RSS

Free to a good home (or any home, really)

25 Sep

There are definitely some benefits to living in a home half the size of the one we just sold.  Just today, I cleaned my entire house!  In one day!  And I still had time to get my thumb x-rayed, and take a long walk with my hubby, and wash my car, and bring Amp to get a new desk.

I love that I can plug the vacuum in ONE plug and it’ll reach all the rooms!  Before, I had to use three different plugs to get the entire house.  And I love that I have one less bathroom, which means one less toilet and one less shower.  Not to mention, the bathrooms are half the size. It’s heavenly, I’m telling you.

Except that the bathrooms are half the size.  THAT is taking some gettin’ used to.  Especially for poor Amp who now has to share a bathroom with a 16 year old girl and all her stuff.  He gets one drawer.  And he’s grateful.

We used to have a huge laundry room which doubled as a walk-in closet for the kids and a bathroom for the cat.  Now, our washer and dryer are tucked in a closet with little room for anything else.  And the cat has to traipse downstairs to do his thing.  (Luckily he does.)

We wouldn’t change a thing though.  Instead, we’re continuing to downsize and rid ourselves of the extras.  It’s liberating in a sense.  But boy do we have a long way to go.

Anybody need a box full of cake pans? A smoker? How about a 2 foot oriental doll in a glass case?  Free shipping!

No?

How about a pirate ship kite?  A plastic tree? Anything?

Alright.  Off to the church sale it goes.  But let me know if you change your mind.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on September 25, 2014 in Everyday Living

 

Tags: ,

14 responses to “Free to a good home (or any home, really)

  1. Rock Chef

    September 25, 2014 at 8:27 am

    An old blog friend of mine had a table full of junk that she could not get rid of, so she sent it out to her readers! She even sent some to me, all the way from Canada to England! It was hilarious!

    Not suggesting that you repeat her madness, of course!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 26, 2014 at 1:34 am

      But you would LOVE this stuff. I’m sure of it!

       
  2. Abby

    September 25, 2014 at 2:22 pm

    I like Rock Chef’s idea – just don’t send anything my way! I’m all about the downsize. One plug to vacuum the whole house? Oooh. I. Want. That.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 26, 2014 at 1:40 am

      You know the old saying… “if you want to feel skinnier, fatten up your friends”. Compared to you, I feel “fat”. If I just give you a few things, I’d feel so much better. C’mon. Whatdaya say? Your kids are gone. I know you have room….
      And the one plug vacuuming? AWESOME.

       
  3. lottajoy

    September 25, 2014 at 5:36 pm

    I am living the opposite dream. For 60 years I vacuumed the entire house from one electrical receptical, and I still have the bruised shins to prove it. When I wasn’t bumping into furniture I was bumping into doorknobs.

    When we moved, Joe still managed to haul three truck fulls of accumulated crap of my long deceased mom, dad, and two marriages! Now? I revel in open floors and not bumping into anything. I just finished super steam cleaning three rooms of hardwood floors using three plugs, but NO shin bruises. I also have to remind myself now that (at my age) there’s room for a wheelchair or walker. YOU don’t have THAT problem. Congratulations!! Change IS good.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 26, 2014 at 1:43 am

      We don’t have that problem YET. But you definitely make a good point. We’ll keep that in mind when we do our Florida home shopping.
      For now, I love using one plug. Even if I’m watching out for door knobs and table corners.

       
  4. territerri

    September 26, 2014 at 1:18 am

    I’m a little jealous of your downsizing activities. I really need to do the same. I just don’t have the motivation. I think I would need to move to get motivated. I mentioned to Mark recently that we should start looking for the home we’ll retire in. You know… single level, maybe a townhome, someplace where we can spend the next few years making feel like home so when we’re older, we’re already in a good place for old people to live. You know what he said to me two days ago? “I asked Mike to draw up some blueprints for an addition off the back of the house.”

    We are so totally not on the same page!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 26, 2014 at 1:46 am

      It definitely took the move to motivate us to downsize. Even still, we’re storing SO MUCH stuff in the basement of my hubby’s old office. Eventually it all has to go.
      Perhaps we can ship it to you? To fill up your new addition? (I’m still chuckling over his comment.) 🙂

       
  5. Practical Parsimony

    September 28, 2014 at 7:40 am

    I really want those cake pans, but I will not give you my address because you might send them to me. aaack

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 29, 2014 at 1:23 am

      If you gave me your address, I would send you EVERYTHING. 😉

       
  6. llcooljoe

    September 28, 2014 at 10:16 pm

    I have to use 2 different plugs in each room here. I’d gladly downsize.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 29, 2014 at 1:24 am

      The great room in my old house needed 2 different plugs to finish, and every room thereafter needed it’s own plug. Downsizing is a good thing!

       
  7. agg79

    September 29, 2014 at 2:15 am

    I want the Pirate Ship kite. Name your price. I bought a Space Shuttle kite for our beach holiday back in March and it was the hit of the week. We can talk about the smoker. It is certainly different moving to a new abode and having to adjust to same old routines. To vacuum our casa with two hairy dogs, it takes 5 plugs and three (or four) dumps of the canister. I would kill for a single plug/dump. How is Chancie taking to the new digs?

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 30, 2014 at 2:24 am

      The price of the kite has risen dramatically now that the demand is rising. 🙂
      And while I may use a single plug, I still have to dump halfway through. She doesn’t shed any less even though we’re in a smaller house.
      Chancie is okay with the new digs. She likes that it’s carpeted. The cat took a while to get used to the new place. He still is skittish sometimes.

       

Leave a Reply

 
