RSS

For sale

05 Oct

One man’s junk is another man’s treasure.  Oh please let it be true!

We spent all day Thursday pricing and organizing our stuff for the city wide garage sale we swore we’d never had.  As we were going through our boxes I couldn’t help but wonder why I kept half the stuff I did.  Do I really need my Bride and Groom wine glasses to remember I got married?  And is anyone else going to want them?  (God, I hope so…)

And the mismatched silver ware?  The old, heavy snack plates?  Albums of Boston and Kenny Rogers and Hall & Oates? Marbles?  Legos? Not to mention all the knick knacks.  Surely somebody will treasure them.

Thinking people would be coming by about 8 AM on Friday morning, Hubby put out the signs at 7. By the time he got back, they were knocking at the door! I, having just gotten out of the shower, manned the garage while he finished setting things up.  Within minutes we had sold a good portion of our junk.  These people are serious!

In fact, we sold so much today, I don’t think we’ll open tomorrow.  What’s left isn’t really worth people’s time.  Some lucky thrift store will be the benefactor, and we’re thrilled to have a bit less to pack up the next time we move.  Was it worth it?  Yes.  Will we do it again? Ummm… no.  Oh who am I kidding.  Probably so, but not any time soon.

In other news, with the turning of the calendar to October, we had a turn in weather.  It’s suddenly freezing cold with blustery winds and gray skies.  We went from 85 to 55 in one day.  I’M NOT READY!

And to add to the torture, my oldest son, Link, turned 22 on the first.  I’M NOT READY!  How is it possible that the sweet little boy who used to hang on to my leg with one hand and his “duckie” in the other, is now a young man, totally independent, and big enough for ME to hang on to HIS leg.  Maybe tough for me to accept, but I couldn’t be prouder of him.

And now I’m off to drown my sorrows celebrate with candy corn and peanuts.  ‘cuz October isn’t just about Link.  I get to turn a whole year older too!

birthday month

 

 

 
14 Comments

Posted by on October 5, 2014 in Everyday Living, Family

 

Tags: , ,

14 responses to “For sale

  1. Practical Parsimony

    October 5, 2014 at 6:26 am

    I love the feeling of seeing things move on when I have a garage sale.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 6, 2014 at 2:19 am

      I missed most of it since I was working, but my hubby really enjoyed it. He thought it was fun talking with all the people and seeing what people liked and what they didn’t. We were surprised quite a few times, when stuff was bought that we thought would never sell. It was a good feeling to know others are getting a better use out of our stuff.

       
  2. agg79

    October 5, 2014 at 2:06 pm

    I can spend an hour talking about garage sales. We have had more than a few and I have drawn the line with the last one. Too much time doing prep work, marking items for sale, agonizing over getting rid of those “special” wine glasses, shirts, chairs. People show up an hour or two before kickoff, pick through your junk, try to haggle over prices, and try to buy things that are not on the menu (No – the Mustang is NOT for sale). We’ve even had two ladies (think church lady) try to bargain us down on trivial items (geeze lady, it’s only 50 cents). I love how people pull up in VERY expensive rides and then try to nickle and dime you on everything. We found that, unless you have some big ticket items (couches, washer & dryer, tables, etc.) most of the money will be marginal.

    Momma and I have argued over having another one and I feel that we are better off taking the stuff to the thrift shop or local charity store and then going for Mexican food. Better use of our time and way less stressful.

    That said, it is somewhat cathartic to get rid of stuff and lighten the load.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 6, 2014 at 2:22 am

      We have not had a garage sale in 15 years. I swore them off after the last one. SO. MUCH. WORK. This seemed a bit easier since we were packing up anyway. We just separated anything we knew we wanted to sell or donate. All we had to do was price it all and put out a sign. What didn’t sell, we put on the curb with a “Free” sign on it. No packing up! 🙂

       
  3. Abby

    October 6, 2014 at 2:58 am

    I just shuttle stuff off to the thrift store, or actually just schedule a pick up. I’m too lazy for the garage sale work. High end stuff goes on craigslist. We did have one big sale when we left New York, sold practically everything and I’ve never missed any of it. Congratulations on your success! Don’t you think you just might need those wine glasses, though?

    Happy birthday to your baby! And Happy Almost Birthday to you! I don’t know how it is our kids keep getting older and bigger and we don’t change a bit!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 7, 2014 at 1:34 am

      Your thrift store picks up? How awesome is that! I would be as minimalistic as you if I had that option. We’ve tried craigslist for a few things and got no interest. At least the garage sale offered a little more success. And no, I have no use for the wine glasses. And apparently neither did anyone else. We ended up giving them away.
      I spoke with a friend today whose kids just turned 25. She says they’re getting older and she’s getting younger. I’m stickin’ with that…

       
  4. Ms. CrankyPants

    October 6, 2014 at 2:09 pm

    Um. I probably shouldn’t admit it, but the first three words of your post made me snicker. Yes, I’m THAT immature.

    Hall & Oates??! Love them; I’d be all over that album. And, mmmmmmmm, candy corn. One of the best things about Halloween.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 7, 2014 at 1:17 am

      omg. How did I not catch that? Now it’s all I can think about, and I’m snickering too. 🙂
      Hall & Oates have found a new home. I loved them too! But we’re moving on….
      I will only allow myself to eat candy corn in October. I love it too much. ‘Specially with peanuts. Have you tried it?

       
      • Ms. CrankyPants

        October 9, 2014 at 6:53 pm

        Hmmmm. I have not. It doesn’t sound…very appealing, but maybe I’d like it! If I spot any, I’ll try it based on your recommendation 🙂

         
      • shadowrun300

        October 10, 2014 at 1:07 am

        It’s like a payday bar! Ratio must be one candy corn to two (dry roasted) peanuts. You’ll never eat ’em plain again.

         
  5. territerri

    October 7, 2014 at 11:23 pm

    I was thinking of you recently when out shopping and saw the shelves of candy corn! I remembered this is your month to indulge in that special treat!

    I’ve had two garage sales and probably will never do it again. We schlep stuff over to the local Goodwill and never give it a second thought. Although, it sounds like your hubby had fun with it. If it was ever fun for me, I’d give it another shot!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 8, 2014 at 2:18 am

      Can you believe I haven’t bought any candy corn yet? Tomorrow. I MUST get some tomorrow. Time is running out!
      I was shocked Hubby had fun with the garage sale. In the past, he wanted nothing to do with them. It was all me. And after a few times of tagging tons of clothes, I was over the whole garage sale thing. This time, no clothes were allowed, so it really wasn’t too hard to price. And since I worked the day of the sale, it was really easy! 🙂
      But next time, I think Goodwill will win out over a sale…

       
  6. Anita

    October 10, 2014 at 12:21 am

    I’ve missed your posts during my summer and September absence, so I’m having to piece the garage sale thing with vague memories of you selling your house. I hope all is going well.
    I got a vision of your son as you described him hanging off your leg. How sweet! Birthday happiness for both of you!
    ps. Liked your comment on my post. I kinda felt that way for a minute or so. 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 10, 2014 at 1:03 am

      House is sold. We’ve settled into our new place. We made a few bucks on the garage sale. All is well! 🙂
      Good to see you again!

       

Leave a Reply

 
