RSS

Still hanging on

30 Sep

With as busy as I have been, I’m so thankful the summer temperatures have hung around into the first days of fall.  My last “weekend” was absolutely beautiful.  Perfect for a convertible ride up the river road and lunch on the winery deck overlooking the river.

And because I had some overtime this week, they MADE me leave work at 1:45 today.  I raced home, jumped into my jeans and onto my Shadow.  Since we’ve made the decision to sell the bikes, I have let my registration expire.  But I have 2 more days of being legal, and I wanted one last ride.  We headed up to a nearby lake and sipped on sodas while gazing at the beautiful water.  All the way home, I doubted our decision to sell them.  Maybe I should extend my sticker one more year?  Do they really take up THAT much space in the garage?  But then I think about Greece, and how I really wanna go back, and…  *sigh*…. Can’t I just do both?  I suppose I’ll let fate decide for me.  I mean if NOBODY buys them, then I’ll HAVE to keep riding.  For the sake of the bike, of course.

With the onset of fall, the hotel has slowed down a tiny bit.  All the families are settled back into their school routines, but the conventions have taken their place.  Just recently Joyce was in town, bringing thousands of ladies with her.  They were a good group, and fun to host, but there sure were a LOT of them.  And in the next couple of months, there will be 2-3 more religious conventions in the downtown area.  Not all are as nice.  Perhaps you remember?

As well, the Cardinals have won their division once again and are heading to the post season!  The more they win, the better business is, so unless you’re a die hard something else fan, then put on your red and cheer us on!

‘cuz no matter how much I complain about how busy our hotel is, it’s better than playing host to the crickets.

cricket

 
15 Comments

Posted by on September 30, 2014 in Everyday Living, motorcycle, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , , ,

15 responses to “Still hanging on

  1. Rock Chef

    September 30, 2014 at 3:45 pm

    Hm, bikes or Greece – yep, let The Fates decide!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 1, 2014 at 2:52 am

      We probably wouldn’t get to Greece for a few years… maybe we should wait? Then again, winter’s coming and there’s no room in the garage for Hubby’s vehicle, so we should probably sell them. But MY car fits, and that’s all that REALLY counts….
      *sigh* I’ll just let The Fates decide.

       
  2. Abby

    September 30, 2014 at 11:27 pm

    I like your attitude. The universe will decide how much longer you and the shadow are together. You can just enjoy the present!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 1, 2014 at 2:57 am

      Yes. I have too many decisions to make and too many responsibilities. The universe can take on this decision. It worked for the house!

       
  3. Ms. CrankyPants

    October 1, 2014 at 1:26 pm

    The last time I rode a bike, I sloooooowly inched across a tiny bridge and somehow got freaked out by the narrowness and managed to fall off. The bike, not the bridge. It was embarrassing. So I’d choose Greece!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 2, 2014 at 1:10 pm

      You have a point. I recently took a pretty bad spill on my bicycle. If that happens on a motorcycle…. *shiver* One more check on the pro side for Greece. 🙂

       
  4. territerri

    October 1, 2014 at 10:51 pm

    You deserve some great weather on your days off. I’m glad you got a chance to go for a ride on your Shadow. And yes, if it doesn’t sell, you’re obligated to keep riding! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 2, 2014 at 1:12 pm

      The weather has been phenomenal. Is it really October?
      It is about to end though. So if by spring of next year we have no buyers, then I have my answer. We’ll keep ’em for one more year. 🙂

       
  5. llcooljoe

    October 2, 2014 at 5:50 am

    Oh what a horrible choice, but somehow I’d keep the bike. Not that I’m a bike rider but I can see how much joy it brings to you.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 2, 2014 at 1:16 pm

      The good news is, we won’t be heading to Greece for another few years… which means we don’t really have to sell them right now. BUT, my hubby cannot fit his vehicle in the garage unless we get rid of SOMEthing. Perhaps if we have great success at our garage sale this weekend, we won’t have to decide!

       
  6. lottajoy

    October 4, 2014 at 3:37 am

    I never knew bikes had to be registered? You mean the kind you pedal, and not motorcycles? sheesh. I’m sorry about that lil’ piece of government, counting non-polluting transportation as needing tags.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 5, 2014 at 1:27 am

      In this case, the “bikes” ARE our motorcycles. And those we have to register. But I wouldn’t be surprised if our “lil’ piece of government” starts requiring tags for the pedal kind. I’ll be able to add another check in the pro column of moving to Florida when that happens.

       
  7. agg79

    October 5, 2014 at 1:53 pm

    Bikes of Greece. What a conundrum. I would hold on to them for one more year. Now that you have a smaller abode and less kids under foot, perhaps there will be additional opportunities for more river rides. Greece is still a few years away and the bikes are something you can enjoy now. I’d hold off on that decision (but I do find it hard to let things go). I do find it a wee bit amusing that hubby’s Fit won’t fit in the garage.

    Good luck with church lady. Hopefully she will have gained some compassion and humility from the teachings of the Lord…. Nah. I doubt it.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 6, 2014 at 2:03 am

      Since they’re more likely to sell during the spring, we are holding off at least until then. (Unless someone offers us a deal we can’t pass up.)
      Hubby now drives his dad’s minivan. We bought it from the “estate” after they passed away. And THAT will not fit in the garage. The Fit sadly never made it home from the wreckers after the, um, wreck. It was a tough little guy, but met up with a bigger and badder pickup truck. A sad day in the shadowrun family.
      Our next group of church ladies arrive in November. I’ll need a lot of prayers…..

       
      • agg79

        October 6, 2014 at 9:47 am

        Oooh. Sorry I forgot about the Fit’s run in the pickup.
        Good luck with the church ladies. I’ll light a candle for you.

         

Leave a Reply

 
