RSS

I have a secret hanging upon my mind

25 Oct

Oh heck.  It’s no secret.  I turned 45 today!

And to celebrate, I took a four day weekend – which includes an actual weekend! Even Sunday!  I started it off Thursday with an annual trip to my girl doc.  She ordered me to get shots and get smashed.  Seems appropriate for a birthday celebration.  But I have a whole year, so I may just “celebrate” when I get closer to next year’s appointment.

With that out of the way, I proceeded with the slothness I’ve been looking forward to all summer long.  Occasionally guilt set in, but then I remembered… it’s my birthday… so I dug deep to see what it is I really want to do… and it turns out it’s NOTHING.  I really want to do nothing.

Of course, nothing can’t start until I’ve at least got a workout in.  So this morning, I set out on my usual 7 mile route.  Now usually, I run this route in the dark.  But today, my slothday, I slept in til 7!  So my entire run was in daylight!  Oh the things I could see!  (Lotsa cars for one.  Felt a bit like I was in the Frogger game.)  I was having so much fun, my 7 miles turned into 8, and I was almost sad when it was over.  (I did have a little bit of “take that 45!” to inspire me to keep going.)

The family is making it easy for me to do nothing.  They picked MY day, to go on a college visit… without me.  They left with a lot of “Are you sure you don’t mind?”  “Are you sure you’ll be alright all by yourself?”  “Won’t be too quiet for you, will it?”

I assured them I’ll be alright, and tried to hide my excitement as I booted them out the door.

And I was!   I had a great day of doing what I want, when I wanted.  Well, except for Senior night at the football game.  But even that wasn’t too bad.  The fact that Amp has made it to his senior year, and is done with marching band is a huge relief to all of us.

I ended my day with the last of my candy corn and peanuts, a bowl of ice cream, and the couch.

I love being 45.*

*Do I sound at all convincing?
 
13 Comments

Posted by on October 25, 2014 in Everyday Living, Running

 

Tags: , , ,

13 responses to “I have a secret hanging upon my mind

  1. territerri

    October 26, 2014 at 1:30 pm

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

     
  2. territerri

    October 26, 2014 at 1:32 pm

    Oops… wasn’t done with that comment yet. I have a touchy touch-pad on my laptop. 🙂

    So nice that you got to spend your birthday doing a whole lot of nothing (except for the eight mile run. Take THAT, forty-five!)

    I understand that 40 is the new 30, so you’re really only 35. So enjoy!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 27, 2014 at 12:55 am

      Touchy touch pads… I got one myself.
      I got to spend my birthday WEEKEND doing nothing. Every morning I woke up, my hubby wished me a happy birthday. 🙂
      And I like the idea of 40 being the new 30…. Especially when MOST of me doesn’t feel a day over twelve.

       
  3. Abby

    October 27, 2014 at 12:08 am

    Happy Birthday! A Nothing Day, how great is that?!!
    I vaguely remember 45. Enjoy it you crazy kid you!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 27, 2014 at 1:11 am

      Heck! I had a Nothing Weekend! Other than a few kid commitments, but those were fun.
      45 wasn’t THAT long ago for you. Then again, the memory is the first to go….

       
  4. Abby

    October 30, 2014 at 12:28 am

    When your sloth fest ended… are you lighting up for the dark morning runs? I’ve thought of wearing a headlight, but I usually forget until I’m out on some dark rutty trail, thinking I shoulda! I have one that I use for camping, and am thinking of joining the morning headlight crowd. Wondering if it helps?

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 30, 2014 at 1:56 am

      I haven’t lit up for my runs, but I DID just about get hit by a pick-up, so maybe it’s time…
      I have a reflector vest that I wore religiously in my old town because there were very few street lights, but here there are quite a bit more. After my close call the other week, I will likely begin wearing it again. I would think a head lamp would be great in an area with no lights. Many times I prayed I wouldn’t step on a dead animal or hit a hole in the road. If you try it, let me know how it works. (Still running in your Saucony’s?)

       
      • Abby

        October 30, 2014 at 9:33 pm

        I tried the headlight this morning. Fail. Too much shadowy bouncing around. i could see better with it off, just using the moon. Guess I’ll stick with that, dead animals and all.
        The Kinvara 5’s and I are still friends. Plus, they’re so loud, that hopefully the pickups will see them.
        Careful out there!

         
  5. llcooljoe

    November 11, 2014 at 6:49 am

    Damn, I missed your birthday! I hope it was a good day!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 12, 2014 at 3:05 am

      I spent it by myself and quite liked it. The rest of the weekend I spent with my family, and I liked that too! Thanks for taking the time to catch up at my place now that your internet’s up and running. 🙂

       
  6. agg79

    November 13, 2014 at 10:55 am

    Happy Belated Birthday! Sorry I am so late. A very nice, relaxed way to celebrate your day. I’ve gotten to that age where I prefer the more sedate celebrations. Those days (& nights) of partying until the crack of dawn are long gone. Sometimes we all need a little more “me” time.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 14, 2014 at 5:44 am

      Me time is just what I wanted for my birthday. I was all partied out by my 30s. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
