RSS

Late Night Shower

26 Aug

“Will you be watching the Perseids meteor shower tonight?” I texted Amp from my bed.

“That’s the plan…” he responded.

“Well don’t count on me tonight. Although I still think back to the night we watched together.  It was fun!” I sent back.

I laid awake for a while thinking back to when he was 7 or 8.  He’d heard about the Perseid’s meteor shower in school and couldn’t wait to watch for them.  I wasn’t about to disappoint him, so at 3 AM we grabbed some blankets and headed out to lay beneath the stars.

I don’t remember how long we were out there, but I DO remember that he taught me more about those showers than I’ll ever need to know. And as we watched the meteors soar across the sky, I prayed I’d never forget.

Tears began flowing as I thought back to that innocent time.  A time before the stress of school and life and responsibilities turned him from a carefree, curious, eager-to-learn little boy into an uncertain, self-deprecating, yet amazingly intelligent young man.

I texted him back.  “Actually what time do you think you’ll be heading out?  Maybe I will go.”

So once again at 3 AM, I grabbed some blankets, he the flashlight, and out to the yard we traipsed.

It was surprisingly cool outside, and the grass was wet with dew.  I wrapped myself up for warmth as we settled onto our backs.

Amp had noticed the moon immediately.  Not something I would have paid attention too.  “It’ll probably be too bright to see any,” he explained.  “I was hoping it would be lower by this time.”

And he was right.  It was too bright.  We gazed into the sky for a half hour or so making small talk as we watched for streaks of light.  I let him make the decision of when to head in.  No way was I going to cut it short.

As we headed back to our perspective bedrooms, he thanked me for going out with him. ME.  I felt like I’D been given the treat.

Not sure when the Perseid’s meteor showers will return.  I’m betting HE knows.  And I hope he’ll allow me to share in the experience once again.  Whether he’s 8 or 18, I love laying out on the grass with my little boy.  And with any luck, next time it’ll be dark enough to see a meteor or two.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on August 26, 2014 in Family, Parenting

 

Tags: ,

10 responses to “Late Night Shower

  1. Rock Chef

    August 26, 2014 at 12:09 pm

    TImes like that are not forgotten – shame the moon was too bright, though.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 27, 2014 at 1:04 am

      I was disappointed, for him mostly. But he seemed to accept it just fine. I was happy we gave it the effort. And there’s always next time!

       
  2. Abby

    August 26, 2014 at 2:31 pm

    Aw, perfect. Those are moments that will definitely stay with him.
    This last visit to the sand dunes, we all laid on our backs and watched the shower. It was nice and took me back to when my dad drove us out to the boonies when we were kids. Keep the shower tradition alive!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 27, 2014 at 1:06 am

      I hope they stay with him. They’ll certainly stay with me.
      I bet the dunes were a fantastic place to watch the meteor showers! So jealous! We’ll be in our new home next year and will likely have to drive to the boonies to see them. Which of course I’ll be happy to do. 🙂

       
  3. agg79

    August 27, 2014 at 9:41 am

    The best kinds of memories often come without a pricetag. I remember once hanging out late (or was it early?) with my son on a campout watching the meteor show. That’s one experience you cannot DVR.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 29, 2014 at 12:56 am

      You’re absolutely right. The best memories come without a price tag. I mostly wanted him to know that I support his interests, and that I would do anything for him. Including waking at 3 AM to go out in the cold in my pajamas. And I’ll do it again next year too.

       
  4. territerri

    August 29, 2014 at 1:13 am

    It’s so bittersweet watching them grow up, isn’t it? Of course we want that for them. We just want them to breeze through it easily. Unfortunately, life doesn’t work that way. Glad you changed your mind and grabbed on to some special time with your kiddo!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 29, 2014 at 1:26 am

      At first I didn’t think he’d want me to, but he jumped on it when I said I’d go. Next year, we’ll have to drive somewhere since we’ll be living closer to town. He probably wouldn’t go on his own, so I’m already planning to take him to the boonies. As long as there’s not another girl he wants to go with…

       
  5. llcooljoe

    August 30, 2014 at 10:29 pm

    It’s times like this that your kids remember, well, and us adults too. It’s called pearl fishing. Those little magical moments that stay with us. Shame it was too bright though!

     

Leave a Reply

 
