RSS

I have no right to complain

12 Nov

Well, the church people have come and gone leaving behind only a few scars.  Our newbies seemed slightly disappointed that we didn’t have all the drama we’d experienced in the past.  I’ve reminded them they’ve got New Year’s Eve to look forward to.  Young drunks out all night.  Should be fun!

As we enter our slow season, I’m already feeling unease.  I volunteered an extra day off this week, knowing that in the future weeks, our young ones will be shorted a day.  I don’t do well with days off.  Especially when it’s flippin’ cold and windy all day.  I like to be productive and busy, and being cooped up in a bitty house can make me crazy.  Although now that I have an oven, I may whip up a few cookies or cupcakes… yeah… that’s what I’ll do.  It’ll feel good to knock a few pins off my boards.

But even at the hotel, I’m feeling a bit unproductive.  No.  Unproductive isn’t the right word  Maybe squashed?  Yes.  Squashed.

I have all these things I want to do to help the front office run smoothly and keep our employees happy.  I’m the go-to person for the desk agents, even the veteran ones.  The managers will often come to me as well.  And while I love that, my feelings are mixed.  It seems I have one manager who’s intent on reminding me of my place.  While he’s not making it obvious, his actions are showing me that maybe he feels threatened?  I don’t know why.  It’s not like my growth will affect him.  He’s already where I want to be.  But I can’t help wonder if it bothers him that nobody goes to HIM for answers.  No offense to him, but he’s new to our hotel chain, and I’ve been there for almost 4 years, so I know a lot.  Plus I trained them all, so it’s natural for them to come to me.

Anyway, I’m realizing my supervisor position isn’t enough to challenge me anymore.  I’m ready to move up the ladder, so I’m excited about this class I’ve been accepted to.  Only 6 of 35 applicants were chosen, and I’m hoping it’ll help my chances of climbing higher.  Although that gives me mixed feelings too, since I may have to leave my hotel.  I LOVE my hotel.  None of the others are as challenging as ours!  I don’t wanna leave!  Ugh.  Well, I’ll climb THAT ladder when I get there.  First things first. And that would be my class.  It starts Thursday.  I hope it’s everything I’m wanting it to be.

In the meantime, I’m happy to have had this Veteran’s Day off.  If I’d been working, I’m not sure I would have given as much thought to the veterans as I was able to today.  How lucky we are to have people fighting for our freedoms.

Veterans Day

 

 

 
9 Comments

Posted by on November 12, 2014 in Everyday Living, Holidays, The Hotel

 

Tags: , ,

9 responses to “I have no right to complain

  1. lottajoy

    November 12, 2014 at 4:15 am

    Which is why I had to opt out of my career too soon. I knew too much and it got to be an embarrassment for the Chief when the City Board members would call on ME for answers instead of him, and the FDC and state auditors asked ME questions instead of him. At first he liked having someone else on the spot, but when he realized I looked more like his babysitter than a subordinate, my fate was sealed.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 13, 2014 at 2:29 am

      Isn’t that sad? A good manager should WANT an ambitious, well-versed, highly skilled employee working for him. After all, his team is a reflection of him. Luckily the other manager is happy to give me empowerment. And he trusts my opinions and decisions. If only he was my direct manager. :/

       
  2. Practical Parsimony

    November 13, 2014 at 7:08 am

    I had a manager who loved me and trusted me. I had another who said I was the best employee he ever had. Both guys were really good to work for and inspired me to do my best. Another manager right after that seemed to resent me and the fact I did not need training. That always puzzled me.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 14, 2014 at 5:32 am

      The one that trusts me always gets on the one that won’t. “Just let her do it,” he’ll tell him. But he won’t. I’m just trying to plug along and hope that I’ll soon be an equal.

       
  3. agg79

    November 13, 2014 at 11:40 am

    Isn’t it funny how the ones in the know are not necessarily the ones in charge. I could go on about roles/jobs I’ve had where I knew more than my boss (heck, my dog has more common sense than one guy). It is good how people come to rely/respect your expertise, even if one manager cannot see it. Take solace that karma pays off (sometimes). Have fun in your class. Hopefully it won’t be boring.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 14, 2014 at 5:34 am

      What bothers me most, is they’re getting a whole lot from me and paying me very little. I’m a chump. It’s time I move up!
      The kickoff to my class today was kinda boring. And the introduction to email that we’ll have next week will be boring. After that’s out of the way, I hope to learn lots.

       
  4. Abby

    November 14, 2014 at 3:03 am

    Yeah, there’s good and bad out there. And both can be the bosses. Maybe this class will open some doors?

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 14, 2014 at 5:35 am

      I am SO hoping it’ll open doors. I’m ready for bigger and better things.

       
  5. territerri

    November 22, 2014 at 1:50 pm

    I’m glad to hear you’re taking a class and working to improve your work life. We spend so much of our waking ours doing our jobs. I think it’s important, when we’re able, to do everything possible to continue growing and challenging ourselves. Seems like there’s always someone like your manager to throw off the balance too. I guess someone has to fill that role.

    I’m like you. Too many days off and I start to feel restless. Yes, do some baking. ‘Tis the season anyway. 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
