RSS

Delayed

14 Oct

The moving’s done.   The boxes are unpacked.  The garage sale is over.  I can finally have my “weekends” for myself!

So when Hubby came out of his office (our bedroom) and saw me laying on the couch in front of The Price is Right, he had to ask.  “What do you think you’re doing?”

“I’m seeing how this feels,” I replied innocently. And lemme tell ya, it felt NICE. I don’t usually indulge in day time TV, or TV in general, but spoiling myself with some daytime couch time was pretty awesome.

When I began feeling guilty, I decided a trip to the store was in order.  I was excited to get some candy corn and peanuts for my October indulgences.  I mixed the two together, careful to get the correct candy corn to peanut ratio, and savored a handful of my creation.  By day 2, they were gone.  Apparently someone else in my family has my sweet and salty October addiction too!   Back to the store I’ll go.  But THIS time, I’ll store them in my underwear drawer.  They’ll be safe there.

But first, I gotta get back to work.  Got lots of Cardinals fans to cater to. (And a few players, I might add.) My commute is a few minutes shorter now that we’ve moved.  So when I saw the signs last month to find an alternate route due to planned bridge work, I was bummed!  There IS no easy alternate route, so my commute would be 20 minutes longer!  When the day came for them to begin work, I decided to chance it.  Good thing, because they hadn’t even set up the signals for the one lane traffic yet!  That was September 19th.  Soon new signs warned us the work would begin September 24th and to find alternate routes.  Nothing.  They were now going to try for October 1.  Then the 6th.  And at the end of the day on the 13th, the sign blinked mockingly that the bridge work would begin the 13th.  Today.  Missed again.

The suspense is killing me!  I want to know when they’re going to start so I can determine how long it’ll take me to get to work.  They’ve been crying wolf for a long time now.  I’ve become so conditioned to their warnings, that if and when it finally happens, I’ll be shocked.  And probably late for work.

I don’t know why I’m complaining anyway.  I’m just as bad.  I started this post LAST “weekend” and I’m just now finishing it up.  I’m sure it was worth the wait. Ha! But at least it’s done and published, and I can check it off my list.

Now to get started on next week’s post….

 
12 Comments

Posted by on October 14, 2014 in Everyday Living

 

12 responses to “Delayed

  1. lottajoy

    October 14, 2014 at 7:56 pm

    Whenever you want to hide something, put it in the washer. No one ever goes there.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 15, 2014 at 4:24 am

      Heck. I don’t even look there. I’d never find ‘em back! (And the ONE person who does use it, is probably the culprit….)

       
  2. Rock Chef

    October 15, 2014 at 10:42 am

    Haven’t seen The Price is Right in years! The presenter is dead now. He was amazingly cheesy, perfect for this show, it would be hard to replace him IMO.

    Road works work differently over here. Someone closes off the road regardless of whether anyone is actually going to do any work. On my cycle route they tend to close the road for 2-3 weeks each year, but work is only done for in of those. Makes for nice trips for me, though, as I ignore the road closed signs…

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 16, 2014 at 1:35 am

      I haven’t watched TPIR in years either. It’s not quite the same without Bob Barker, but it provided great background noise for a short nap.
      So you LIKE road construction. You’d be quite happy living here! 🙂

       
  3. territerri

    October 15, 2014 at 11:57 pm

    Yay for getting to relax a little! You’ve been a busy woman!

    I HATE road construction. There’s a bunch of it going on near my office and it’s making me crazy.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 16, 2014 at 1:39 am

      This coming from another busy woman. Probably time for YOU to catch a little daytime TV. 🙂
      I just read about your road construction. Most times it doesn’t cause too much of a problem for me because I rarely drive during rush hour. It’s the unknowing of how difficult this pending construction will be that is making me crazy.

       
  4. shammy

    October 16, 2014 at 4:24 pm

    Daytime TV? What’s that? They have TV in the daytime? I’ll have to look.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 17, 2014 at 1:07 am

      I know, right!? I just discovered it myself. A guilty pleasure that I may have to try again sometime….

       
  5. Abby

    October 17, 2014 at 2:56 am

    On the couch watching Price is Right – that’s when you know you’ve made it!
    I hope your commute pains aren’t too painful. It seems like around here, they just move the big orange barrels around to make us think they’re actually doing stuff.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 18, 2014 at 2:38 am

      With as long a commute as I have, I’m afraid I will always see big orange barrels. :/
      But who cares?! I made it to the big time!

       
  6. llcooljoe

    October 23, 2014 at 7:14 am

    Yeah hiding things in an underwear drawer is always a good way to keep things safe. 😀

    I don’t watch tv in the day or night, but that’s only because I’m addicted to the computer.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 24, 2014 at 2:30 am

      Me too. I don’t stare at the TV screen, but that doesn’t mean I’m not staring at a screen…

       

Leave a Reply

 
