RSS

Slow but sure

20 Aug

This time last week I could barely stand up without excruciating pain.  Trying to propel my right leg forward to shuffle to the bathroom was a near impossibility.

But the following day I went to work.  And every day since then I’ve been at work.  Nothing like a week of being on your feet all day to recover from a blow to the belly.

The first two days were torture.  I’d talk with our guests, smiling the whole time, but wishing they would just GO THE FREAK AWAY!  After the second night, I thought an ER trip would be in order, but came home to some Advil and my couch instead.

Each day got a little better.  The swelling slowly going down.  But the bruising.  Yikes.  I rarely bruise on the outside.  Even complained to Abby that I never bruise so my injuries don’t look as bad as they feel.  In fact, I still have no discoloration at the point of impact, but in the areas below my belly *ahem*, I am black and blue all over.  Gravity I suppose.

Because of the bruising, and because I’m still a bit puffy, and because I feel occasional weirdness, I went to the doc on Monday.  I know, right?!  I’m proud of myself too.

She grimaced.  And then pushed and prodded and asked a bunch of questions before sending me away with the advice to take it easy for a little while.  She said I most likely have a hematoma and the blood and fluid are being absorbed back into my system causing the bruising down below.

I left relieved that I wasn’t dying, and went straight to work.  Take it easy?  Ha.

But I haven’t run of course.  In fact, I haven’t done any form of exercise since dooms day.  So it felt good to get on my elliptical today.  I barely did enough to work up a sweat, but just putting on my workout clothes and heading downstairs was enough to lift my spirits.

The half marathon I’d plan to run in a few weeks is out of the question, but at this point, I’ll be happy to run any distance by then.

As for biking…. well I’m a bit afraid to get back up on it.  In fact, this spill has even got us talking about getting rid of the motorcycles.  We’ve talked about it before since our new home doesn’t quite have the space for them.  This just clinched it for us. It’ll be a sad day when I say goodbye to my Shadow, but we’ll use the money to visit my childhood home in Greece.  THAT, I’m excited about!  Flying is so much safer.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on August 20, 2014 in Blunders, My Shadow, Running

 

Tags: , ,

9 responses to “Slow but sure

  1. agg79

    August 21, 2014 at 9:53 am

    I’m glad to hear you are on the mend. I was worried about that blow to the gut having more serious consequences. Smart move to go to the doc just to make sure there – even if their advice is what you are already doing. It will take a while to recover but take it easy (if you can). Have your staff take care of the heavy lifting on packing up the house.

    Sorry to hear that you won’t make the 1/2. I know you really wanted to make that run and it is dishearting to be that close only to have to bow out. Maybe next year. And I am really surprised to hear you will be getting rid of your Shadow. I always envied those toys you had – a great way to let off some steam after a long week of whiny customers and problematic appliances. But, then again, a chance to go back and visit the old home is something to look forward to. .

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 22, 2014 at 1:18 am

      Every day gets a little better. But still don’t think I’ll be running for a little while yet. I’m just glad to be okay.
      As for the motorcycles, they have indeed provided great fun and a much needed break from whiny customers and broken appliances. And I have LOVED my Shadow, so it’s been a tough decision. This isn’t the first we’ve talked about getting rid of them. But I’m ready to count my blessings that we’ve been able to enjoy them with no incidents, and move on to something else that’s just as exciting! So we have two bikes for sale… one for you and one for Mrs. Agg?

       
  2. llcooljoe

    August 21, 2014 at 10:44 am

    Well I’m really glad you aren’t dying, that’s good. And well done for going to the doctor’s. I hope you continue to heal.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 22, 2014 at 1:20 am

      Thanks Joey! I rarely go to the doc for ANYthing, but thought this deserves to be checked out, albeit a week later. I get a little better each day!

       
      • llcooljoe

        August 30, 2014 at 10:30 pm

        I have a doctor phobia, so you are much braver than me!

         
  3. Abby

    August 21, 2014 at 2:00 pm

    I’m glad you decided to have the doctor give you the once over – and confirm that you’re not dying! And sorry about having to miss the half. Why has that theme been following me around?! Geez! I hope there is one down the road you can do, but I’m wondering. Is your hubby secretly happy you’re not doing it? Despite the circumstances?
    And I understand your reluctance to get back up on the bike. As for motorcycles, I’ve never heard of a “mild motorcycle crash”, so I can’t say I’m all that disappointed to see the Shadow go, especially for what you’ll do with the proceeds. Rest up for Greece!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 22, 2014 at 1:30 am

      Now I know why you decide to run a half at the spur of the moment. If you gave yourself notice, something may happen to keep you from running. 🙂
      I think I’ve been able to convince my hubby that my first half sickness was due to stranger danger, as you said. Running the 10 mile race a while back helped to prove my theory. So I don’t think he’s worried. But maybe?
      It seems lately we’ve known more and more people involved in a motorcycle wreck. We’ve always been aware of the danger. We drive defensively and avoid situations that increase the chance of a wreck, but accidents happen. And like I told Agg, I think it’s best we bow out while we’re ahead. It was great fun, but on to new and better things!

       
  4. territerri

    August 29, 2014 at 1:10 am

    I’m glad you went to the doctor. Things sounded really bad and seriously, I was concerned that you were just trying to “walk it off.” At least now you have professional confirmation that you’re okay.

    Wow… tough call having to give up the motorcycles, though. I’m sorry.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 29, 2014 at 1:20 am

      I can walk a lot of things off. This hurt. And when it’s internal, and I can’t really see what’s happening, it’s scary. And I kept hearing you in the back of my mind, so I went. 🙂
      There’s been talk of giving up the motorcycles for a little while now. I LOVE riding, but we don’t get to go out as often as we’d like. I suppose we’re ready to move on to the next thing now. We’ll probably go out one more time and then say goodbye. 😦

       

Leave a Reply

 
