RSS

Sweet and Sour

16 Sep

Wow.  Time sure flies when you’re

  • moving 16 years of junk out of a big spacious home into a place half the size
  • fighting to keep the new owners out of our house until closing.  (we lost)
  • struggling to clean the old house while the new owners are painting the walls. (WTH!)
  • struggling to understand how they can start painting walls before we’ve even closed on the house.
  • wondering why, if they were so anxious, they wouldn’t let us close on Sept. 1 like we wanted them too.

And it flies when you’re

  • working 8 consecutive days in order to get a few days off to use for non-stop packing and hauling of stuff.
  • flying to Las Vegas to spend some quality time with my daughter, mother and grandmother.
  • Touring nonstop while there, making sure to squeeze in a week’s worth of fun into two days…. ’cause that’s all I had before I had to get back to work.
  • stopping off on our way home from the airport so Mario could participate in the band competition being held on my old high school stomping grounds.
  • watching them take 1st place in their division before high-tailing it home to my hubby who I hadn’t seen in days.
  • waking up to another funfilled day of work.

And somewhere in the midst of all this chaos,  my baby girl turned 16.

Although I’ve been crazy busy, I’m so glad I helped her celebrate in a big way!  She spent her day riding the Big Shot and Insanity rides atop the Stratosphere in Las Vegas.

IMG_1318

IMG_1329

 

IMG_1312

Eating lunch at Guy Fieri’s restaurant in The Quad.

 

IMG_1338

Mario's Ceaser Salad nestled in a HUGE crouton

Mario’s Caeser Salad nestled in a HUGE crouton

Fish Tacos with The. Best. Fries. Ever.

Fish Tacos with The. Best. Fries. Ever.

 

Taking a 30 minute ride on The High Roller.

IMG_1368

IMG_1371

IMG_1378

Definitely a sweet way to celebrate her 16th.

Now we’re back to our daily grind, but come Thursday…. come Thursday, I will have my first day off in the new house.  .After more than two weeks, I hope to finally unpack and make the house our home.

Or I may just sleep.  We’ll have to see.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on September 16, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “Sweet and Sour

  1. Rock Chef

    September 16, 2014 at 10:13 am

    Happy 16th to your beautiful Mario! Those rides look horrible, sorry I just can’t handle stuff like that.

    Love the thought of the new people barging in and starting to paint around you – sounds like something from a sitcom!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 17, 2014 at 2:05 am

      Yeah… not how I would have wanted to celebrate. Which is why I was the photographer. But SHE loved it!
      And these last two weeks have definitely been sitcom-ish. Honestly! When my hubby told me they were painting, I about flipped! We didn’t even have all our stuff out of the house yet, because it was STILL OURS! We finally just gave in and let them have it. Hopefully we’ll get the check on Friday and be able to put all this behind us.

       
  2. Abby

    September 16, 2014 at 3:58 pm

    Happy Sweet Sixteen to your “baby”! Memorable for sure, but I’m with Rock Chef, I don’t find amusement rides very amusing! But hey, want some salad with that crouton?
    I’ve got a (relatively) busy day ahead of me, but after reading this, it doesn’t seem so busy – so, thanks!
    And what’s with those new homeowners? Annoying much?

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 17, 2014 at 2:12 am

      Notice I was just the photographer….
      Nothing was average size in that restaurant. You shoulda seen some of those burgers. And the cheesecake dessert! Yowza! The salad was tame in comparison. (Mario’s all about the croutons though. So it fit.)
      And yeah, I used to think I knew busy. Not so much.

       
  3. territerri

    September 17, 2014 at 12:25 am

    Happy 16th Birthday to your sweet girl! What a great celebration you gave her. I can tell she loved it. Everyone looks so happy in the pictures!

    Your life has been pure chaos lately. Hopefully the next couple of months will give you the chance to slow down and settle in.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 17, 2014 at 2:16 am

      We had a great celebration! I wouldn’t have changed a thing. But even she is paying for it now. Tons of homework to catch up on, along with her regular busy schedule of band and scholar bowl and current homework. I told Hubby today, “We all just need a minute…” A minute to breathe and catch up. Hopefully soon!

       
  4. agg79

    September 17, 2014 at 10:04 am

    Happy Birthday Mario! Spending a few days in Vegas sounds like a great way to enjoy her 16th Birthday. Nothing like strapping yourself into a chair and getting hoisted out over the side of a building or launched skyward to really get the blood flowing. I’m an old roller coaster enthusiast (nut) and I’d love to take a crack at some of those rides if I ever get out that way. Your mini vacation sounds like one of my road trips – trying to cram 5 days of sights and sounds into 2. Hopefully you were able to catch up on your rest on the plane ride home.

    Your house saga is turning into a regular soap opera, sans the music and overacting. I figured that the last few weeks/days would be a whirlwind sprint to the finish but your move has more twists and turns than a Tarantino movie. Hopefully, now that you are into the new house, things will slow/calm down a bit so that you can catch your breath.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 18, 2014 at 2:41 am

      I have yet to catch up on my rest, but it’s finally “Friday” for me. I have a lot to squeeze in these next few days, but I plan to get plenty of down time too.
      And I could definitely write an episode for day time TV or a night time comedy. Some of the antics these guys are pulling are so crazy we have to laugh. We honestly just gave in and let them have it. I’m sure they’re good for it…..

       
  5. llcooljoe

    September 21, 2014 at 7:03 am

    Hey my younger daughter is 16 in a few weeks too. She’s having a meal out in an Italian restaurant with a bunch of her friends. A lot safer and cheaper than a trip to Vegas! Those rides aren’t for me either, but I’d love the sunshine, booze and food! 😀 Happy Birthday to Mario!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 21, 2014 at 11:32 am

      Happy Birthday to your “little” girl as well! We chose Vegas only because my grandma lives there. She’ll be 90 this month, so we used their birthdays as an excuse to splurge. Mario loved the idea of turning 16 in Vegas,
      There was plenty of sunshine and food, but being in the company of a 16 and 90 year old kept the booze at bay. Which is a good thing. Mario kept joking, “Don’t let me get married!” 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
