RSS

The days after

03 Dec

Our early Thanksgiving celebration was a blast, but our Black Friday shopping was a bust.

Firstly, we weren’t able to go on Friday since I worked late, so Saturday morning, I drug my sleepy backside out of bed, rounded up Mario and headed into the city.

Our first stop was high on everyone’s list – St. Clair Bowl.  The aisles were jam packed with people.  Some on ladders, some with periscopes and many traveling back and forth between the lanes.  Mario and I fought our way through the crowds and managed to slide into the pro shop unharmed.  Luckily IT was not crowded at all.  We picked out her Christmas present , drilled it to fit her hand, then fought the crowds to get back to our car.  She’d wanted to try it out, but with the collegiate tournament going on, no lanes were available.  And since we forgot our periscope, we couldn’t watch either.

We then hit the crowds at Gordman’s.  We elbowed our way to the clearance aisle, found the perfect plastic bottle, and then stood in the long line to check out.   Two dollars and 17 cents later, we were outa there.

Our final stop was Target.  Not quite as busy, so we were able to quickly pick up a collared shirt for me, and a bunch of candy to fill the previously mentioned plastic bottle.

Maybe not what the typical Black Friday shoppers were after, but we got just what WE needed.  Come to think of it, it wasn’t a bust at all.

As the weekend continued, I felt almost normal.  It’s quite unusual for me to have a real Saturday and Sunday off.  So I enjoyed it while I could.  The weather was phenomenal, so I washed my car and somewhere between us going in and out, the cat got loose.  We didn’t realize it until Sunday morning when he wasn’t on our bathroom counter begging us for food.

All day we worried about him, calling his name any time we went outside.  As night fell, along with the temperatures, our worries began to grow.  We left the garage door open so he could find warmth and headed to bed.

When I awoke at 5 AM, I heard him immediately. (Remember his crackly nose?) “You found him!”  I whispered loudly.  I ran to gather him up, then just as quickly, I dropped him.  He was completely crusty!  He’d obviously found a few mud puddles while perusing the neighborhood, or most likely, hiding in fear.

Hubby’s job while I went into work, was to de-crust him.  He texted me after…  “The cat’s bath didn’t go well.  It looked like a mud wrestling match took place in our bathroom.”

Lovely.  I’d just cleaned it.

But he’s clean now, and warm, and safe, and hanging out by the door in case we leave it open again.

Curiosity really is going to kill him.

curiosity

 
10 Comments

Posted by on December 3, 2014 in Everyday Living, Family

 

10 responses to “The days after

  1. Rock Chef

    December 3, 2014 at 11:18 am

    Wonder if the cat has learnt his lesson?
    We had some real Black Friday insanity over here – fighting in shops, Police called out etc. Incredible!
    Glad you got what you wanted – love the idea of going through crowds with a periscope – must try it sometime!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 4, 2014 at 2:02 am

      The cat has gotten out before, and always comes home scared and nervous. So no, I’m guessing he hasn’t learned his lesson, since he’s always itching to get back out.
      I heard about your Black Friday insanity. I feel as if I should apologize.
      The periscopes were cracking me up! I wanted to take pics, but decided it’s probably not a good idea to snap pics of strangers while I was among a mob of them.

       
  2. Abby

    December 3, 2014 at 4:03 pm

    Congratulations on your Black-Friday-on-Saturday success! Candy in a plastic bottle – you got this year’s hot item!

    You had me worried there about your cat. You know we’ve had a couple go out never to return. I wonder if his adventure has made him thirsty for more? If so, hopefully he’ll always come back, knowing he’ll get a fun wrestling match afterward.

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 4, 2014 at 2:07 am

      Every other year, I’ve never been able to find the “hot item” in stores. But not this year! This year, it was right there in the clearance aisle! We snatched it up and quickly checked out!
      I was totally thinking of you as we headed to bed that night while Tiger was still out in the cold. He’s gotten out twice before, once for 3 nights! But he’s always come back. I worried this time, since we’re in a new home. But I also knew he’d wait til night time to sneak out of his hiding place to come home. He’s such a scaredy cat.

       
  3. territerri

    December 4, 2014 at 2:19 am

    Mario’s getting a new bowling ball? Oh, I’m jealous! Is it pretty? Do we get to see pictures?

    Okay, so my Black Friday was much like yours. I did go to Target, late in the day, to pick up some necessary stuff. And I ended up coming home with some unnecessary stuff that was priced too good to pass up.

    Cats are such stinkers! They’re so independent and could care less how much we worry about them when they disappear. Supposedly, we’re not supposed to worry. They’ll eventually return to the place where they regularly get fed, they say. But I know what it’s like to have a cat go missing and it’s impossible not to fear the worst. I’m glad yours came home, but sorry about your clean bathroom!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 4, 2014 at 2:32 am

      Yes! She got the Tour Fusion. It’s yellow and blue and she bowled a 576 series with it her first time out! So proud of her. She’s posted quite a few pics of “Elliot” on FB. I’ll have to nab one or two to show here.
      My biggest fear with Tiger is one, he’s not accustomed to the cold, and two, he has no claws! He wouldn’t be able to feed himself. I guess he doesn’t think of those things when he sneaks out….

       
  4. llcooljoe

    December 5, 2014 at 7:25 am

    Poor cat, I’m glad he returned okay, and hey, well done for getting out of having to give him a bath. That has to be one of the worst jobs ever! 😀

    Well you know my views on Black Friday. This year, so far I’ve managed to do all my Christmas shopping on line, and I avoid real shopping as much as I can!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 6, 2014 at 1:57 am

      Even if I’d been home, I probably wouldn’t have bathed him. I knew it would be a struggle. 🙂
      I should probably do more online shopping. Instead, I pick up a few things here or there, since I can’t stand the crowds for very long. And on Christmas Eve I’m panicking because I haven’t finished my shopping yet. And I do this every year! I really need to shop online. Maybe next year?

       
  5. agg79

    December 6, 2014 at 4:28 am

    Yea curiosity killed the cat. That or having to clean him up after his night out “catting around”. I can just imagine the mess in the bathroom. We gave our old cat Patches a bath ONCE. I’ve seen less carnage in the Game of Thrones.

    Unique Black Friday shopping story. Would not have imagined the bowling lanes to be as packed as you described. Still, sound like you came out alive, so that is a good thing, right?

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 7, 2014 at 2:30 am

      “less carnage in the Game of Thrones.” Ha! That’s about right! 🙂
      When there’s a tournament going on, all 50 lanes are full and the crowds watching them are stacked on top of each other. And we picked THAT day to go shopping. That’ll teach us to go Black Friday shopping on Saturday….

       

Leave a Reply

 
