RSS

I’ll do anything to get out of cleaning

13 Aug

Remember last week?  I had Saturday off?  And Hubby and I were going to spend the day packing and cleaning?  And we only made it til noon before spending the rest of the day on the deck with some wine and a fire?  And I mentioned next time I would work the WHOLE day?

Well a big truck, a sharp turn, loose rocks and a bicycle ruined that idea.

Hubby and I were all excited about having another day off together.  We had planned to spend it the same way.  Lotsa work followed by an afternoon of play.  I, as usual, wanted to start my day off with some exercise.  Today, seemed a good day for a bike ride.  I bundled up for the unusually chilly morning, and set off to enjoy the sunrise.  It all came to an abrupt end five miles into it.

My upcoming left hand turn was blocked by a truck.  I tried to wave him through, but there he sat.  When I realized I was riding too fast for the sharp turn he was forcing me to make, it was too late.  I hit the only brakes I have, the front ones, and proceeded to skid in the loose rocks.  As I flew to the ground, the handle bar sucker punched me in the gut, and I knew then I was in trouble.

Now, normally when I fall, I get right back up and keep going, waiting until I get home to assess the damages.  But this time, there was no getting up.  I lay on the ground and tried to insist to the big burly guys in the truck that I was okay.

But I wasn’t okay.  They offered to take me home, and I let them convince me. I somehow stumbled into the house, barely upright, and laid myself down on the couch.

Between the pain and the lightheadedness I managed to tell my hubby what happened.  I didn’t know whether I wanted to sit, or lay, or curl up.  My whole right side was killing me.

At one point I was afraid of going into shock.  Even with my heater blowing directly on me I was shivering and shaking, causing me even more pain.  Hubby bundled me with blankets, unsure of what to do.

Soon I settled down and tried to rest.  A few hours later, I wondered if I should try to move my leg to keep my belly and my muscles from stiffening up.  Bad idea.

I asked for a handful of Motrin and rested some more.  As the day progressed, I was able to stand up, take baby steps and even shower.

This evening, my lower belly is still quite swollen, and although I can move a little easier, thoughts of internal damage flutter through my mind.  It’s something I’ll be paying close attention to in the next couple of days.

As I watched Hubby and the kids doing all the work, I thought, I’m finally a Princess!  Anytime someone came close, I barked out an order.  Bring me water.  Make me lunch.  Help me to the bathroom.

But I’d give up all thoughts of being a princess to start this day over again.  I’d head down to the elliptical where I’m less likely to fall off, and we could have enjoyed this day as much as we enjoyed the last one.

Hopefully there’ll be another Next Time.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on August 13, 2014 in Blunders, Family, Health and Fitness

 

Tags: , , ,

16 responses to “I’ll do anything to get out of cleaning

  1. agg79

    August 14, 2014 at 12:58 am

    Ouch. I can just feel your pain. That bike ride reminds me of my run 5+ years ago when I was training for my first half marathon and I tripped and fell and dislocated my shoulder. That was some b@$#%ng pain I still remember none too fondly. I am glad it wasn’t any more serious and you made it home ok and I hope it is only sore muscles you have to deal with for a while. But don’t be a hero – if it doesn’t get better in a day or two, head to the ER or local doc-in- the-box.

    Keep the Motrin close by and don’t let those house servants slack off. Good excuse to let them do the packing and you do the supervising (from the couch).

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 14, 2014 at 1:23 am

      There are some pains you can deal with and some pains that are so excruciating you can’t even put on a strong face for people you barely know. I’m sure a dislocated shoulder counts as excruciating.
      My belly hurt so bad I didn’t even realized I had jammed my thumb and scraped up my knee until a few hours later.
      And I have good servants, if I say so myself. 🙂

       
      • agg79

        August 14, 2014 at 1:33 am

        When I fell, I was more concerned about my iPod Nano on my shoulder than anything else. Didn’t realize I had dislocated my shoulder until I got back to the gym and tried to take my shirt off (no go). I was more embarrassed/pissed about the fall (next to a utility crew) than I was about the damage. And, yes, the dislocated shoulder hurt like a beotch. But I gotta ask, when you fell, did it feel like it was in slow motion?

        Hope that there is no serious damage and you are back out on the street soon.

         
      • shadowrun300

        August 14, 2014 at 1:44 am

        YES! It totally happened in slow motion. Seemed like it took forever before I came to a stop. And I have a feeling it’s going to seem to take forever before I’m back on the streets. Such a bummer!

         
  2. Abby

    August 15, 2014 at 1:20 am

    Omigosh! What the Hell? (That’s capital Hell, not heck!) I’m still trying to picture the scenario, as to where the big truck was, but either way, the result sucks.
    I guess it’s good you didn’t bump your head, but still. A swollen lower belly is nothing to ignore, especially given all of your accompanying symptoms.
    Keep us posted on how you’re doing – what else you got to do?

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 15, 2014 at 2:44 am

      I managed to work today, but spent the first few hours working on paperwork. The next six hours were spent on my feet, and by the end of the day I was hurtin’ pretty bad. And things that weren’t hurting yesterday are showing up today. What the Hell! 🙂
      Still debating whether a doctor visit is in order. But I’ll keep you informed. (And I’m thinking I won’t be running the half come September. Did YOU have something to do with that??)

       
      • Abby

        August 15, 2014 at 3:24 am

        Oh NO! The half. You shoulda never told me!

         
      • shadowrun300

        August 15, 2014 at 3:29 am

        I didn’t know I couldn’t TELL you! I just thought I couldn’t INVITE you. Never again. 😉

         
  3. territerri

    August 16, 2014 at 1:11 pm

    Ok, I’m officially worried for you. Your injuries sound pretty severe, and I know you’re a tough chick, so the fact that they slowed you down for a significant period of time tells me they were BAD. I hope you’ve gone to the doctor. Hope you’re feeling better too.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 17, 2014 at 3:07 am

      I surprised myself by accepting the ride home. But all I wanted to do was lay there on the side of the road, which wasn’t an option either. So yes, it was BAD.
      But I have not gone to the doctor. Every day gets a little better. I’m still not walking normal, but all my “plumbing” works (as my hubby says), so I’m just continuing to watch things. I set a goal of Monday. If the swelling isn’t gone and my walking hasn’t improved, I will go in. But like I said, I’m seeing improvements, so I think I’ll be okay. Thanks for the concern! 🙂

       
  4. shammy

    August 17, 2014 at 1:02 pm

    Hope you’re going to see a doc, this sounds nasty!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 18, 2014 at 1:43 am

      I’ll probably go tomorrow. Shame I can’t see inside myself….

       
  5. llcooljoe

    August 17, 2014 at 10:10 pm

    Ouch! I’m really sorry to hear about your accident. That sounds nasty. You must have been bad if you accepted a lift home from strangers. At least you are being treated like a princess, which you are obviously enjoying, and you got out of packing. 😀

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 18, 2014 at 1:50 am

      They weren’t exactly strangers. We live in a town of 650 people, so I “knew” the guy who brought me home. I was only a few blocks away, so would have walked in any other circumstance, but I could hardly stand let alone lift my leg to walk.
      I joke about wanting to be a princess all the time, but that day, I would have rather been packing. 🙂

       
  6. Rock Chef

    October 14, 2014 at 8:12 am

    Just catching up on this one! Sounds like a very nasty experience! But having said that, cycling fast with only your front brake working is begging for disaster! Hope you feel better soon, but it sounds like you are suffering long term for this one!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 15, 2014 at 4:31 am

      I knew the brakes didn’t work, but I never thought I’d really need them. I often wonder if I’d have fallen either way. Maybe not quite so hard.
      The injury that’s still lingering on is my thumb. I know it’s sounds minor, but it’s my right thumb and I use it for everything! It’s been 8 weeks and I still can’t grip some things. And I get stinging pains in it often. I’m sure I damaged some ligaments in the fall. Probably bent it backwards when I landed on it. But at least it’s not keeping me from running! (But I’m very afraid to get back on my bicycle.)

       

Leave a Reply

 
