

    Wow. I know people who would pay extra for that kind of day. Yea, it might not have been as productive as you had intended it to be, but it sounded like you needed it. Besides, I kinda read it that you are not all that unhappy with the distraction. Don’t worry, there will be plenty of time to panic and worry about the pending move. In the meanwhile, I would enjoy the last few days/weeks in the old hacienda.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 12, 2014 at 2:08 am

      We’re lucky not to have the stress of having to get out of here right away, so we’re able to do a little at a time. Since we had the chance to sit on the deck and burn wood scraps, we took it. Can’t think of any other year when a bonfire would feel good on an August afternoon! And it was a perfect time to reminisce!

       
  2. territerri

    August 12, 2014 at 1:51 am

    I can’t imagine having to move after so many years in the same house. Oh, I know it would be GOOD for us to purge much of the stuff that has accumulated. I just know I’ll never do it unless forced to do so. It’s a lot to tackle. It must have felt good to get through a good chunk of the work AND have time to relax and enjoy some downtime with your hubby and with Chip. Good for you!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 12, 2014 at 2:13 am

      We have SO. MUCH. STUFF. And of course I’m going through it all. And when I get to a box of kids mementos, I have to stop and reminisce, and wonder what the heck happened to my babies! It’s definitely a lot of work, but it’s exciting as well. And yes, to be able to do some work and still have time for play made for a perfect day off!

       
  3. Abby

    August 12, 2014 at 2:13 pm

    Sounds wonderful! Well, the fire on the deck with wine thing. The cleaning the toilets, not so much. Good for you for chopping away at it, but also taking time to relax. Even though it’s just one month! Does your rental have a designated water buffalo for Chip?
    I’ve started to contemplate a move after Meego is finished with high school. That gives me 4 years to offload!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 12, 2014 at 2:30 pm

      You’re thinking of moving? But. But. What if I want to go back to Colorado? What reason would I have? At least you’ve given me the 4 year warning. I better start planning now.
      Our rental has one less “water buffalo” than our house. I’m thinking it’s time for Chip to find a place with running water….

       
      • Abby

        August 12, 2014 at 6:32 pm

        Oh HECK no, you’d have to drag me kicking and screaming from Colorado! I’m just contemplating a different neighborhood, where schools don’t matter!
        And speaking of kicking and screaming, how are the Kinvaras? My current shooz are about pooped out…

         
      • shadowrun300

        August 12, 2014 at 7:18 pm

        Whew! I didn’t think you’d leave Colorado. But yeah, once schools are no longer a part of the picture, living choices become much greater!
        My Kinvaras are sittin’ in the box. I wore them on a few longer runs (a couple of 7s and a 10 mile) and the cushioning in them is not like the Pure Flows. My ankles and feet hurt afterwards, and since I’m looking at a half marathon in September, I put them aside and went back to the store. This time I tried on the Saucony Ride 7s. They seemed more like the Pure Flows, but I find myself having to run heel to toe again. Ugh. I’m honestly thinking of going back to the Pure Flows and going up yet one more size. I guess I can’t say I’m a big fan of the Saucony’s yet, but for the time, I’m stickin’ with the Rides. Does that help? :/

         
      • Abby

        August 13, 2014 at 3:35 am

        Oh, bummer. Sorry you’re having such troubles! First world problems, but still…
        I got new Pure Flows about a month ago, and they’re great, but I like to rotate so I’m not running in the same shoes all the time. Nike has changed the shooz. They’re still comfy, but the pair I have now is down to about nothing after less than 200 miles, so I’m looking for something different. It’s love/hate I tellya!

         

Leave a Reply

 
