RSS

Laboring Labor Day

02 Sep

Ahhh…  Labor Day…..

A day to relax and celebrate the efforts of our work.

I chose to celebrate by working my tail off to ensure everyone else could relax and celebrate the efforts of their work.

So there I was,  all cheerful and helpful, providing great service to one and all.  A few guests even stopped by to tell me how wonderful I am.

(seriously.  they did.  I’m a bit embarrassed.)

I was feeling pretty good with the way things were going.   Three days of as many guests checking out as coming in can spell a recipe for disaster.  Especially with the checker-inners wanting to come in before the checker-outers were gone.

But our team worked well together and most of our 800 guests went away happy.

I, however, went away with a little sadness each day.  My micro-managing GM got a few jabs in that shouldn’t have hurt my feelings, but did.  I know what she can be like, and most times I stand my ground and fight back when necessary, and let her words roll off my back.  But when she mouthed to me “Get off the phone”, as if I was just chattin’ away with a friend, I got a little bothered.  Our phone guests deserve time too, and yes, I should ask to call back guests that are going to need some time, but if I can finish within a minute or two, and I don’t have someone at the desk staring me down, then I’m going to take care of the issue.

Even though I KNOW I shouldn’t let it bother me, it did.  Why does she have to tell ME how to provide good customer service?  If you ask me, I could teach her a lesson or two.  All the way home I fumed over those four little words.

Couch time was looking even more appealing, if that’s possible.  I grabbed some ice cream and my computer and began my usual website romping.

Trip Advisor is always one of my stops.  Gotta see what people are saying about our hotel.

This was our latest review:

Our visit started off with the GPS having us make turns we couldn’t due to construction. We ended up in Illinois. Frustrated, as we wanted to take an afternoon tour of Busch Stadium, I called the hotel. On the line was ShadowRun who ultimately talked us all the way in to the hotel!! SO helpful!! In building parking – terrific! The breakfast was great as well as the “kick back” 5:30 – 7:30. Location is fantastic for the Gateway Arch as well as Busch Stadium.
We tried to make arrangements to stay there on our return trip, but they were full (imagine that!). But we were so impressed with everything the hotel had to offer and all the VERY NICE employees that we arranged to stay at 4 <of their> Hotels on our return trip.
If you get the chance – STAY HERE – and tell ShadowRun she’s awesome!!

Uh huh.  Yep.  That’s me.  Sometimes phone calls are just as important as the guests in the hotel.  This guest is staying at our hotels all the way home, and it’s because I didn’t “get off the phone”. 

My GM will never make the connection.  But I wanted somebody to know. 

So thanks for listening.

And Happy Labor Day to you all!  Here’s hoping you didn’t have to labor…

 

 
11 Comments

Posted by on September 2, 2014 in Blunders, Holidays, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , ,

11 responses to “Laboring Labor Day

  1. agg79

    September 2, 2014 at 11:08 am

    That’s a real spiritual boost to get that kind of unsolicited accolade/write up. It is nice to have your efforts noticed, even if it wasn’t appreciated or even understood by your GM. I am a regular TA contributor and that is a pretty good rating/review. Hopefully, somebody up the chain reads those reviews and recognizes your efforts.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 3, 2014 at 1:44 am

      This lady stayed probably 3-4 weeks ago, but just wrote the review the other day. After that long, she still felt like I/we had done a fantastic job.
      And today, I received a forwarded email from the corporate office written by one of the guests who told me I was wonderful this weekend.
      These accolades couldn’t have come at a better time. 🙂

       
  2. territerri

    September 3, 2014 at 1:41 am

    I want to kick your GM in the pants. She reminds me SO much of a particular coworker of mine. That awesome review was your big, shiny reward for doing what you knew was right. Keep doing what you do. And do what I do… flash a little middle finger when you know she can’t see you doing it! I promise you’ll feel better! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 3, 2014 at 1:48 am

      I thought my hubby WAS going to kick her in the pants! She’s not always like that, thankfully, but when she is, it’s mean. She once gave me the “wrap it up” sign when I was helping one of our guests plan her day. And there was nobody else in the lobby!
      Lovin’ the middle finger idea….

       
  3. Abby

    September 3, 2014 at 3:13 am

    Show your micromanaging GM and ask for a raise :D. Get off the phone?? Seriously!?
    I once had a front office manager who liked to micromanage, but then she started having an affair with one of our long-term guests and mellowed. Maybe your GM just needs… nevermind.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 5, 2014 at 1:34 am

      Seriously! And I’m bettin’ that is JUST what my GM needs….

       
  4. llcooljoe

    September 4, 2014 at 6:23 am

    Of course you are awesome! We all know that, and that review proves you did the right thing, so sod your GM. 😀

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 5, 2014 at 1:40 am

      If sod means what I think it means, then I totally agree! And I shouldn’t let it continue to bother me. I’m moving on now….. (but I must say I’m a bit apprehensive about picking up a phone when she’s around.)

       
    • llcooljoe

      September 11, 2014 at 8:17 am

      Rock Chef’s comment made me laugh. Sorry here in the UK the expression “Sod off” is pretty common, it’s not really seen as swearing, but it’s not a compliment either. 😀

       
  5. Rock Chef

    September 9, 2014 at 1:27 pm

    Yep, that is awesome – Maybe you should have that review printed up and posted in strategic places, such as up someone’s up-tight ass?

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 10, 2014 at 1:09 am

      Ha! It’d be a tough fit! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
