RSS

Awaiting

19 Nov

Winter has announced itself.  It came barreling through with no regards to the beautiful fall we were having.  We may have been a bit better off than those up north, but it’s cold just the same.

Yesterday, I begrudgingly went downstairs to exercise on a stationary machine again.  The views aren’t quite the same.  I found myself cheering the temps as I watched the early morning news.  We were just one degree away from a record low of 14 degrees set in 1932.  The weatherman kept telling us he expected us to drop a few more degrees before the sun came up.  “Come on,” I urged.  If we’re going to be this frigid cold in mid-November, then let’s at least beat the record.

Well, we never beat it, but we did tie it.  14 degrees.  November.  Something’s not right.

Last night, when I heard the temps were actually going to rise throughout the night, and by 6 AM we should hit 30 degrees, I was ecstatic!  I can run outside in 30 degrees!  I didn’t miss the elliptical one bit.

It’s not just the weather that has us on edge these days.  The Governor has declared a state of emergency in St. Louis.  This is before anything has happened.  I don’t know…. sometimes I wonder if we’re giving them permission to riot.  Other times I’m thankful we have help if needed.   Especially since I work downtown between the Arch and the Courthouse.  Prime areas for people who want to be heard.

Recently, Joey posted a quote from Michael J. Fox that I believe to be true.

fox (1)

I tend to lean toward the positive side of things, even when the situation seems dire.  Michael J. Fox has just reinforced it for me.

I’m liking the commercials that have been on our local channels recently.  Well known people in St. Louis, including the Rams, are urging the people of St. Louis to come together as a team.  They’re reminding us the whole world is watching to see how we react.  This is our time to shine.  We can set the example of how these situations should be handled. With peace and dignity.

I’m hopeful that we will be dignified.  But if I were a business in St. Louis, I’d probably be boarding up as well.

boarding up

With any luck, they’ll announce the Grand Jury’s decision this weekend.  Because this weekend, I won’t be anywhere near St. Louis.  I’ll be tucked in my quaint little home, celebrating an early Thanksgiving with Link!  I’m thrilled about seeing him again!  The whole family has taken off of work, so we can enjoy our time together.  Since we may not see him at Christmas, I plan to make the most of our few days.  It can’t get here fast enough.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on November 19, 2014 in Everyday Living, Family

 

14 responses to “Awaiting

  1. Rock Chef

    November 19, 2014 at 5:10 pm

    The weather is a bit nuts this autumn – I saw pics of the blizzard that dumped 3 feet of snow. Amazing stuff! But would not want to be there!

    Not sure about the Grand Jury thing – there seem to be so many conflicting versions of events, I think it might be hard to get to the bottom of it – and to find a jury that can judge fairly too. Maybe just send everyone to prison and have done with it? 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 20, 2014 at 6:05 am

      Oh, I know! The amount of snow they received is crazy!
      I just wish we’d hear something soon. The waiting is causing anxiety and uneasiness. I think most of us are ready to move on….

       
  2. Erin

    November 19, 2014 at 5:22 pm

    I can’t imagine everything that is happening there. My thoughts are with you and will be watching for updates.

    As a Minnesota-ite, I am already sick of the snow. Bahhumbug on it being a definite White Christmas!

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 20, 2014 at 6:10 am

      My thoughts are with YOU. Seems like when our news channels are not talking about the Grand Jury decision, they’re talking about all the snow you northerners are having. Heck, if we had that much snow, we wouldn’t have to worry about rioting. Hmmm…..

       
  3. Anita

    November 19, 2014 at 8:05 pm

    I don’t WHY I had Mississippi in my head, as much as I’ve heard about this case on the news. As serious as this case is, I’m taking a moment to laugh at myself.

    Only down to 28 or so in central Virginia. Still, the girls and I did our boot camp in Angie’s basement instead of outside at the pool parking lot where we usually meet. I think we need at least 40 degrees to get back outside because we’re not always moving/running.

    Enjoyed your comment. Now I know a little more about you.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 20, 2014 at 6:14 am

      If it wasn’t in my back yard, I’m not sure I’da had the right state either.
      30 degrees works for running. But anything else and it’s still dang cold!
      And I loved your car post! My car has a special place in my heart. And because it took me so long to get one, I take very special care with it. I put 100 miles on it daily, but it still looks and runs great.

       
  4. agg79

    November 20, 2014 at 10:58 am

    The cold is definitely affecting a lot of places this year. Sort of nature’s subtle way of reminding us that Winter is Coming. Bad enough that it drives you inside for some relief/exercise (hate running treadmills). Somedays I’ll take a rainstorm over treadmill, but 30 degrees is about my limit. Any lower and things start to freeze up and fall off.

    I’ve been wondering and worrying about all that turmoil going on up there and how close you are. I hope it is not as chaotic as all the news folk are projecting. I had thought a good cold front and stow storm might mute some people’s response. Good luck and keep your head down.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 24, 2014 at 1:53 am

      Just today I was thinking I’d rather run in the rain tomorrow morning than on the treadmill. After that, the temps are back in the teens!
      I was SO hoping the verdict would come out on Friday so I’d be away from the city. No such luck. I’ll be keeping my head down.

       
  5. Abby

    November 21, 2014 at 2:36 am

    The Ferguson situation is likely to affect the community for years, whatever the grand jury decides. Watch yer back!

    We broke some long-standing records last week, but this week, I’m feeling for those people buried in upstate NY! Scary.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 24, 2014 at 2:06 am

      Yep. The decision will not mean the end, that’s for sure.
      And the “events” in NY are just as scary, if not more so. And it looks like they’ll be fightin’ it for a long time. I’m sending lots of good juju their way!

       
  6. territerri

    November 22, 2014 at 1:55 pm

    Crazy, this weather we’ve had, huh? Our temps are finally warming up again today. Looks like a high near 40!

    I love the Michael J. Fox quote. I’ve been retraining my brain lately, both to think more positively as well as just accept what is and do the best I can with it. Amazing what a difference it makes in my view of the world.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 24, 2014 at 2:10 am

      I keep repeating that quote to my hubby, and I think he MAY be catching on. He’s already starting to dread the winter, and I’m hoping I can help him stay positive. Planning a trip to Florida helps too. 🙂

       
  7. llcooljoe

    November 24, 2014 at 7:03 am

    Hey thanks for the shout out and using the post. I think what Michael J Fox says is very true. We are having pretty mild, but very wet weather here in the UK, and long may that last. I have no desire to be trapped in the house due to snow this winter. I’m not even keen on driving on frosty roads.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 25, 2014 at 2:26 am

      I have quoted Michael J Fox numerous times since seeing it on your post. Thanks again for sharing it!
      We’ve had a mild few days as of late, but the freezing temps will be back this week. At least we don’t have FEET of snow like those poor people up north!

       

Leave a Reply

 
