RSS

House of Flies

31 Oct

Did you know you can suck up a fly with a vacuum?  Yep.  Found that out today.  Adds a totally new dimension to cleaning house. A real life video game – sucking up flies before they bombard my head.

It occurred to me while I was waving the vacuum wand through the air, that I have cleaned THIS house way more times than I cleaned that other, big, huge house.  And we’ve only been here a few months.

It may be because this one isn’t really mine.  It belongs to someone else, so I feel a moral obligation to keep it clean.  Probably a bigger reason is that it’s tiny in comparison.  No longer do I have an overwhelming feeling that I’ll never get it all clean.  Or it’ll take forEVER if I do.  And who wants to spend their day off doing that?  Certainly not me.  Which is why it never got done.

But now… now it’s quick and easy and I can have the whole house clean in an hour or so.  And today I found out I can even vacuum the stairs with that same plug I use to vacuum the rest of the house.  THAT’S what I’m talking about!

Back to the flies.  I can’t believe how many of them we have in the house!  I mean, we still live near fields, but in our old house we were surrounded by them.  Fields, I mean.  And though we had flies in that house, THIS house seems to be filled with them.  ‘Course this house is smaller, as I may have mentioned, so perhaps we seem to run into them more since we live in closer quarters.  We have a fly swatter in every room, but I like the vacuum trick better.  No fly carcasses buried in the carpet.  Or fly guts spattering the walls.  I wonder if the vacuum kills them.? Perhaps they’re flying around the canister amidst all the dog hair, and when I empty it, they’ll come out stronger and angrier.  *shiver*  Maybe I just won’t empty it.

On the bright side, winter arrived today.  We literally watched it roll in while eating breakfast this morning.  The wind picked up, leaves whirled around our back yard, and the temps dropped drastically.  Tonight’s frost should put an end to those pesky flies, right?  I mean, isn’t that why we have winter?  Can’t think of any other reason it comes around every. single. year.

It doesn’t bother me though.  The bitter cold.  The blustery winds.  The gray skies.  Nope.  Doesn’t bother me one bit.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to check rates on a flight down to Florida.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on October 31, 2014 in Everyday Living

 

Tags: , ,

14 responses to “House of Flies

  1. Rock Chef

    October 31, 2014 at 4:09 pm

    Flies often survive out cleaner, we see them going round in the cylinder (which is clear so you can see the dust, hair/fur and flies/spiders.

    I just tend to swat them, though…

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 1, 2014 at 2:16 am

      There’s a certain satisfaction that comes from swatting them. And we do a LOT of it.
      Now I’m wondering if there’s still flies buzzing around in my canister. I’m too afraid to look.

       
  2. Practical Parsimony

    November 1, 2014 at 3:04 am

    Insects are dried by the horrific suction of the air. If you just suck one up and turn off the vacuum, they might live. But, I tend to let them suffer. I love to suck up flies and fruit flies. I kill more that way than with the swatter. But, I love the electric flyswatters, too. When I vacuum the floor or carpet when fleas are present, just to be sure I spray a bit of flea killer in the canister.

    I like how flies try to hide next the small panes, making it so easy to suck them up. The vacuum works better on fruit flies than any fruit fly trap.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 2, 2014 at 4:38 am

      Yes! Fruit flies are fun to suck up with the vacuum! I’d never heard of an electric fly swatter until a few months ago. One of my co-workers has one. Does it make the “bzzzt” sound when it hits them? Not sure I could handle that….

       
  3. Abby

    November 1, 2014 at 3:04 pm

    I’ve never attempted to suck flies with the vacuum, I prefer to swat. Then I remember Jeff Goldblum, but it’s too late. I really should clean…

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 2, 2014 at 4:33 am

      Aack! I never even thought about Jeff Goldblum! So what’s best? Suck, swat, or co-exist?

       
  4. territerri

    November 2, 2014 at 2:24 am

    I always thought I needed a bigger house, but you make me want a smaller one! (I’m boycotting cleaning this weekend, by the way. It will bug me in a few days that I let it go, but I’m enjoying the freedom for now.)

    I’m surprised you still have flies. I haven’t seen one in several weeks, even though the temps didn’t really take a big dive until the last couple of days.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 2, 2014 at 4:42 am

      I’m LOVING my smaller house! (Except for when I have to make a ton of cupcakes…) We’ve had to adjust quite a bit, but it’s been fun. And the cleaning is SO easy!
      Good for you to boycott this weekend. Have fun with your girl!

       
  5. llcooljoe

    November 11, 2014 at 6:47 am

    We have a fly bat thingy. It gives the bug an electric shock. Actually, it works quite well on the kids too. 😀 Joking.

    You make down sizing more appealing by the day.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 12, 2014 at 3:01 am

      I’ve heard of those electric swatters. Seems better than cleaning fly guts off my wall. And if it works on kids…. joking.
      There’s a lot to be said about down sizing. Although there are times we’re crawling all over each other. I have no regrets though.

       
  6. agg79

    November 13, 2014 at 11:23 am

    Perhaps it is time for a new title: Lord of the Flies. (Or would that be Lady of the Flies?). Something to go along with your SWRWB title. I’ve played the vacuum the fly game before. Flies, wasps, roaches. They’re all fair game. Just make sure you dump the bag/canister OUTSIDE. And the cold snap has finally gotten all the way down here. It does tend to slow down the fly population but, to me, those are minor in relation to those other guests that we have down here: roaches. They are a wee bit more prevalent down SOUTH.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 14, 2014 at 5:42 am

      I don’t want any more bug titles. *shiver* And for sure I don’t roaches. How far south do they go??

       
  7. agg79

    November 14, 2014 at 11:40 am

    Do you really want to know? Just one thing about our roaches – some of those little b$#@trds can fly.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 14, 2014 at 3:26 pm

      I just want to believe they’re not where I want to go. Lol Especially the flying ones. Yuck!

       

Leave a Reply

 
