RSS

Why vanity is a sin

11 Dec

Thirty minutes today.  Thirty minutes!

That’s how long I stood in front of the mirror huffing and puffing trying to get my unruly hair to lay just so.  Eventually I waved the white flag and pulled my hair back.  I’d be better off replacing my mirror with this….

vanity

I spent so long fighting the do, that I had to rush to the store to get Mario’s ingredients for the cake she needed to bake tonight.  As I loaded the car with groceries, the wind whipped through my hair, wrestling it loose from the clip I’d finally succumbed to.  *sigh*

I rushed back home, unloaded the groceries, reset my hair and left for work.

Forty-five minutes into my commute, just as my aggravation and stress was subsiding, all three lanes of traffic came to a halt.  For thirty minutes, we crawled at a snail’s pace past the three workers who nonchalantly went about filling the holes between the lanes.  I felt my blood pressure rise as I wondered if this would be the first time in five years I would be late for work.

Soon the dam opened up, and with just a few minutes to spare, I clocked in.

Now, I am home again, settled into my corner of the couch, and reflecting on the long @$$ day I just had.

Amazing how my little corner of the couch, which fits me so well, can immediately take away my stresses.

couch time

 

 

 

 

 
12 Comments

Posted by on December 11, 2014 in Blunders, Everyday Living

 

Tags: , , ,

12 responses to “Why vanity is a sin

  1. Abby

    December 11, 2014 at 4:43 am

    I dunno, I think your hair looks pretty good in that couch pic of you 😉 Happy couching! If that’s not a verb, it should be…

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 12, 2014 at 2:40 am

      Couching is my favorite verb! My hair always looks good when I’m there.

       
  2. agg79

    December 11, 2014 at 11:43 am

    Hair? What’s that? Unless you are talking about the rolling tumbleweeds of Golden hair that slowly roll across the floor at home. Unruly hair hasn’t been a problem for me nowadays (ever since I pulled it all out). Those commutes to/from work will do it every time.

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 12, 2014 at 2:41 am

      Oh. Um. Yeah. I suppose I’m happy I HAVE hair. 🙂

       
  3. lottajoy

    December 11, 2014 at 4:50 pm

    I’ve never been vain, and I always had a “ten minutes and out” rule when applying makeup. Not that I look good, but a new coat of paint on a shack doesn’t make it into a palace. lol

    Trust me on this one: If you have a head full of hair, you’re ahead of the game.

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 12, 2014 at 2:44 am

      I have the same rule! That’s why I was so mad at myself for spending so much time worrying about it.
      I’m not a vain person usually. But at the same time, I work in a place where I need to look somewhat presentable. And for whatever reason, I didn’t feel like I looked presentable.
      And you’re right, I shouldn’t complain about my unruly hair since it means I have hair. Thanks for putting things in perspective! 🙂

       
  4. llcooljoe

    December 11, 2014 at 10:37 pm

    Well I think your day sounds quite good really. 😀 As for bad hair days, I have a cap. 😀 Living in the UK, traffic queues are normal, especially at this time of the year. I’ve sat on the motorway for hours not moving at all, so come on, chin up!! 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 12, 2014 at 2:47 am

      I live in a cap whenever I’m not at work – for this reason!
      And I agree I’m a bit spoiled with my commute. Although long, I can usually drive straight on through without delay. This day, I was feeling particularly sorry for myself. I’m over it now. 🙂

       
  5. territerri

    December 12, 2014 at 2:26 am

    I feel your pain! Some days it’s just not worth it to bother with the hair. Some days it just has a mind of its own. And traffic! Don’t even get me started. Glad to hear you made it to work on time and I’m so glad your corner of the couch was there to welcome you home at the end of the day.

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 12, 2014 at 2:53 am

      Most days, I roll with it. My hair that is. But I was so aggravated with it that I forced myself to step away from the mirror. I was upset that I was upset by it! 🙂
      You hit way more traffic than I do. I think when you plan for it, you can deal with it. This day, I had no idea they were closing 2 of the 3 lanes. I wasn’t mentally prepared!

       
  6. Anita

    December 13, 2014 at 12:44 am

    It’s amazing how hair can cause a meltdown. I’ve had my days. It really wasn’t the hair, but the hair got blamed.
    Glad you have your couch!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 15, 2014 at 4:28 am

      Yeah, it had to have been more than the hair. Right? I don’t usually care most days. And add to that a rough commute, and I NEEDED my couch that night.

       

Leave a Reply

 
