RSS

Spiritless

17 Dec

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas.  On the outside looking in, anyway.

I’ve got some of the shopping done, but still have plenty to go.  Too much, in fact.  But heck, I got plenty of time.  10 days!

Yesterday, I talked Mario into doing a candlelight house tour in a historic town not far from here.  The old homes were beautifully decorated and fun to see.  It was nice, but wasn’t enough to build excitement for Christmas.

Next up, the high school Christmas concert.  I love going to the kids’ concerts, and this was no exception.  I was a little nervous when Amp asked me to record a few songs on his phone.  Seeing my hesitation he quickly assured me, “It’s fool-proof”  as he walked me through the steps of pulling up his camera and pressing record.  I practiced a few times before letting him leave.   During the concert, I’d find myself deeply entranced in the music, and then I’d suddenly remember the camera and my heart would stop.  I was so afraid I’d miss the songs he wanted or screw up the phone somehow.  But I didn’t, and the concert was fantastic, yet I still don’t feel Christmassy.

Maybe it’s the 50 degree temps with gray skies and rain.  Maybe it’s because I’m feeling a little down about work.  Maybe it’s because Link won’t be home.

Whatever the reason, I’m not quite feeling the season.

I’m hoping to snap out of it this week.  I have more days off than what I’m scheduled to work.  I should finish up my shopping, do some baking, and listen to Christmas songs.  I should plan a fun day with the kids.  I should reflect on what Christmas is all about.  I should….

Sheesh, I hope my Christmas spirit shows up soon.

Christmas spirit

 

 

 

 
12 Comments

Posted by on December 17, 2014 in Everyday Living, Holidays

 

12 responses to “Spiritless

  1. Abby

    December 18, 2014 at 2:36 am

    My Christmas spirit seems to wane with each passing year. Don’t know why, maybe because the kids are older. Little kids make Christmas more fun. Luckily, Meego’s school records their band concerts, and we can get the recordings for a dollar. Best not to rely on me!

    I hope you enjoy your extra time off and you get that bottle open!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 18, 2014 at 2:58 am

      You’re right. Little kids make it more fun. I’m feeling a little bit family-less too. Link’s staying in Ohio. Dad’s staying in Florida. FIL and MIL are no longer with us. I’m a bit bummed.
      But tomorrow I’m snapping out of it. Even if I don’t get the bottle opened….

       
  2. Rock Chef

    December 18, 2014 at 1:57 pm

    It is harder to get into the spirit of things as the kids get older – especially as you will be one down!

    Our weather has returned to warm and damp too – not Christmassy at all! But I won’t complain as it is nicer than cycling in real December weather.

    Hope you get the bottle open soon!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 19, 2014 at 2:04 am

      Yes! Running in these temps has been fantastic! But beyond that, it’s not been good for much else.
      I’m missing Link already, but we went shopping for everyone today. And by the end of it, I was pretty excited about the holidays. Perhaps there’s hope for me yet!

       
  3. agg79

    December 18, 2014 at 4:16 pm

    No Christmas Spirit? Bah! Humbug! It is hard to keep up the spirit, especially when they’ve been blasting it in the stores since Halloween. I went to the store yesterday and noticed that they are already pulling down the decorations and setting up displays for New Years.

    All the old school plays/events would help put us in the spirit but, since junior has gone off and got a life of his own, we don’t participate in those activities any more, so things are a bit more sedate. Hopefully, the time off and slower pace at the hotel will help get you in the spirit. Sounds like you need another cup of eggnog and queue up one of the Christmas Classics (It’s a Wonderful Life, A Christmas Story). And enjoy the “warm” temps while you can – Winter is coming .

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 19, 2014 at 2:02 am

      Sadly, the time off is a reason for some of my spiritlessness. I enjoy working and it feels like a punishment not to be able to.
      Don’t get me wrong, I’m not wishing for winter, but snow is much more Christmassy than rain. And the gray skies have been around for weeks! Anyone would be depressed.
      I’ll try the eggnog and Christmas Classic trick. My favorite is Christmas Vacation. Makes me smile every time.

       
  4. llcooljoe

    December 18, 2014 at 10:49 pm

    I can’t get into Christmas either. A combination of the kids getting older, and my Dad’s deteriorating health.But really it’s just a couple of days and then it’s all over. All the work and stress for 2 days. Is it worth it?

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 19, 2014 at 2:08 am

      It’s definitely not as much fun when the kids are older. My hubby’s dad died right after Christmas a few years ago, so we were going through the same emotions you are now. It’s tough, I know.
      And yes, a lot of hype for just a few days of fun. But I wouldn’t want to do without, despite all my complaining. 🙂

       
  5. lottajoy

    December 19, 2014 at 1:48 am

    In answer to LL Cool Joe: No. It’s not worth it. In fact, I’m staring at the tree right now thinking: “In a week, it’s all gotta come down.”

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 19, 2014 at 2:11 am

      I usually keep ours up til New Year’s Day, just to get my “money’s” worth. And since I didn’t put a whole lot out, it’ll be a whole lot easier to clean up. Maybe if I did more, I’d feel more Christmassy?

       
  6. territerri

    December 20, 2014 at 3:21 pm

    You’ll find your spirit, I’m sure. I think most of us struggle with it as we grow older and our kids grow older. Sometimes it just takes a shift in perspective. You’re always so good about counting your blessings and being willing to adjust expectations. This is why I know your spirit is in there somewhere.

    Maybe you just need to remember what a great friend you’ve been to some of us you’ve never actually met. You’ve been a positive influence and great inspiration and a frequent source of humor. You’ve been a gift to me, so … I hope knowing that will help bring on some of your Christmas spirit! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 20, 2014 at 8:05 pm

      I usually do try to keep a positive outlook, but missing Link is weighing on me. It’s not fair to the others though, so I’m working to keep my chin up!
      Thank you for the kind words! That in itself has cheered me up. You’ve been a great inspiration for me as well, and I’m hoping one day we’ll get a chance to meet. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
