RSS

Settled

21 Sep

It’s been a long and arduous couple of weeks, but we have finally, FINALLY, turned the corner.  At 10:45 this morning we signed our house over to the overly excited buyers.  They’ve been living in it for a week now, have painted all the walls, unpacked most of their stuff, and put a huge gouge in the bedroom hardwood floor.  If we hadn’t gotten the check today, why we would have….

Well, luckily they didn’t have to find out what we would have done… (heck, WE didn’t even know what we would have done.)  We’re just extremely relieved to have that chapter of our lives behind us.  And seeing how happy they are with their new home makes the crazy antics of this past two weeks well worth it.

Today also marked the first day I have been able to spend in OUR new home since we moved in almost two weeks ago.  I picked an absolutely beautiful day, I might add.  I opened up the windows, cranked my iPod, and had a blast unpacking, cleaning and organizing.  And now, as I sit on my couch, I look around at our much smaller abode, and I feel at home.

IMG_1426

View from my corner of the couch. Not quite as great as our old great room. But so much comfier.

 

 
13 Comments

Posted by on September 21, 2014 in Everyday Living

 

Tags: , ,

13 responses to “Settled

  1. llcooljoe

    September 21, 2014 at 6:58 am

    Well as they say, size isn’t everything! Welcome to your new home I hope you will be very happy there!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 23, 2014 at 1:36 am

      Good things DO come in small packages here. It’s taken some getting used to, but we love it.

       
  2. Abby

    September 21, 2014 at 6:57 pm

    Joey’s got a point!
    Ahh, it must feel good to have all of that behind you. Enjoy setting up the new place!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 23, 2014 at 1:37 am

      It’s definitely a relief to have all that behind us. And it’s been fun getting settled in. We like our new place.

       
  3. Rock Chef

    September 22, 2014 at 12:42 pm

    Looks like home to me – especially with the guitar! I hope you have many happy years there!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 23, 2014 at 1:40 am

      The guitar looks good in our new home. Sounds good too. We hope to have only three happy years here before heading to warmer weather. But you never know….

       
  4. territerri

    September 23, 2014 at 11:11 pm

    Yay! You’re finally settled in! What a relief. Now you can relax a little… Wait, what am I saying? I’m not sure you know HOW to relax! 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 24, 2014 at 1:12 am

      I’m relaxed mentally. Does that count?

       
      • territerri

        September 24, 2014 at 1:15 am

        I think that counts in a big way! 🙂

         
  5. lottajoy

    September 25, 2014 at 5:40 pm

    My guitar used to sit out just like that. It looks homey. But, like you, I find it hard to understand “new, not quite owners yet” painting what is still YOUR house. Did you like the new color?

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 26, 2014 at 1:33 am

      I never saw the colors. My husband warned them I may be calling. We thought they were just getting a bid. They were surprised we were upset! WTH! Anyway, it’s theirs now. Gouges and all.
      Did your guitar make the move to Florida?

       
  6. agg79

    September 29, 2014 at 2:27 am

    It is exciting and bittersweet to move into a new home. Smaller, yes. Different, certainly. Exciting, I would imagine. It is hard to let the old place go but I love how you have made the new place home, even with the guitar prominently displayed.

    I would imagine it was hard letting the old homestead go.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 30, 2014 at 2:27 am

      It really has been exciting. The kids love being closer to their friends and school. They can sleep in a 1/2 hour longer now.
      It was hard to let our old place go. It was OURS. We dreamed it and built it and raised our family in it. But we were ready to leave that town. And with excited buyers, it was much easier than expected to hand over the keys.

       

Leave a Reply

 
