RSS

Living gets in the way of life

21 Oct

This is my favoritest month of the year, and it’s going too fast!  It’s so hard sometimes to take in these beautiful fall days when so much of my time is spent at work or on the road.

I did manage to get some baking in for the first time in MONTHS.  But it wasn’t the fun, fall baking, that I’ve been itching to create.  Nope.  It was “I need 48 cupcakes and a 2 layer cake by Friday” kind of baking.

Yeah… somebody spilled the beans at work that I’m settled in my new house, and it does indeed have a working oven.

What was I thinking?!

And as usual, I’m too nice (or is it too dumb?) to say no.

So…. I spent my off day baking this

Chocolate Chocolate Cake

and this

Strawberry Cupcakes with Fresh Whipped Cream topping

and this

Oreo Cupcakes

Oreo Cupcakes

I shouldn’t complain.  It was kinda nice to dust off my kitchen aide mixer and heat up the oven for something other than pizza.  But my kitchen is quite a bit smaller than my last one and not conducive to huge amounts of baking.

IMG_1444[1]

Before the day was over, I’d knocked over a cup filled with 4 beaten eggs on to a kitchen rug, and soon after, knocked over a bowl of powdered sugar.  If you’ve never before done that, DON’T.  Neither one is easy to clean up.  I threw the rug in the wash, and I’m sure I’ll be cleaning up powdered sugar for days to come.

Out of the three types of cakes, only one was a major fail, and needed a do-over.  1 outa 3 ain’t bad.

But then I went and left them all at home.

Aye, aye, aye….  I am NOT. EVER. SAYING YES. AGAIN.

I mean it this time.

 

 

 
14 Comments

Posted by on October 21, 2014 in Baking, Blunders, Everyday Living

 

Tags: , ,

14 responses to “Living gets in the way of life

  1. Abby

    October 21, 2014 at 2:33 pm

    Make yourself invisible! It’s wonderful! But… not very easy in your case. If it’s any consolation, the goodies look great as usual. Thanks for not sharing the egg rug and cocaine-looking spill.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 22, 2014 at 2:48 am

      I would love to have an invisible button. But yeah, not gonna happen in my case. I’m sensing my oven may soon be broken. Again.
      You were only barely spared the egg rug. Didn’t think about a picture until after I’d begun cleaning it up. And by then, the grossness factor was gone. The powdered sugar spill just ticked me off. I wasn’t in the mood to take a pic. 🙂

       
  2. territerri

    October 23, 2014 at 12:18 am

    I thought I had a small kitchen. I’m impressed that you were able to bake all of that in such a small space! (And I can totally sympathize with the ticked-off feeling after spilling something. Nothing more frustrating! The treats DO look delicious, though.

    This month is going fast, isn’t it? The whole year! Where does the time go???

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 23, 2014 at 5:04 am

      With the little amount of counter space I have, it’s quite difficult to find room to work. I actually don’t mind. It gives me a good excuse to say no. I’m not strong enough otherwise… 😉
      Things’ll start slowing down, oh, about January. Right when we’re wishing things would speed up! Why can’t winter go by as fast as spring, summer, and fall all together?

       
  3. llcooljoe

    October 23, 2014 at 7:10 am

    You left them all at home! Oh no!

    Hmm, just a suggestion, if you didn’t have your laptop on the surface you’d have a bit more room. 😉 All the baking looks delicious as usual!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 24, 2014 at 2:35 am

      I’m so out of practice that I totally forgot to bring them with me. So aggravating.
      You’re certainly right about my laptop. I should have set IT on the stove top instead of the bowl of powdered sugar – which was a little off balance up there. Or perhaps I need to transfer my recipes to an index card. Or perhaps I’ll just not bake copious amounts of food anymore. (I like that idea most.)

       
  4. Anita

    October 23, 2014 at 4:40 pm

    Have you been able to laugh about it yet? It’s a funny story!
    And who ATE all of that since you left it? Could any of it go into the freezer?

     
    • Anita

      October 23, 2014 at 4:41 pm

      Forgot to say, it all looks delicious. I’m impressed.

       
      • shadowrun300

        October 24, 2014 at 2:41 am

        As aggravating as it was that day, I was able to laugh about it that night. But then I left them at home the next day. aargh.
        The cupcakes I was able to bring in the following day. The cake I froze and brought it to her when she returned to work. It all worked out. Thank goodness. But I’m still not ready to take on any more requests.

         
  5. Rock Chef

    October 24, 2014 at 8:48 pm

    Suckeeeeeeeeeeeerrrrrrrrrrrr. 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 25, 2014 at 2:38 am

      I think you know me better than I know myself….. :/

       
  6. agg79

    November 13, 2014 at 10:47 am

    You? Say no to a “littl” baking? Hah! Like that’ll really happen. It’s just not in your nature.
    The question is: how far did you get before you realized you left them at home?

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 14, 2014 at 6:00 am

      I was halfway to work, so there was no turning back without being late. I’ve never been late, and I was not about to let the cupcakes tarnish my record.
      And let me just say thanks for taking the time to go back through all my posts. I know you’re a busy guy, and it takes a lot of time to read through my silly ramblings. So thanks. 🙂

       
      • agg79

        November 14, 2014 at 11:37 am

        Every time I go dormant (slack off) for a while, I make it a point to go back to read what I missed (feel guilty if I don’t). I don’t want to miss any exciting stories or new drama. And the more I miss, the harder it is to get caught up. And I try to read them in chronological order so as to not spoil any surprises (sort of like jumping to the end of a book).

        As far as the left something at home, been there, done that (more than once). I’ve gotten halfway into the office when I realized I left my phone and crackberry at home.

         

Leave a Reply

 
