RSS

Stop the madness

05 Nov

Oh thank God it’s Tuesday.

By couch time I will no longer be subjected to the ridiculous campaign ads that have overtaken the air waves.  Can anyone really make an informed decision on a 30 second jab of their opponent?  Not me, anyway.  I made my decisions based on what my well informed hubby convinced me of.  (Although I did negate his votes on a couple of topics.  Oops.)

This day also happens to be my Friday.  Well deserved I might add.  The church group is back in the city.  Remember them?  The ones who made our lives miserable at the hotel for over a week?  Yeah.  They’re back.  But kudos to our management team who denied service to the guests who gave us such a terrible time last year.  Our guests this year, while very needy, have been quite sweet and easy to work with.  It’s the housing bureau who have been a pain.  But only in my butt and a few of our managers.  Whatever.  I can handle it.  But first I need a few days rest.

Speaking of rest… I actually took advantage of the extra hour Saturday night and slept!  Didn’t even get up to exercise.  I wish I could say I spent the rest of the day relaxing, but it was Sunday.  And Sunday for me is usually a day of work.

And with my hours, I haven’t noticed the effects of the time change yet.  I’m used to getting home after dark, so no difference there.  But when I ran early Monday morning, it was light out!  And while it won’t last, it was nice to see and be seen.  I think I’ll try it again tomorrow.

Conveniently, as I wrap up my day, and this post, I’m watching the wrap up of election day.  I’m happy to see my votes counted on some pretty important races.  Not so happy to see it didn’t on others.

And thrilled that it’s finally over.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on November 5, 2014 in Everyday Living, Running, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Stop the madness

  1. Abby

    November 6, 2014 at 2:19 am

    I’m with you on the “thrilled” part. It seems like it gets worse every election. It probably doesn’t, just seems that way.
    I ran yesterday morning and could see! I froze my butt off, but I could see! Enjoy it for now.
    I’m praying for your sanity with the church people…

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 6, 2014 at 2:40 am

      I haven’t frozen my butt off yet, but I am wearing a few extra layers. The butt freezing will come along soon, I’m sure.
      As I recall, the early morning light should last a few weeks. If only the perfect temps will….

       
  2. territerri

    November 7, 2014 at 1:12 am

    I’m pretty happy the elections are over too. I’m also thrilled to hear that the obnoxious church people were denied hotel accommodations. Maybe they should go back to Sunday school and learn how to treat others with respect.

    Enjoy the daylight and relatively comfy temps while you can!

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 7, 2014 at 2:57 am

      Compared to past years, this year’s convention has been a walk in the park. *knock on wood* Let’s hope it continues over the next few days. (And I’ve often wondered how church people can be so nasty sometimes.)

       
  3. llcooljoe

    November 11, 2014 at 6:42 am

    Well of course not all church people are like that very rude unpleasant woman.

    I have to say it’s pretty dark when I get up in the mornings, not that I’m going for a run at 5.30am though. 😀

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 12, 2014 at 2:58 am

      She was definitely the worst. And you’re right, they’re not all that way. 🙂
      You all should turn your clocks back an hour too! Then when you get up at 5:30 to NOT run, it’ll be light.

       
  4. agg79

    November 13, 2014 at 11:33 am

    I’m glad all the election crap is over (except for a few runoffs). I felt like I needed to take a shower afterwards. Now we will start hearing about 2016.

    Glad to hear your church group is a bit more “christian” this year. Maybe all that bad juju we sent their way (one person in particular) made a difference. And Daylight Savings time really messes up my routine. Used to be able to walk the dogs with some light out but now it is totally dark before I even head home. Enjoy the extra time while you can.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 14, 2014 at 5:38 am

      I just wish there was a better way to appeal to the masses than 30 seconds of cuttin’ the other guy down.
      Our church group, while very needy, was quite easy to get along with this year. Knock on wood. (They’re already making plans for next year….)

       

Leave a Reply

 
